We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,870: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Viking
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We spent two nights in Newport just before Easter with our two children (ages 7 and 2) and chose the Hotel Viking because it looked great in photos, and being the off season, we got a great price. In general, we were quite satisfied with our stay. PROS: - The management seems to really take care of the grounds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
Massachusetts
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Valet parking. Centrally located. Extremely lively lobby with bar. GORGEOUS, boutique- feel to rooms. Size of room was great. Mini fridge included. Black out shades and wonderful bed made for a lovely night of sleep (I had a 3 month old at the time). Check in was smooth and friendly. We had a wonderful time and would absolutely go back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bostonkse
Saratoga Springs, NY
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room was large. The bathroom was small but quite efficient. I liked the fact that the lotions, shampoo and body wash were attached to the walls so you always had enough. The afternoon lemonade was awesome. The cleaning staff is very thorough. I like the fact that when you book your reservation you have an la carte menu to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

How wonderful is it to learn that you had an exceptional stay at our hotel! We are glad that you had fun choosing the bath products you wanted during the reservation process and it is nice that you were impressed on how we presented these amenities in your bathroom. We are delighted that you were relaxed in your spacious accommodations...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have to be fair that we visited on New Years Day and it seemed like the restaurant staff had a little trouble with turn around but they did apologize a lot and the hotel itself it was lovely , but I would try try it again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberli L
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel for the holiday. We do apologize for any delays to our services at our restaurant as this is not reflective in our typical standard of services. Our team will work together to figure out ways to deliver prompt service on busier days. We hope to win you over completely the next...

Guilford, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautifully decorated rooms, pretty lobby and exterior. Staff was helpful and friendly. Large hotel with lots of winding hallways. White elevator reeks of soured carpet or mold. Room rates don't include many fees such as mandatory valet, "resort fee", etc. No AC in our room one night but it was fixed promptly. Pool was too cold for swimming one day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KathrynCT
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are flattered that you admired our beautiful rooms and our lobby as we understand the importance of a welcoming atmosphere during a stay. It is nice to read that you were very impressed with our prompt service as our team is available to help at any time. However, we do apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay....

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Recent stay at hotel less than expected. Bathroom designed for midgets with sink so small hit head on mirror; no hooks for towels nor pjs. Requested queen bed but bed appeared and felt like double with too soft pillows and mattress too soft.Staff very accommodating and breakfast excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda g
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast and the excellent service provided by our team. However, we sincerely apologize that your room was not as you expected and for any inconveniences you had with the bathroom. We will address these concerns with our team as we want to provide...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Given a very poor room for the price we paid. No sink in the bathroom (!) and a connecting door to another room (!!), so we could hear everything next door. This included hearing all conversations and tv. I would not recommend this hotel, thankfully only stayed 1 night. We used the valet service which was good but cost $35,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob I
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. It is disappointing to read that you did not find great value in everything at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you were not satisfied with your accommodations and for any disturbances. A relaxing stay is important, so we understand your frustrations. We do want to let you know that our team is available to assist...

South Hadley, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would highly recommend staying here. The room was wonderful, very comfortable and clean. Very friendly and attentive staff. Great location, nice outdoor patio. Wonderful amenities. Excellent food. Beautiful hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMack6
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

How wonderful is it to learn that you had a great stay at our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your fresh accommodations and the amenities included. It is our goal to provide the best stay for our guests, and we will let our amazing team know that you were impressed with so much. Thank you for your recommendation,...

New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Newport and we had a BLAST! We had a Groupon for Hotel Viking which is why we booked here and we were not disappointed! The hotel staff was super friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Check in and check out was very simple and efficient. Our room was clean and spacious. The hotel is in an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvz2travel_7
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are delighted that we made a first great impression on you! To learn that you were thoroughly impressed with our level of customer service is flattering to us. We hold our services to a high standard, and it is nice that our team was helpful to you and that they provided you with prompt service. With the mansions and...

New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the Hotel Viking for its location. It was an easy walk into town as well as a manageable walk to most of the Newport Mansions. The hotel was nicely appointed, though we did have some issues with our first room (torn carpeting at entrance and bathroom tub tiles in not so good shape). We were switched to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel! We are delighted that you reached out to us directly about your room and it is nice that our team moved your accommodations to a room that exceeded your expectations. We will speak to our team about making any necessary updates to our services and we appreciate you letting us...

881 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (455)
Viewed
Room/Suite (144)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (152)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
558 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
606 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $245 - $929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Port Jefferson, New York

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet room in older section”
T4303RWlindag, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Many of the rooms are a long walk from lobby to the room.”
CathyS628, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you hear creaks, ask immediately for new room”
adamr146, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is surprisingly large and a little like a maze. If you have trouble walking distances, you should definitely let them know that.”
ireneh816, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“dont stay in 223 or its neighboring rooms youll be very sorry.”
jonathansJ4145LW, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5