We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stay Hotel Waikiki

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stay Hotel Waikiki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 19 January 2017

When I travel to Hawaii, I never like to spend much on the hotel because I'm literally never there except for sleeping. This hotel has a great front desk staff and a lost of options like mats, chairs and umbrellas you can check out and bring to the beach with you. The rooms are basic...nothing fancy. But the beds/pillows are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor V
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Taylor, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It's refreshing to hear you say that you used your time on island to enjoy the best that it has to offer, which is how a truly successful and memorable visit to Hawai'i should be. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at Stay Hotel in Waikiki beach for 6 nights . The hotel has a good location, 2 steps from the beach and from the strip on Waikiki beach. A lot of stores near the hotel, very good coffee available 24 hours in the lobby, beach towel, other accessories for the beach. Some problems with the internet but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicoSP14
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha NicoSP14, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I am sorry that you experienced some intermittent connectivity issues with our wifi, I am happy to report that in the coming weeks, with our system upgrade, we should see an end to the spottiness. I am always happy to hear that our Front Desk team share...

Reviewed 19 January 2017

Perfectly located right by Waikiki beach . Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and staff helpful and efficient . We were a Family of six, and with the money we paid were happy with the hotel. What we saved by staying here instead of the more expensive hotels we were able to do lots of activities , swimming (cage) with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Tracy B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so happy to hear that you found the best of what to see and do on O'ahu and that you chose our hotel to be your clean, comfortable, and friendly base camp. I am excited to share that we'll be upgrading our wifi system in...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

1. Front desk staff weren't friendly or helpful. One staff member could not read the local bus timetable or even point us in the direction of the closest supermarket. 2. The rooms are nothing like the photos at all. 3. There were no windows, only shutters which meant that the room was constantly noisy and it was impossible to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveMaask
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha SteveMaask, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have a fresh team in place, and they are excited about refining their knowledge base so that they may be able to provide our guests with top level customer service. Thank you for your patience as we get to that point. We are looking forward to updating...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel room is not like the pic. Needs updating and minor repairs. Staff was nice. Rm 808 has very loud. Sounds penetrated the wall. Not sure what is was and we were not near an elevator. The room was clean even though it lack in appearances. The shower head needed cleaning from hard water. Our flight got in late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Sandra H, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for choosing our hotel for your short stay on island. I appreciate you letting us know where we can make important improvements to our unit, and I will be sure to share your feedback with our maintenance team in order to make this happen. We are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

To those of you who have submitted bad reviews, I regret not reading them sooner. I experienced all 5 of the major complaints from previous reviewers. First, you will not be acquiring that room you think you paid for when you book the hotel, the reality does not imitate the pictures on the website. When I asked the staff, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butsi
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Butsi, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. As a seasoned traveler, it is refreshing to know that you did your research in advance of your visit to our property and therefore knew from our reviews and my responses to them that you were aware that we are in a period of significant transition. While we have...

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Room decent size bed comfortable had a balcony with a small ocean view... but the toilet broke and was originally told I would have to come all the way down from the top floor to use the reception bathroom whenever I felt the need!! Wasn't offered another room until I suggested they move me!! Sliding door come off the track...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wendy M
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Wendy M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry that your experience with us was on the opposite spectrum of what we are known for providing in terms of stellar customer service. I will share your review with our team and utilize your observations as an opportunity to further train our members on...

Melbourne
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This hotel provides all you need as a base from which to discover Waikiki. The rooms are clean, nothing fancy and great if all you are really after is to head out and explore the area as it is in an absolutely fantastic location. Bathroom was also clean - very standard but decent enough. Overall it was an okay stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anika_35
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha anika_35, Thank you for sharing your review! We are glad you found our property to be in a convenient location and the facilities clean as well. Please think of us again for your next visit to the Hawaiian Islands. With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

Mililani, Hawaii
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I loved our stay at the Hotel. When I initially booked with priceline they gave me a different address to check in however the hotel registration is on 2424 Koa Ave. I thought for the price we paid it exceeded my expectation. Clean, neat, great location, good amenities and prompt service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuFrigillana
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha JuFrigillana, Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are delighted to know that you found our property to exceed all of your expectations. I hope to see you again in Waikiki soon! With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

Singapore
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I really wanted to like this hotel, as I enjoy staying in boutique hotels. Unfortunately, it proved disappointing. One of the walls of my room consisted entirely of glass shutters that could not be fully closed. Consequently, you could hear every bit of noise on the street throughout the night. Bear in mind this hotel is located on a busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HWMNBN
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha HWMNBN, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You will be happy to know that we have plans to modernize our jalousie windows that, when replaced, will greatly curtail the outside city noise you experienced during your visit with us. In the coming weeks, we're also upgrading our wifi set-up, which will provide a faster, more...

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
377 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,371 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
38 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
136 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $174 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“End rooms are the noisiest ask for one in the middle of the floors”
 of 5 bubbles williampG5393OS, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Floors 5 or higher have balconies. Bring earplugs. The hotel is quiet but Waikiki is noisy with people, traffic, garbage trucks etc.”
 of 5 bubbles Vacation Val, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for a balcony on a higher floor but do not get the corner rooms facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles angelacP217PB, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Save money by checking out beach towels, mats and things like umbrellas from front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles taylorv2017, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appear to face other buildings and roof tops. I don't believe there is a good view from any room.”
 of 5 bubbles tracymarsha, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5