We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aston Waikiki Sunset

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Aston Waikiki Sunset
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 980: English reviews
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Waikiki Sunset from 12-19-16 to 12-29-16 during our annual vacation, I would say that the room we were assigned was ok, for the most part the maid assigned to our room did provide good service, always had towels and coffee. Two days before we were scheduled to check out, my daughter placed jewelry in the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank locwell
Bay City, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived expecting something on the nice side from the view of the pictures online. Our carpets were stained, our walls had stains and hair on them, our bathroom had mildew on the ceiling, and the hallways were dirty. We were asked to forego housekeeping to accommodate the need to clean rooms of those checking out one day. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terin2017
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha terin2017, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I remember assisting you and your family regarding your concerns. We made every effort to clean your room and even offered a complimentary upgrade to another new room. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations but we appreciate your feedback as this will only help us...

Bay City, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife, son and I along with another family stayed here based on info from our travel agent. We booked several months ago so expected to at least be on the same floor if not next to each other, were not. We asked when we arrived and the lady said it is sometimes hard to do based on occupancy but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marc w
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha marc w, Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback. Although you are not currently in house I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. If we were aware of your concerns we would have made every effort to assist you with your room assignment, housekeeping services and overall customer service experience. Your...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This two bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable for our family of 4. We had all amenities and daily maid service. Kitchen was well equipped if you wanted to eat in. Fabulous views over Diamond Head. Staff were friendly and any requests were dealt with promptly. Great location on the edge of Waikiki. Five minute walk to beach and 10-12...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Elizabeth B, Mahalo for taking the time to share with our readers about your stay. It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the location, view and amenities our hotel can offer. I hope you and your family appreciated the unobstructed view of Diamond Head in our 2 bedroom suite. It’s nice to know that your expectations...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there on business but really enjoyed my little one bedroom condo with a full kitchen. I had a view of the ocean (a block away) which was nice. Sunsets were fabulous! I thought the prices were reasonable. I would absolutely stay here again. Services are good and it's only a block to Waikiki Beach. Shopping and great restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betty L
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Betty L, Thank you so much for your positive comments and scores on our friendly service, location and your overall experience with us! Many our guests take advantage of the convenience of our location, amenities and our service. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Mahalo!

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This property is very nice if you don't mind extremely outdated and dirty. It's a 1 star property at best. The 6 person suite slept 6 when including the pull out. The bathroom was a 3/4 and full kitchen wasn't a full kitchen. That doesn't qualify as accommodating 6, except as a 1 star maybe. We checked out after one...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tony K
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Tony K, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret to learn of your disappointing experience and sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. Your travel agency should have explained the sleeping arrangements to you and we also have it on our website. We also assisted you with contacting your travel agency so they will...

Hudson Falls, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on Vacation for Nine Days. Vacation of a life time. Our rooms were clean and nothing was wrong with the room. Slept with the balcony open a night couldn't have had a better stay anywhere else

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank noble7026
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha noble7026, We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing time during your stay with us! We hope you can return to our property in the near future. We will be sharing your comments to our staff regarding your stay. When you and your family are ready please contact us directly and we will continue to offer...

Hawaii
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly we were checked into a room that hadn't been cleaned and when we realized later (as we went straight out on tours) we were told by the rude front desk man that it was our job to notice and report it straight away. The room was tidy (so we didn't initially notice), but on investigating the bin wasn't emptied,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank reallynothappy69
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha reallynothappy69, We are sorry to hear about your stay and sincerely apologize. We would like to contact you immediately regarding your concerns but do not have your contact information. Please contact the hotel directly so that we discuss your concerns and ask to speak to a manager on duty. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Mahalo!

Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spacious, affordable and comfortable- that's all we were looking for. We found this at Aston Waikiki Sunset. The accomodation suited our family of 4 (2a 2c) perfectly. The onsite pool, though rarely used was clean and large enough, tennis courts were available as were DVD and PlayStation hire (incl in your daily resort fee). We really couldn't have asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle0903Sydney
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Michelle0903Sydney, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the service you received. Our staff are honored by your compliments, and they are glad they could make your stay special. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, as it allows our Management team...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Travelled with husband, daughters (21 & 19) & 1 boyfriend -_- had a 2 bedroom unit on 26 floor. Rooms were big enough & beds really comfortable with the exception of the fold out lounge, could do with a new mattress. Paid extra for a sea view and to our dissapointment we had the corner room so the sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melinda K
DougOkada, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Melinda K, Mahalo for taking the time to share with our readers about your stay with us. It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the location, view and amenities our hotel can offer. I hope you and your family appreciated the unobstructed view of Diamond Head in our 2 bedroom suite. We hope that you and...

765 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (729)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (184)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (285)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,225 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $289 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Honolulu, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Aston Waikiki Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Protect your personal belongings, do not leave out where there is temptation”
 of 5 bubbles locwell, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room above the 18th floor, those are where the Orientals have rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 271marcw, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hi floors30to 37”
 of 5 bubbles haynaulka, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The views are great from the higher floors, but the lifts are a little slow.”
 of 5 bubbles 289jennil, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“good luck, not sure there are any”
 of 5 bubbles GPB11M, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay