We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Viking

Hotels.comUS$319*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,896: English reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

I have been to Newport many times, it's like my second home. But this was my first time staying at the Hotel Viking. I booked a Thursday and Friday night stay for my husband's birthday, he had never been to Newport at all. I'd always heard great things about the hotel, and this bring my husband's first time, I wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesska232
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to help celebrate your husband’s birthday! We are so happy you chose to spend a getaway weekend at The Hotel Viking and that the service you experienced throughout your stay did not disappoint. Your kind feedback regarding our guest accommodations made us smile and we hope you’ll return soon to experience Newport during...

Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

It was not just the beauty, pristine cleanliness or perfect location of this hotel that makes it all worth while. It is the friendly welcoming staff, amenities, and service provided. Everything in Newport was within walking distance from dining to bakeries to shopping. The atmosphere was welcoming and staff could not do more to make you feel comfortable. It felt...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cjp3489
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We think your review is phenomenal! It is always such a pleasure to read feedback from our valued guests, thank you. At The Hotel Viking is it our top priority to create an excellent stay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed so much while you were here. We will pass along your comments to our associates for the service...

Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

From check in to check out, The Hotel Viking provided a wonderful experience for our first trip to Newport. The service at the hotel was excellent. We requested extra towels and they were brought to our room within minutes. It is centrally located so we didn't need our car. We walked everywhere. We will definitely stay at The Hotel Viking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carolyn S
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are so glad you were able to experience Newport for the first time with us! The Hotel Viking is within walking distance to shops and attractions as well as the downtown waterfront and seeing the sights of the area is the perfect way to pass the time. Our associates will be happy to know that they left you with...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We only stayed here for one night. We were given a room upgrade and it was quite nice - king bed with a sitting area and electric fire place. The bed was really comfortable with nice soft linens and great pillows. The staff was very friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor of the main building and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ohmajo
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay so completely with us at The Hotel Viking, even if for only one evening. An upgrade can be such a welcome surprise and we work hard to ensure our guests’ ultimate comfort with our well-appointed guest rooms. Walking around Newport can be such a wonderful experience. Thank you for your feedback....

New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Top notch and very classy. I didn't spend a night but was there was lunch and for drinks. I have friends which stayed here and this is the only place they prefer to stay while visiting Newport and I don't blame them. Very professional staff and friendly. It is located in the heart of all sightseeing. The pineapple icon says...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luigi S
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Welcome, indeed! We love to ensure that our guests get to enjoy the very best when visiting us for not only overnight stays but also when dining at One Bellevue. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We hope you have the chance to come back again to The Hotel Viking.

Connecticut
Reviewed 10 April 2015

My wife and I did an overnight during Restaurant Week. We arrived well before check-in, but the room was ready for us and they were happy to send us up. They upgraded us to a room with a king bed, which we really appreciated. While the room wasn't huge, it certainly accommodated our needs. All the staff - from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timhare
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

What a lovely overnight experience! Located in the Historic Hill neighborhood, The Hotel Viking offers charming elegance and warmth with modern amenities. It is wonderful to know you appreciated your comfortable upgraded accommodations and early check in as well as the value you found here. Relaxing with a glass of wine while listening to live music sounds like the perfect...

Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, wonderful staff...centrally located. Definitely will be back. The beds were amazing to sleep in and although our room was overlooking a parking lot...the view of the town just passed the lot was very charming. Pool was great but the carpet gets wet and soggy which is a little gross but honestly the only thing I'd change. Staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damomager
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is such a pleasure to know you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us at The Hotel Viking. There are many amazing attractions here in Newport, including touring the historic mansions as well as the Cliff Walk, which combines the beauty of the shoreline with the architectural history of the area. We are glad that your in-room dining experience was...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I spent one night in this state at the Hotel Viking. The hotel is what I would call a luxury one. It looks like the pictures. I did not use the pool area but it looked very clean. I booked a facial and massage at the spa. I found that service to be very satisfactory as well. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingwoman45
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for your high recommendation of The Hotel Viking. We are glad you found our historic hotel to be so well appointed and luxurious. Among our resort amenities include use of our indoor heated pool, whirlpool, fitness center, wireless Internet and more for a nominal fee, as you mentioned. We do offer full Valet services when parking your car....

Farmingdale, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Good experience overall. Very friendly staff and a very well maintained and clean property in all respects. The $30 parking charge per night is excessive just to drop your car in a largely empty lot right behind the property. But, all parking in this area from the wharf to the hotel is all charging to park. The Viking takes the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John16M
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We value your point of view and want to thank you for taking the time to share your opinions about our offerings. While it is great to know you appreciated our friendly associates as well as our well-cared for accommodations, we regret if you were troubled by any of our fees. There is a charge for our full-service Valet. So...

Milford, CT
Reviewed 5 April 2015

This is a Historic hotel that still provides great service! (Read their history on their web site) Every staff member we saw, at desks or just passing in the hallway was friendly and said hello! We felt very welcome! We were accommodated when we asked to check in early but that meant that we were down two very long hallways...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelwaves
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

What a lovely birthday celebration! We couldn’t be more delighted to know that you chose the historic Hotel Viking for your special occasion. It certainly sounds as though you and your husband were able to take in much of what we have to offer, including our relaxing indoor pool and luxurious spa treatments. All of our associates will be thrilled...

883 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (457)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (152)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
609 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $377 - $996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
4 months ago
Port Jefferson, New York

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Valet took car on arrival but only I asked at check in this wasn't included in cost and would have been $35 a night. Loads of street parking”
Burger_Love2017, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Manor rooms are nice but may be quirky.”
bobbbee, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“I hear the rooms in the "thousands" are nicer than the ones in the "hundreds"”
  • View of hallway on second floor
  • Front facing room
Alice3403, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the restaurant side of the building”
PlainJane1122, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Roof top drinks and views. Lp”
ednabrit6637, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$319* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$319
TravelocityUS$319
Expedia.comUS$319
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates