We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Duck Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Duck Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of Black Duck Inn
 Click to rate
Bronx, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first time to the Duck and we look forward to our return. Room was comfortable, clean, cozy. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. On-sight parking was a plus. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Loved the decor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RicGee21
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful positivity! We look forward to your return. Please keep your eye out for return guest specials in your email.

Warwick, RI, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a last minute stay and it was over Easter weekend. The weather was beautiful and the town was buzzing with lots of people and stuff to do. We were greeted by a very nice woman who showed us the location of the Inn and things to go in Newport. The best part of this B&B was the awesome...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a super review!!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Bretton Woods, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed with hubby for a 2 night deal that included wine and chocolates (Hersey kisses). Location was great; walk right out the door to Thames with the shops and eating options, short drive to the mansions and Cliff Walk. Room was fine; bathroom good size, no complaints about our bed (Chardonnay room). No noise from being on the first floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BEGWIB
blues966029, Front Office Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Keep an eye on your email for upcoming discounts.

Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The biggest plus for this spot is the location…a block from the waterfront! The B&B is in the historic downtown, in a nice, vintage house. The management was very pleasant and attentive, breakfast was nicely done by personable chefs and the dining area was comfortable. The place does have a “’90’s” feel that could use with a bit of freshening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ragtop_rider
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We agree and have updates planned for fall 2017 for this house. When one has three inns they all get a turn, one at a time. Next time try the Newport Blues Inn and check out the updated look we just finished and try the new mattresses that house got in fall 2016. We hope...

Winsted, Connecticut
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This B & B is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We arrived late and our information w/ the key was right where they told us. The room was very nice. We enjoyed the fireplace and the huge Jacuzzi tub in our room. If we ever stay over in Newport again, I would definitely stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandawB4777ML
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again. Keep your eye out for email specials.

Medford, New York
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The location was great, close to the shops and restaurants. The greeting from the innkeeper at this location was somewhat unfriendly when she arrived. Asked a question regarding a sports bar in the area and she acted like we were bothering her. They had a sign posted stating breakfast was served from 8:30 - 10 AM. They started to serve...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdrwax
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Gee, sorry you felt our response was unfriendly, We suggested a popular bar and you said you had already been to lunch there. Yes, sometimes everyone comes at once to breakfast and there can be a wait, our sincere apologies.

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Great location Breakfast were good and the staff was very friendly over all house was clean. Bed was comfortable but I was disappointed in the room. Our room was the resting room and it needed some TLC. The carpet was stained and in my opinion should be replaced. The bathroom had mold in the shower and the heating vent on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindagQ1267BM
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed in your room. Please give us a call and let us know who you are and we will set you up with a return visit on us.( New flooring has already been ordered and is due to go in in the near future)

Bethpage
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I stayed in the meritage room, it was clean and nice.the fireplace was electric, which was a disappointment. The breakfast was good and the girls who serve it were very friendly . The inn is very close to town which was great. You can walk and don't need your car. It is a nice place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinebailey65
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again soon.

Glenville, New York
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I purchased this getaway on a site that had a deal. We were supposed to be in a deluxe room but all that was left was a standard, which was fine for us. The only complaint is the deal I purchased was suppose to come with a free bottle of wine and box of chocolates. Neither were in our room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carapatch22
blues966029, Front Office Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and do apologize that we forgot to provide your wine and chocolate. Please stop in the next time you are in town and we will provide you with both. Watch your email for upcoming specials.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed in 2 bedroom suite Pinot Noir which was large and comfortable. However it was a bit dark and unfortunately the overhead light needed a new bulb but maintenance wasn't around til after the weekend. There was also a slight "bathroom " smell in the room. Despite these complaints I enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good but wish there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank romavf1
blues966029, Manager at Black Duck Inn, responded to this review

Our staff is actually concerned about service and we think that is a good thing, though we are sorry if that was overwhelming for you. The housekeeping door sign provided states "Privacy No Service Today" so your room was not overlooked, We hope that the minor issues can be overlooked and you consider us for a future stay, and thank...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,950 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
560 reviews
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
328 reviews
0.3 km away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Address: 29 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $137 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Duck Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Duck Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were a very nice room with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub.”
147kevinb, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have a sitting area and some don't . We thought our room had one but it did not . Nice to have for down time ”
carolv380, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The pinot noir suite unlike the others on the second floor does not have a Jacuzzi tub.”
B3016SHpauls, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Champagne Room which had a king sized bed, Jacuzzi tub, and gas fireplace. A lovely up grade!”
nancyhL1645SE, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Very nice for 2 couples or 2 friends”
spierce77, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5