We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Waikiki

Save
Share
2058 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2196
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$162
Agoda.comUS$162
HIExpress.comUS$162
eDreamsUS$162
Trip.comUS$195
Hotels.comUS$162
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (308)
Room & Suite (143)
Pool & Beach (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#66 of 94 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

The brand new Holiday Inn Express Waikiki is located at the gateway of exciting Waikiki. This 44-story hotel offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Koolau mountains and Waikiki skyline. Located just 3 blocks from Waikiki beach and 4 blocks from the Hawaii Convention Center, the hotel offers convenient access to shopping, dining, and activities. All new guest rooms feature complimentary internet access, a compact refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker and a microwave. More perks include FREE WiFi and FREE breakfast daily (served from 6:30am -9:30am). Parking is available for our guest at $29 per day. $100 fee for early departures.

Enjoy fun on-site amenities like a 5th floor skydeck with a 9-hole mini-golf course, shuffleboard, giant chess game, ping pong and pool tables, foosball, and a full exercise room is available Soak up some sun on an open deck with a pool and hot tub.

A great home during your getaway, Holiday Inn Express Waikiki is the ultimate in Waikiki hospitality.

Read more
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
508Reviews30Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 128
  • 177
  • 118
  • 46
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DbacksFn wrote a review Jul 2021
Tucson, Arizona305 contributions151 helpful votes
We stayed here for a week while visiting family. I hate Waikiki but where else to stay? On check in, the staff was downright rude, for no reason. We had to go through the same Covid screening we had just done at the airport. Did they think we swam here? Rooms are tiny. You can't dry your hair inside the bathroom because there is literally no elbow room. No counter space, either. Toiletries had to be stored in dresser drawers. Bed and pillows were comfortable but linens were old and worn. Breakfast is grab and go with hot and cold options. Not very good and coffee is awful. Pool was out of order. Overall a pretty bad place. Can't wait to get home.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Miranda, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 3 days ago
We are sorry you had a poor experience at our hotel. Our team strives to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay, so we apologize for missing the mark. We appreciate you sharing details so we can take steps to prevent these issues in the future. Please consider staying with us again so we can show you a better example of our hospitality. Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Adrienne Siagatonu wrote a review Jul 2021
Fort Knox, Kentucky4 contributions3 helpful votes
Initial check-in process went smooth. Sawn truly exceeds all customer service expectations and proves IHG's motto, creating great hotels guest's love, true! However, the room is a little cramped for a family of 4, the parking spaces in the garage are limited, too small, and overpriced, and the security detail could be better. I felt our family was being targeted by one particular rent-a-cop. He was white, brunette, dad-bod, about 5'8 ft, and at least 200 lbs. It started on our 2nd day after arrival. The front desk called "security" on my 15 yr old niece because she needed her key card reactivated and instead of asking my niece for her ID, Sheryl and rent-a-cop decided to traumatize my niece and escort her back to my suite where my handicap mother was waiting. Frustrated because I had to cut my family time short with our local family and friends, I came back to the hotel to address this issue. The situation escalated once my aunt decided to park her car in the hotel garage. Upon departing after having dinner at the hotel with my family, my aunt found a parking citation on her windshield for being parked in an "over-sized car" lane only, yet the silver Corolla and other small Honda parked in the adjacent lanes had none. I am very understanding, but this was a personal vendetta. The rent-a-cop still lurks closely behind us whenever I or my family cross the lobby and it's becoming almost as if he is racially profiling us. We're here until the end of the month. Lord help us!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 1 week ago
We are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences you have mentioned. We take such instances very seriously, so please allow us some time to investigate the specifics of this instance with the associates involved. Thank you for your patience and understanding in the meanwhile. Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Rebecca O wrote a review Jul 2021
Ridgewood, New York1416 contributions242 helpful votes
We stayed here for our two week vacation. It is such a nice place. Close to buses and the beach. It has some nice amenities like golf, huge chess, and ping pong, as well as individual cabanas and breakfast is also included.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 3 weeks ago
Rebecca O, thank you for being our guest and for writing such a fantastic review of your vacation. We are delighted that our location met your expectations and that you particularly loved our excellent on-site facilities. We hope that your great experience will bring you back to enjoy even more of what we have to offer. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Waikiki! Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Malee wrote a review Jul 2021
Florida38 contributions22 helpful votes
Holiday Inn Waikiki is a good hotel outside of the main attractions in Waikiki. The staff were friendly and attentive and they made sure your requests were fulfilled to your highest pleasure. The only downsides were the long elevator waits, the cramped rooms, and the expensive parking in their parking garage. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Use TheBus to travel around Oahu
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an overall pleasant stay, and we appreciate you recognizing the efforts of our staff. Your compliments will surely be relayed to them. However, we regret the difficulties you encountered and for the disappointment you had with our parking fees. Your feedback is valuable to us and has been shared appropriately. We hope you will choose us again soon. Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Jerri L wrote a review Jun 2021
Johnston, Iowa1739 contributions240 helpful votes
My husband and I checked in to stay for a few nights. It was difficult getting to the lobby for check in with construction in the area but the women who worked the front desk were very kind and helpful, thanking us for being frequent customers of IGH properties. Our room was on the 33rd floor and the wait for the elevators was often quite awhile and the recommended policy of 2/elevator made it more difficult to get to higher levels in a reasonable time. Masks were required in all public areas of the hotel property. Daily rate with a corporate discount was around $150/night which was very good for the location. Keep in mind there are lots of taxes added on and the end price was closer to $200 a night. The room was smaller than most average hotel rooms - the king sized bed took most of the space, and there was no desk available for two of us doing remote work, simply one chair and a portable table. I used the bed and bedside table while my husband used the other. We had to call maintenance for the A/C our first night because it was freezing! Found out it was set at 60 and we had no way to adjust it - the thermostat was not working and the screen was blank. When he arrived he asked to see the remote control… part of the problem apparently, there wasn’t one. He messed with the unit and said he reset it to 70 but after he left it got very hot and we found it was set to 82. We decided it wasn’t worth trying again. It was especially tricky using their parking ramp to park. We received notice that spots were limited and the process of seeing if there were available spots in the ramp or not was complicated as well. Cost of the ramp is typical for the area at $35/night. There was a “bag breakfast” available with a prepackaged egg, potatoes, sausage or bacon; choice of cereal, milk, juice, apple/orange; breakfast bar and coffee each morning and when we went at 7:15 there was no wait. We heard the line was long at 6:30. The location is close to the shopping and restaurants downtown and the beach, within easy walking distance. Our room view was of Diamond Head and would have been an amazing picture view but the windows were very dirty. I gave an average rating because overall it was a good stay but not exceptional or outstanding and there were some difficulties.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Responded 4 weeks ago
Jerri, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you liked our location and were impressed with our courteous associates. However, we are sorry for the disappointment you had and for the difficulties you encountered. We take all critiques seriously and use them as motivation to improve our guest experience. We know that this stay may not have been the best, but we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for the exceptional hospitality for which we are known. Jernell R.A. Mendonca General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$189 - US$267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
596
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Waikiki
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Beach Walk (0.4 km), Hard Rock Cafe Honolulu (0.3 km), and Ocean and You (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poke Bar, Hiking Hawaii Cafe, and Tommy Bahama Restaurant, Bar & Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Waikiki?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (3.8 km), Shangri La (4.8 km), and Queen Emma Summer Palace (5.8 km).
Does Holiday Inn Express Waikiki have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Holiday Inn Express Waikiki accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.