We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

TravelocityUS$159*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$159*
US$159*
US$159*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 395: English reviews
Start your review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not bad in total, if you think the cost performance is your priority matter. Facilities are old and the number of the room with the partial ocean view is limited. You need 10-minute-walk to the beach. However, the hotle has 3 laundry machines and the nice coffee shop opens from 7:00 to 17:00. There are two ABC stores near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yumiko M
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Yumiko M. Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff, as well as our amenities. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced and will follow up on your feedback. Mahalo and we hope to see you again!

Gold Coast
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Older buildings in Hawaii are being demolished because they are past their use by date. The Ambassador is way overdue for this. We were told it is clean, comfortable and central. Not quite the whole story. Air Conditioner could not be used because of the noise and a plug of what looked like dust/dirt flew out when we turned it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffGoldCoast
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha JeffGoldCoast and thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the fact that you were not satisfied with your experience. We try our hardest to provide the best value for our very competitive rates and are sorry that we were unable to accommodate your needs. We will...

Coldstream
Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not be fooled by the pictures as we were. We were not expecting luxury but functionality as we were just spending one short night before flying to a different island. Arriving at the hotel at 11:00pm and leaving at 7:00 a.m. We booked two queen beds for 2 adults and 2 children. When we arrived our room had 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 543shannonl
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha 543shannonl, thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and would like to sincerely apologize for your experience. Unfortunately, our room categories are based upon view and kitchen type rather than bedding type. When you book the most basic room, it is likely that you will end up with the 3 singles beds. A choice of 2 queens...

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well-located budget hotel that earns 3 stars for its staff, service and comfortable beds. Yet it falls short because the bathrooms simply need renovations to regain the cleanliness I expect for a solid score. It has potential and seems to be trying but has to make some capital investments to earn a stronger recommendation from me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galooba
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Galooba, thank you so much for your review. We greatly appreciate hearing your kind words about our staff and service, as well as the beds! Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback, mahalo!

Northford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three nights here. POSITIVES: friendly helpful staff, easy parking, 1/4 to 1/2 mile from Beach and Duke's Restaurant, okay beds. NEGATIVES: without AC running could smell mold, no space in bathroom to put anything down, shower really small and shower head dirty, AC vents dirty, $25 per day parking I booked this for myself and husband plus addition...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen C
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Kathleen C, thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate hearing that you enjoyed our friendly staff, location, and parking. We sincerely apologize the inconveniences and the fact that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We will follow up on your comments. Mahalo.

Canberra
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel online from Australia directly to the hotel where we were charged for the 'resort' fee at the time of booking and then again when we arrived and despite sorting this with the front desk before leaving i know discover they have charged me again I have sent 3 emails to the hotel and not one response...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wallylovesthetigers
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha wallylovesthetigers, thank you for your review. I do apologize for this miscommunication, but as our Guest Service Managers explained to you both in person and via email, the amenity fee was not charged in advance. In fact, we do not ever charge this in advance, it is always authorized at check-in and then payment is fully processed upon checking...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed in one of the rooms on 11th floor. We were very happy to have a nice view from the patio and the cozy guest room. It is an old hotel building and not like a super-clean or state-of-the art stuff around. However, it is close to Ala Moana shopping center and takes 10-15min to downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kana M
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Kana and thank you for this review! We are so happy to hear your kind words about our staff- we will make sure this is passed along to them! We're also grateful to know that we were able to accommodate your needs and address any issues immediately. Our staff does their very best! Thank you for staying with us...

Georgetown, Indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here the whole time while visiting Honolulu. Close to Pearl Harbor and lots of shopping downtown in Waikiki. Perfect location for all the action, BUT the room was so out dated. Its was my husband, myself and our daughter and the room consisted of 3 single (bunk) beds. They were so uncomfortable we didn't sleep good for 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Carol K and thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback. We sincerely apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. While our most basic rooms have 3 single-sized beds and a mini-refrigerator, we do have larger rooms to offer with full kitchens and bigger bed...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is older. Our room was simple but had a large fridge, kitchen area. Laundry and gym with free weights on 2nd floor. Lots of parking for your rental car, for extra charge. If you want a nice hotel with ambiance for a couples getaway, look elsewhere. If you are on a trip with your buddies and need convenience, great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrej S
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Andrej S, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate all of your needs! We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback. Mahalo and we hope to see you again!

Springfield, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the hotel is little outdated it still has some great qualities. To start, when you check in everyone in your party gets a refillable water bottle and there is a filling station on the first floor. Also located on the first floor are restrooms, a game room and the business center. They have coin operated laundry on site and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charene D
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Charene D, thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our service, location, and amenities. We enjoyed having your group stay with us and getting to know some of you! Mahalo for choosing Ambassador!

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,449 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,786 reviews
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value. We are conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, on the island of Oahu, offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, beautiful beaches, Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more.Residence-style comforts including Full Kitchens, Free Cable Internet, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's and more. Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley line and bus routes. Shuttle Service by Roberts Hawai’i available. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2101
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $181 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel Waikiki staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Less noise on higher floors.”
135kathleenc, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Add $15 per day to the price you get quoted and use this to compare with other hotels.”
836pjones, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better”
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
  • View from the top floor
Q2661BHjanr, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher up the better as the windows aren't very sound proof.”
kingpinbap, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Diamond head tower, ask for renewed room / suite”
gmcmillan2017, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$159* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$159
Booking.comUS$159
TripAdvisorUS$159
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates