We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Newport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Newport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night over the weekend. The rooms were fairly clean and seemed to be more updated than other like chain hotels. When we asked the front desk for some shampoo, they said they didn't have any which is something we have never heard of at any hotel/motel. This hotel is in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank droehm17
Vernon Connecticut
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Stayed here for one night, and it was one night too many. The room was clean, but we had problems with the kids in the room next door to ours. Starting at 7:30 pm, they were running up and down the hall, slamming doors, yelling and screaming. I realize kids will be kids, but when it continued into the later...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank iggy1i
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. Please know the conditions you describe are...

Hamden
Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

The absolute worst stay ever! We have stayed here many times over the years and enjoyed the attention Ajit gave us. This time he was not here and it was evident. The room was not clean and the obnoxious behavior of some of the guests was unacceptable. I mentioned this at checkout, found out Ajit was no longer there and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Natalie B
East Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 November 2014

- The front desk customer service experience was not very hospitable. I guess I shouldn't expect enthusiastic people but someone who at least made eye contact and goes through the check in process with at least half a smile would've been nice. He seemed like he didn't want to be there and we were bothering him. - He didn't tell...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank GRW247
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our gustomer service, but with your experinece we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you describe. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for...

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 October 2014

My husband son (4yrs) and I made reservations for one night on our way up to Maine. A quick stop in Newport so we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. Seemed like the Motel 6 would be perfect.... well..... let me start by saying the staff was really friendly! This is a pet friendly hotel and it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank FJScozz
Pa.
Reviewed 30 September 2014

If you are looking for Newport Elegance, this is not for you! If you enjoy a sparsly furnished, but very clean overnight room for under 50.00 , this is the place you want. We advanced booked with Priceline and got a room for 2 for 49.00 per night! We would stay there again. Our visit to Newport only lasted 2...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 4,038
Frazer
Reviewed 25 September 2014

My wife and I started our New England trip in Newport. We were not looking for opulence; just a decent, inexpensive ($47 in 10/13) night's sleep. It's convenient: only a few minutes outside of town. We would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce M
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 September 2014

I came to Newport for one night, but then subsequently extended my stay by three more. When paying for the extension, I specifically asked if the rate was going to be the same $59.99/night, and was told yes by the desk clerk. However at check out that turned out not to be the case, and they had already billed my...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BigDog84
Allentown PA
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I didn't actually stay here. I did reserve a room. I spent 5 minutes talking to my husband about how we get out of this place. Fortunately, they refunded our money and we went to another hotel. You do get what you pay for and this hotel was about $70 per night. No shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, closet...much of what I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doreen G
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Poodle_Mommy, Thank you for posting your review. At Motel 6 we pride ourselves on giving our guests confidence in quality and comfort and we are sorry that due to the absence of amenities expected you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please contact Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 so that we have a record of your visit, can further...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

There was a dog barking loud in a room next to ours. Someone left the dog in the room and spent the night out, crazy. Very noisy motel. I was able to hear all the guests coming in at all different time of the night. I do not recommend! Please avoid this motel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ESSE L

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.6 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 km away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Bay Willows Inn
Bay Willows Inn
#12 of 18 in Middletown
47 reviews
3.4 km away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
2.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 249 Connell Hwy, Newport, RI 02840-1057
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $68 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel Six
Newport Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Newport staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles MattF339, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs...”
 of 5 bubbles janmV4718WW, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The roadside rooms are more noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles blueeyegrandmother, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a room here”
 of 5 bubbles joharavhf, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator”
  • Room; nice and clean
 of 5 bubbles jonw127, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5