We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,767: English reviews
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only downside in our experience was a too small room! Everything else is to be recommended. Pleasent staff, helpful, easy check-in/procedure. Great roof top bar that welcomed us with good live music in sunset.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drIR
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are delighted that you loved the historic charm of our property! It is so nice that you enjoyed our on-site bar, Top of Newport, as it is a great place to have some fresh drinks while listening to spectacular live music. Please know that our staff is always available to assist as they would have relocated your accommodations based...

Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk to Thames, the water and feel a part of the residential community. We were pleasantly greeted by the doormen and valet who stored our luggage while we waited for our room to be ready. We got there a little early and a room wasn't ready but they checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhskreynoso
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Whenever a guest recommends our hotel, it is such a wonderful compliment to us! We are glad that you had a smooth check-in and that our staff made helpful suggestions about what to explore in the area. Our goal is to create a relaxing experience, and we are pleased that you felt at home here. As you mentioned, our property...

Bourne, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a nice holiday close to shopping etc. Indoor pool was being painted. Front desk staff was very helpful and bellmen were courteous. Ashley in reservations was very nice and very helpful. Beds were comfortable l, nice tvs-flat screens

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebbsville
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is wonderful that you had such a nice time at our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you received friendly service from our staff and that Ashley made a great impression on you. Your compliments will certainly be shared with her along with the other members of our team. We really appreciate your incredible review of our hotel...

whitehouse station, NJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite being advertised as an Historic Hotel, the Viking might just as well have been a down-at-the-heels Holiday Inn. Any pretense at historical interior had been ruined by insertion of a fluorescent-lit check-in desk. The rooms were accessed via a long, dingy corridor and, at least during our stay, the property seemed to have been rented-out to a boy's hockey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frogsleap18
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We truly are disappointed to read that everything was not as you hoped for at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered as we never want any of our guests to not feel satisfied with their stay. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we regret that you did not have a relaxing time. We really...

Groton, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our 4th visit. 2 night stay in December. Hotel Viking and the Town of Newport are all dressed up for Christmas, so festive! We always get the package that includes breakfast. Great Deal, you don't have to leave the hotel. Breakfast is served in a beautiful, cozy sun room. everything on the breakfast menu is included, delicious! Michele is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutDivegirl
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Hotel Viking! It is the most festive time of the year, and we are glad that you got to experience it all. We are delighted to hear that you found great value in our hotel package and that our breakfast was a highlight of your stay. We will certainly share...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was beautiful and quaint, staff was very attentive and helpful! Everything was within walking distance, such as fabulous restaurants, shops, and of course the mansions! We will absolutely be back to visit again and again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a perfect getaway! There are so many attractions around here, and we are so delighted that you found great convenience in our location to explore the area. We will certainly share your high remarks with our wonderful staff as they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed their excellent services. Thank you, and we...

Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location when staying in Newport. Convenient to almost everyplace one would want to visit. Junior suite was very nice. Food in dining room and bar very good. Staff was very accommodating throughout our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeffG326
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is so nice that you found great convenience in our location! Our property is located near the best attractions in Newport, and we are glad that you were able to explore the area. We are delighted that you were well-accommodated by our team, and we will certainly share your compliments with them. Thank you, and we hope to welcome...

boston
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two evenings at The Viking over New Years 2017. Love this hotel but I'm starting to think that the guest rooms are in need of a makeover. The brightly lit lobby has been renovated and redesigned to be contemporary in style, lighting, furniture and colors while the guest rooms are a throw back to the Gilded Age! The lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynn17murr
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to count down to the new year with you! We are glad that you were able to enjoy a glass of wine in our lobby and that you were comfortable in your accommodations. However, we apologize for any inconveniences you encountered in your suite. We appreciate your suggestions about updating the decor in our guest...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made last minute reservation to stay last week for just one night. Our room was very spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated with period wallpaper and furnishings. Bed was very comfortable. I like the separation of bathroom into 2 sections. Large flat screen TV. I was nervous because there was a large group of young children staying there with their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank serkkinen
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are delighted that you chose to stay at The Hotel Viking! It is so wonderful that you enjoyed the charm of our property along with your accommodations. Our goal is to make sure that our guests have a relaxing time, and we are glad that this was your experience. We appreciate your comments about our central location as we...

Chicago
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were hoping for a romantic getaway at an upscale hotel, assuming the service would be pretty good.... The first clue that we would be disappointed should have been when I left a message for the spa to schedule massages but never got a call back. The second clue should have been when I called back several days later and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barca8236
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is really disappointing to read comments like yours. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and that we let you down when it mattered the most. We understand any frustrations you had in regards to scheduling a massage at our spa and with our housekeeping team. We take your concerns seriously and we will discuss your experience with...

860 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (434)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
508 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
0.3 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#4 of 21 in Newport
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $160 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
25 days ago
Port Jefferson, New York
Charlotte, North Carolina
9 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Marble House Suite was wonderful!”
 of 5 bubbles RichG235, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We went budget friendly, and opted for a room with a queen bed. The room was very small, but had all the basics.”
 of 5 bubbles telulla311, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“as it is on old hotel all rooms are a little different . But well decorated”
 of 5 bubbles Dude197, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Advise a 2nd floor room to avoid overhead noise.”
 of 5 bubbles frogsleap18, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard view is Christmas festive.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnecticutDivegirl, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay