We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Booking.comUS$119*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,359: English reviews
Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Rooms are small but adequate, with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Refrigerator, microwave, sink, coffee maker and dishes in room. Free breakfast in the mornings and free internet. Helpful and friendly staff. Later in the week we stayed at one of the "nicer" hotels that had none of the perks of this one for double the price.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kaffee
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Kaffee", Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Waikiki. I appreciate you mentioning the perks you recieved at our property as opposed to the other property you stayed at. Having spent 20+ years working in a major resort on the Beach at Waikiki I know that the perks you get with your room...

La Grange Park, Illinois
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We picked the Aloha Surf because of the positive feedback on Trip Advisor and because Tim (the manager) took the time to answer posts (good and bad). We were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is a short walk to the beach. The "budget" room where we stayed was very basic but we didn't find it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ballhawk
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "BallHawk", Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Aloha Surf. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. As you mentioned you took the time to check out our reviews here. It is a great way to find out about a hotel. I am glad we were able to contribute to a...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 25 February 2011

good for the price. but you get what you pay for. stay at the ilikai or hilton hawaiian village for peace and quiet... not this place. but pool area and staff were great here. and the beds are awesome. very small rooms! free internet was nice though.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurensof
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "laurensof", Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor.com. We welcome and value all feedback from our guests. Our guest feedback is crucial to our ongoing efforts to grow and improve. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark, Hotel Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We arrived at the hotel after long travel experience to find our room was not what we had reserved. We were told there was not any other room to be transferred to. Our room was furnished with old, dirty furniture. The sheets had spots on them. It was just a poor start to our vacation. The management was kind but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaS42
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "LisaS42" Thank you for giving us a try here at the Aloha Surf. I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. We do our best to offer true value to our guests, with our included amenities I am sorry we were not able to accomplish this for you. I do welcome your feedback and appreciate you...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husbadn and I stayed here last year and are going back again this year for our Hawaii vacation. The hotel is at a prime location (right by the International Marketplace) and there are lots of stores and shops where you can pick up all of the necessities that you may have forgot! :) It's only about three blocks from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sunnie17
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Sunnie17" What a great Nom de Plume, it makes me want to leave work and walk down to Waikiki beach. It also makes me wish I was 17 again. Ha ha. Mahalo for staying with us in the past. This may be a first. you are writing about us prior to coming to stay with us this time. Kind...

Torrance, California
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed at the Aqua Aloha Surf & Spa hotel in January for 2 nights for our annual office retreat. This was actually our second time we spent our retreat at this hotel. The first time was great, so we decided to come again this year. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, and the service was excellent. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug808
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "incognitolady808", Mahalo for choosing us for your office retreat. What a great idea. I am so glad we were able to contribute to a successful experience for you and your team. You must work for a great company to do retreats in Waikiki! We look forward to your next visit. Take Care, Tim

Richmond BC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Overall, we were happy with this hotel. You get what you pay for, so we weren't expecting a five star, beach front hotel. The hotel was clean and well kept. The lobby was very nice, but the rest of the hotel wasn't nearly as updated. The first night, our room was terrible. We were in a standard room (very small)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomcattom
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "tomcattom", Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Aloha Surf. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on trip advisor. I apologize that the room you initially booked was not the correct fit for you, and I am glad we were able to move you to a more suitable room for you. I...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This is a very average hotel. The room was comfortable but had some definite wear and tear (cracked walls, etc). It could use some improvements. It is very close to the main walk/ beach which is a plus, just a few short blocks from Duke’s/ the main beach. The staff was friendly. We did have one major problem. We booked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TaryninSeattle
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "TaryninSeattle", Thank you for staying with us at the Aloha Surf. I am sorry for the mix up over breakfast. With the current economy, it has become increasingly difficult for hotels to continue to offer complimentary breakfast. We had to make the difficult decision to limit our free continental breakfast to people who book directly with Aqua, and with...

canada
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I have stayed at the Aloha Surf about 12 times in the last 20 years, best bang for your buck in Waikiki. Convenient location to International Market and beach.- 5 min walk. Next to large food mart. Staff helpful, kind and courteous, always! Rooms comfortable and clean. I have checked many other facilitiies and talked to other guests, all feel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vikkicanada
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Vikkicanada", Thank you so much for being a loyal Aloha Surf Guest. We really appreciate your loyalty. as someone who has been coming to Waikiki and has tried other properties, I am so glad you consider our Aloha Surf your "Best Buy In Waikiki". I am glad we have created an atmosphere that draws you back to us. Take...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 February 2011

It's a great place to stay if you don't plan on spending much time in your room and don't mind the noise at street level. After 7am, it's constant. If none of those things bother you and you're just looking for a bed or two 10 minutes from Waikiki Beach, your expectations will be met. The room was tiny, almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BCD_Toronto
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Uniballer", Mahalo for staying with us at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I appreciate you sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor. Yes, some of our rooms in our standard category are smaller rooms without balconies. The majority of our rooms are larger rooms with balconies in our Superior and Deluxe Categories. These rooms are also available at a great value....

842 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (555)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (85)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Partial City View Room With Balcony (20)
Viewed
Moderate Partial City View Room (8)
Viewed
Pools (8)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Superior Partial City View Room (133)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,869 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
262 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $179 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Rotorua, New Zealand
6 months ago
Virginia Beach, VA
1 month ago

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remodeled rooms are great.”
coffeeluvr, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed view and quiet from our 15th floor, overlooking the canal and Waikiki Beach”
winkyw18, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Will avoid this hotel in future”
dagert2015, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed staying on the 5th floor on the pool side of the hotel, opposite of the street side”
328sharonp, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No comment”
L2130FUmarkg, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$135
TravelocityUS$119
Hotwire.comUS$119
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates