We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stay Hotel Waikiki

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Stay Hotel Waikiki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 638: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Aloha greetings right from the start. The hotel underwent renovation and is a contemporary small hotel with comfortable rooms. Great service, front desk agents very kind and accommodating. Parking is limited and safe. Maria P. checked me in with a smile and explained the hotel facilities. Upon check out I spoke to Erika J. which was also very knowledgeable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asacramento
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Asacramento, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us as well as the many improvements that we've made to our property. I am always happy to read that our stellar customer service continues, and I will be sure to share your kind words with Maria, Erika,...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are exceptionally-clean & the staff is very friendly! The location is excellent & you can walk anywhere quickly on Waikiki. Underground parking is limited - but the rates are very competitive. The wireless was not a reliable as we would have liked, but it did work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobinsonY
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha RobinsonY, Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the clean comfort of your room and the warm hospitality of our team. I am glad that you found value in our parking rates, which are indeed competitive for the area. Thank you for your patience with our wifi....

Anna Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel room was very clean and comfortable, staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was a problem or too much trouble. An ideal location for proximity to the beach, shops and transport. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbradbury312
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Sbradbury312, Thank you for taking a moment to share a review of your recent stay. I am always happy to hear about our above-and-beyond service at the Front Desk, and I'll be sure to share your sentiments with them as well as our diligent housekeeping department who keeps our rooms clean and comfortable for our valued guests. Hope to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoy the room it is small but it's very clean the staff is fantastic rates are great would recommend to any of my clients especially when I know they're going on a bunch of excursions. Stay Waikiki is awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Qweotta S
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Qweotta S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am always encouraged by guests who understand that the true value of our hotel is not in the size of our cozy rooms but in the size of our big hearts. We take the spreading of aloha very seriously here at Stay Waikiki, and we...

Milton, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel people made an effort to get us into our room early, which was very nice and appreciated . ( 8 1/2 hr flight from Sydney ) The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Like their coffee in the lobby...always fresh! Mahalo!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thatthemama
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Thathemama, Thank you for taking a brief moment to review your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you were able to get into your room a little earlier as I know that a long flight can take the best out of us. I will be sure to share with our team your kind words as they always...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Online profiles for this property show it as modern and fresh, this is not the reality of my experience. I selected a queen room with sofa, not the cheapest option. Upon arrival I was 'upgraded' to a condo. I thought wow can't complain! Then was lead out the back of the property, across the road, a few doors down and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vettwell
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Vettwell, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which I am sorry did not meet your expectations. We do consider our condo units to be an upgrade from our rooms at our main hotel because these more private units have king-sized beds as well as full kitchens that are stocked with all the supplies needed to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location less then 5 minutes walk from the beach. Clean room, very friendly staff happy to assist with anything including ringing and booking tours for us. There is also a cool karaoke bar downstairs next to the lobby which is also awesome, there were some quality singers in there! For the price we paid the hotel exceeded my expectations!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichieOz12
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha RichieOz12, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It sounds like you enjoyed the best of what our hotel has to offer and that you had a lot of fun during your time with us. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future so that you may make...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is OK - it's cheap, clean and positioned well but there are far better options around for the price. I only stayed one night and it was fine, did the job. One entire wall in the room I was in was simply glass shutters, which meant all the street noise came in and made it harder to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travels_Of_Nat
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Travels_Of_Nat, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel as appreciated nor acknowledged as you should have from our Front Desk team as we are regularly lauded in reviews and in person by valued guests for our hospitality and attentiveness. Your feedback gives us an...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Knowing the hotel has a low standard, it really was a great place to stay at. Clean, with helpful staff, fridge and microwave at the room allowing you to bring water, breakfast and all you need, good beds, beach towels, pretty much everything you need for a good staying!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLena O
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha AnnaLena O, Thank you for taking a moment to share your review. I am glad that we far exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again very soon! Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there for my bday, was there for a week. The gay staff kept asking to hook up with me(I'm openly gay but wouldn't hook up with hotel staff). I left my leather bracelet when I checked out. I called from the airport asking that my friends will pick and bring it back from me. No one contact me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aucklandguy
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Aucklandguy, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. Unfortunately, we did not receive any calls from you or your friends regarding your missing leather bracelet nor did our housekeeping team recover it from your room. I do hope that you were able to find it since returning home. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn...

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
1,889 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,207 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#35 of 84 in Honolulu
1,393 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
721 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $176 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better to get a room on the floors above 4.”
  • air conditioner above bed. Window faces street. Noise hotel behind.
  • picture showing wall with closet
  • light and usable power switch on light. Does not turn on from wall switch.
  • Tub not caucked correctly. Tile painted by white paint.
  • Sink was never cleaned the 1 week visit. Still had paint on the sides.
  • When you walk in this is the bed. Only 1 side table. Power switch not working. Window facing str
 of 5 bubbles randyr638, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the 6th floor or above, and the largest room available. Worth upgrading.”
 of 5 bubbles dmvalleza, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room floor, the softer the outside street noise is.”
 of 5 bubbles Doctabunk, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Insist on a newly renovated room or find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles colb121, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“just good all round!”
  • not bad!
  • perfect size
  • view from our balcony
  • bit outdated but not bad if you're not fussy i didnt care! still works doesnt it?
 of 5 bubbles Luke180, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay