We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
White Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 533: English reviews
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Unexpected stay caused me to find least expensive hotel. At about $100 is was ok. I booked and thought I'd paid via Expedia but still had to pay an additional $13 "resort fee" when I checked out. Room was clean. Desk service was fine. Surrounded by taller hotels, the White Sands is like a flash back to Waikiki is the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RKL3
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha RKL3, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. About the convenience fee, I am sorry you thought you had paid to Expedia. We collect this mandatory fee upon check in. Thank you for helping us to improve our guest relation services, and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you on your next...

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

A smaller style hotel with only 3 stories but tucked back off the street, so nice and quiet. The rooms are a little dated but clean and very comfortable, and great value for money. The pool area was great and being a smaller hotel it was never crowded. The free wifi was fast and easy to access. Great location,only a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jan M
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at White Sands Hotel. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our professional staff, great value, location, pool area and WiFi. I am also pleased to hear that you had “early check in” after your long flight. When you plan your next trip to...

Reviewed 8 August 2016

The staff were amazing and helpful and helped me find a room during the middle of RIMPAC. However, on arrival, we were scared to death. It was incredibly over priced for what we got. It isnt in the friendliest of locations, thin walls, very outdated. you need to carry your suitcases up stairs. our door opened up onto a parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chanelle K
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to share about your recent stay at White Sands Hotel. I'm disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. I am glad to hear that you complimented on our lovely staff and I will acknowledge and recognize their effort in providing great customer services to our valued guests. About the...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

A little sketchy. Never had a place to park. Had to drive around for 20 minutes to park. There lot had maybe 10 spots and adjacent lot next to it had 12 spots. Room was average and no wifi. Must have been 20 people in the small lobby trying to get some wifi. If you go outside avoid the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H-and-k-3
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write your experiences. I want to thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that we did not achieve your expectations. We at White Sands Hotel apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had while you were staying with us. I hope that your next holiday in Hawaii will...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Return visitor .Happy to stay here again.It is quiet .Cozy and clean .Limited parking so get a space because it is very convenient.Just a short walk to wonderful downtown HONOLULU. Very relaxing to end your night in the jacuzzi with a glass of wine.Right BRANDON ?It is quiet and calm at night. I always got a good nights sleep .There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sterling L
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Mr. Sterling, Thank you for posting the review on Tripadvisor. We greatly value your feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our valued guests and return to our property year over year. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at white Sands Hotel and will be back on December 23rd. Our team mates will be...

Norman, Oklahoma, Usa
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I had two nights booked and as soon as I rolled up on the property, I knew it would only be one night. The place has very limited parking that they charge $25 for. There are no elevators so if you have bags, make sure they are light. There is no wifi but I was able to tether my Tmobile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane L
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback on your vacation. We greatly value your feedback. We are taking your concerns very seriously and are trying to improve our service to better accommodate our valued guests. You are right, Parking is always a challenge in Waikiki. Our parking is limited and based on the “first comes, first serves. In July, due to...

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I picked this hotel based on 3 important factors: Kitchen, Price, and Location. All matched my requirements. So let's begin with #1 location: It is well situated right around the corner from the canal in a safe neighborhood - far enough from the busy Waikiki main streets, but very close walking distance to it and the ocean. There's a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anne B
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Anne B, Thank you for posting the positive comments. We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback. I am happy to hear that you appreciate our centralized location, reasonable price and the kitchenette. I am pleased to hear that you will recommend our hotel to others. On behalf of the White Sands Hotel team, we look forward to accommodating...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We booked one night in a "One bedroom with kitchen" room for a layover in Honolulu based on recommendations for a reasonable hotel nearish to the airport. When we checked in we were disappointed with the condition of the room, but we were in a hurry to drop off our bags and go, and we figured it would be fine...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LizD99
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha LizD99, Mahalo for taking the time to share about your recent stay at the White Sands Hotel, I'm disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. I apologize that the noise disturbed your sleep. Situation about the room, we will bring this up to the owner’s attention for our room improvement project. We offer reasonable...

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Summary: This is our strongest recommendation for White Sands Hotel. We are both seasoned travelers and there is no where else we would stay except here in Oahu. We enjoyed it so much that we stayed for two weeks. We were made to feel like a part of the Ohana (family). Oh, and respect the Alohaness, listen to the staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Scourge-of-God
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Scourge-of-God, Thank you for posting the positive comments for White Sands Hotel. I will definitely pass this message to Brandon, Clifton, Leilani and Blake and make sure our staff should be recognized and acknowledged for their efforts to provide good customer service to our valued guests. I am delighted to hear that you loved our kitchenette and I believed...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Great location, great value for the price, and an overall great place to stay. If you are a luxury traveler looking for a 5-star resort experience, this is NOT the place for you. However, if you are like me and are looking for affordable, clean, safe,and superbly located lodging with a SUPER friendly staff, this is a great option in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LadyWanderLust

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Studio with City Views (23)
Viewed
Studio with Pool Views (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
1,805 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
199 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,544 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
542 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $169 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from White Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can handle stairs, get the second floor on the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles OceanBoulevard, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pool view room is best”
 of 5 bubbles pally1070, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light Sleeper or Noise Sensitive DO NOT get room 236 or near entrance to building.”
 of 5 bubbles 527AnneB527, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the courtyard and pool is probably best.”
  • Kitchennette, making Spam Omelette
  • the courtyard of the hotel
  • view from floor three room, top floor
  • looking up from balcony
  • Birds on your Lanai (balcony)
 of 5 bubbles Scourge-of-God, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a pool view and ask to be on the 3rd floor!”
  • a view from room 312
  • Spotted Dove shared a cup of morning Joe with me.
 of 5 bubbles LadyWanderLust, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay