We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

#11 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
Chicopee
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We spent a long weekend in Newport and stayed at Wyndham Long Wharf. We enjoyed our stay at this resort. People were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable of Newport. We found the resort very clean and our unit was excellent. They have movies, game room, pool, two hot tubs and a sauna.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChicopeeJoe
Sydney
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The resort provides good value . The suite we stayed in was spacious and well equipped. The bed was comfortable. There were excellent extras for families including pools and movies. The staff were very helpful. The resort has no real views . We also had parking provided free which is very important in Newport.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jturner5Sydney
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your visit jturner5Sydney. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. We are glad you were satisfied with your accommodations. We appreciate your positive mention of our amenities. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Thanks...

Ohio
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days and the location was great. Free parking and could walk downtown and to the Wharf areas. Right across the street to the tour shuttles and out back was the marina and lobster shack. Nice activities at the resort. Nice pool area. Free mimosa's and sangria craft days!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bjorn5555
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us bjorn5555! We are happy to hear you had a great lodging experience at our property. We are glad our location was convenient to your travel plans. We appreciate your positive mention of our amenities and offered activities on site. We hope you come and visit us again. Thanks for your review. Scarlette Owner Care

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Own at Wyndham and grabbed this last minute. Checked in Friday and checking out Monday. Stayed in unit 374. Location Location Location. We actually used the water taxi which is close by and did not have to drive much. Walls are thin, interior is not up to some of the resorts. Sparkle, ceiling damage holes by some of the outlets....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John K
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Hello John K, Thanks for your review on our Wyndham Long Wharf Resort. We are glad to hear that overall you were comfortable with your stay, We are sincerely sorry for the inconveniences encountered within your unit and how these impacted your stay. We are happy to hear the water taxi was convenient for your transportation and was of great...

Middlebury, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This timeshare has all the things you want for family fun. Indoor outdoor pool,sauna,movie theater,arcade etc..they provide pool towels and chairs along with grills if you want to eat at home. Very accessible to Neport Center only 2 blocks and you are on the main streets. The rooms are nice and are fully stocked with kitchen stuff,sheets,blankets,etc.. My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou A
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Hello Lou A, we appreciate your review. Thank you for spending your vacation at our resort. We are happy that you enjoyed our onsite amenities and Newport access for local attractions. We do apologize for the noise and tracffic. Thank you for visiting. Again, we thank you for your review. Toni Owner Care

Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We love Newport and have stayed at a number of hotels in our favorite southern New England coastal town. This one was ok. We were in an older portion of the hotel. Clean but in need of some updates. Cleanliness doesn't seem tops on the list here. Seems they do a lick and a promise at housekeeping but no real...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank christieg78
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Hello christieg78, we thank you for your review of our Wyndham Long Wharf resort. We are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We do hope you and your friends did enjoy the spacious fully stocked unit during your time with us. Please reach out to our house keeping staff if at any time your unit or...

Coventry, Connecticut
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We have been staying at Long Wharf Resorts every summer since our now-18 only child was quite small. The movie theatre, crafts for kids, pools, and two bedroom units made this an ideal family vacation destination in and of itself. As almost-empty nesters, we now enjoy the walking access to downtown restaurants and clubs. Unfortunately, the hotel is losing focus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for loyally stay with us for so long. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at our resort despite of the few inconveniences or maintenance issues encountered. We are sorry if we did not overly meet your expectation on this trip based on your previous visits. We certainly value your opinion and feedback. We are...

new york
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The hotel was ok. Nothing wow. We were placed in a separate building which looked like older one. Our bedroom was small (the bed tiny and we are both 5'11. They couldn't make any other accommodations for us. Pool was nice. But best part was location. It was amazing. We walked every night to different restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank newyorkolenka
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your visit newyorkolenka. We are truly sorry to hear our accommodations were not to your expectations, however, we are happy to hear you were pleased with our excellent location providing access to many local attractions as well as shopping and dinning experiences. Thanks for sharing your review with us! Scarlette Owner Care

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Have been staying here for years. We love it for the location most of all. This year we can really feel the budget cuts, however--no towels or attendant at the pool, no towels at the gym, no daily housekeeping. The extra comforts are easier to do without than a clean pool. Was here for a long stretch yesterday (6hours) and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank happybydesign
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Hello happybydesign, We thank you for your review on our Wyndham Long Wharf Resort. We sincerely apologize for your recent experience at our property. As a resort with amazing resort team members and amenities, this type of experience is uncommon and unacceptable. We have forwarded this review to our resort leadership and shall you wish to have these concerns addressed...

South Salem, New York
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here two years in the row and the location is perfect located in the heart of Newport. The hotel staff is wonderful and helpful. The pool area is my family's favorite spot, hours of fun for the kids. The staff can do a better job cleaning the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Blondy821
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, responded to this review

Hello Wiola A, we thank you for your review on our Wyndham Long Wharf resort. We thank you for vacationing with us. Glad you loved our resort location and friendly staff. We’re happy you all enjoyed our onsite pool for fun and relaxation. We do apologize if your unit’s cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We hope you will visit...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
558 reviews
0.4 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.8 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Address: 5 Washington Street, Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $261 - $960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Long Wharf Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
New York City, New York

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Long Wharf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a 4th floor unit to avoid hearing any sounds from other guests!!”
  • View from bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Living room/dining room
  • Bedroom 1
  • Dinning room/kitchen
jeffreytomar, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a townhouse unit for a unique experience.”
  • Upstairs Bedroom Right
  • In-Suite Laundry
  • Upstairs Bathroom
  • Master Suite
  • Kitchen / Dining Room
  • Stairs
  • View from the roof deck at the Wyndham across the street. Copyright Penn Video.
n8davis, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“see review”
WBRED, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the main building and get a unit with laundry.”
R9076TUrobertl, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have kids, choose a room closest to the pool!”
278cherylm, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates