We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Attwater

Certificate of Excellence
03/07/2017 04/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Attwater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 373: English reviews
Start your review of The Attwater
 Click to rate
CT
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just ADORE this place! What a gem in a terrific location. I would highly recommend bringing bikes..you are perfectly situated right between Cliff Walk and the harbor area. We loved the decor, thoughtfulness and food! Just perfect, perfect, perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank libratravel
New York City, New York
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Though we arrived in New Port earlier than expected, we were able to check in almost an hour early because the room was prepared. That was a plus! The hosts, Andrea and Billy, were exceptionally warm and welcoming, not to mention, they were well-informed about the area and simply, so down to Earth. We had to call the emergency #...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JKCHAMA
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us! It's great to hear how much you enjoyed everything from the decor, including the comfortable chairs and bold print drapes, to the luxurious toiletries, high quality linens, and the tasty breakfasts plates. Love hearing how wonderful your interactions were with the great staff. We look forward to...

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I traveled to Newport for a quick getaway (one day late) for Mother's Day. We were both very pleased with the accommodations. We stayed on the first floor, had a suite with a welcoming sitting and dining area. And had a very comfortable bed in a large bedroom. There was also a small kitchen area, microwave, fridge,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Bethpage, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I only have great things to say about our stay at The Attwater. Friendly knowledgeable staff, comfortable accommodations, local to all needed, walking distance to almost everything. Checking in and out was simple. Great homemade healthy little breakfast items included. We stayed in room 22, it was extremely large and more than accommodated 3 woman. There was plenty of space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jczar72
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was coming to Newport to visit a client, and they put me up here at the Atwater. It was a nice change from the typical hotels where I stay. My room was nicely furnished with modern touches, but in a warm, cozy way. It's a great location, within a short walk to restaurants and shops. While I didn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
New York, NY
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights here, in a King Deluxe room, which was perfectly spacious, and enjoyed making use of the comfortable sitting rooms on each floor, as well as the large and beautiful ground-floor common area. The breakfasts were absolutely outstanding. The wifi was flawless. The location was pefect: We walked everywhere. A note (not a complaint): We wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonkeybearNYC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I were hoping for a peaceful and enjoyable get away. While we enjoyed Newport, the hotel was not what we had hoped. Walls are paper thin, what looked to be a wonderful rain shower had no pressure, the bathroom sink was tiny and our bed felt like a hamac. We knew the hotel offered reduced services but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franco A
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

While we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Newport, we’re dismayed to hear that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We’re surprised that you weren’t able to take advantage of our hotel’s great location, as many guests have commented on how close it is to restaurants and shopping. Sound proofing can be a...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found the Hotel on line which seemed to fit my needs, at least I thought so. No service, self help place with artsy, colorful decor. Room seemed pleasant until the room next door arrived. Alarmingly noisy for hours, completely disrespectful of the environment and possible occupied rooms. Bathroom was tight especially for a larger man. Felt like camp. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JRTwz
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We’re disappointed that your stay was not what you were hoping for. We’re glad that you found your room to be pleasant, but it is unfortunate to hear that other guests negatively affected your stay - unfortunately we don’t always have control over these situations. We pride ourselves on our service and we know that if our staff were aware...

Macomb, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time to Newport, chose The Attwater based on other reviews and crossed my fingers. I am happy to say those reviews were absolutely correct! The Attwater is so quaint and in a perfect location to see and do whatever we wanted. The breakfasts were amazing and the atmosphere was very relaxing - we enjoyed speaking with other guests as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ezfol
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us! We're thrilled that you were not only able to take advantage of our great location, but enjoyed the amazing breakfast offerings, comfortable bed and spent some time relaxing. We look forward to seeing you again!

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from a quick getaway with the hubby. The Attwater is as beautiful as the photos imply. We booked the King Junior Suite which was beautifully decorated and comfortanle. No worries about walking around this room barefoot. Staff were all polite and attentive. Room had small refrigerator, kurig coffee maker along with 2 bottles of water each day for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antsgirl85
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us! Love that you enjoyed the beautifully decorated and comfortable King Junior Suite, out hotel's central location and that you had such great interactions with our polite and attentive staff. We look forward to seeing you both again for another getaway!

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
03/07/2017 04/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,948 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.0 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 km away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
162 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $312 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Attwater staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Attwater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Parking in their lot or at the museum is OK, not at the lot directly in front, they tow.”
paulsW6708RK, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“No elevator - choose wisely if you have any mobility issues. Second floor is about 17 steps - third floor another 17 or so.”
Mimimama2004, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the third floor - there's no elevator. If you're not able to make the climb - let them know in advance. There is on-site parking.”
44michaelc44, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“parking is plentiful right across the street with an Attwater validation”
earlandrea, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are no elevators here so make sure you don't mind climbing stairs.”
Fran621, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates