We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,205: English reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The queen has been updated since our last visit . New look to to the lobby , new elevators that really work now , comfortable rooms . The down side is that the rates have gone up . Valet parking pretty expensive , we self parked at the hotel next door for half the price. Still the location is great...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank C P
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are glad you still find our location "great" and conveniently close to the beach. We have made improvements to our property and we are proud that you noticed. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return once again to visit. We wish you safe...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 28 July 2015

This hotel was a great location for the price. You can literally walk out of the hotel and see the beach, a 2-3 minute walk. The room was average. We got a Diamond Head View and it was pretty great. The only downside is that on our last full day there, the water was shut off because of a broken...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ruth N
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy you got to experience the dazzling views of Diamond Head during your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani. Our guests love that the beach is only a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel and we are glad you do to. We apologize for the challenges regarding the water pump and any inconvenience it caused you....

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Seriously you get what you pay for. We are staying here now for two nights & so far it's average. Pool tiny and no sun umbrellas around the pool either. Small rooms. Our mini fridge is bashed up. Wall paper is coming off. Wifi exists but is incredibly slow. Blah!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Crinau
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is unfortunate that you found our accommodations "average." We have informed guest services about the challenges with your room and ask that you please reach out to the front desk staff if you have any further issues. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation and have...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 22 July 2015

All of those listing negative reviews on this hotel must be staying at some other property. We just spend 5 days here and it was outstanding. The staff is nice, particularly a guy named Travis at the desk. The room was clean, orderly, and serviced properly each day. Yes, there are the roll out glass windows, but how great to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank philipg20152015
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review The Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you loved you room and our excellent location. We take pride in providing our guests a memorable experience during their stay. We hope to accommodate you once again and wish you safe travels. Have a fantastic day!

Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Staff does not listen. Rooms are tiny. Bathroom tiniest yet. Housekeeping leaves at 4pm, but...oh...they forgot to tell us that and we returned to a room not yet cleaned at 2:30 and took a quick nap...until about 4pm. We had to ask twice for fresh towels. The hotel changes the password every Tuesday, and they may or may not tell...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank electra49
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that you found your accommodations unsuitable during your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We strive to provide all of our guests with a positive memorable experience. If you have any further comments or concerns regarding the challenges during your stay, please contact our...

Edmonton
Reviewed 19 July 2015

There are a lot of pro's and just a few con's - I actually feel bad stating con's because everything else was so amazing. The customer service at this hotel is above par. I booked my stay with expedia, when I arrived , the hotel did not have my reservation and asked me to wait. I waited maybe 5 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank hugseeker
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received stellar service from our staff. We hope you will continue to choose Queen Kapiolani for future visits and that you have safe travels wherever you go. Have a wonderful day.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank T3883PPchrisc
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

La Quinta, California
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Queen Kapiolani location is great...right across from the Honolulu Zoo/Kuhio Park and just paces away from the world famous Waikiki Beach and shops/restaurants. Queen Kap is a great value with adequate rooms but this is not an amenity filled, exotic, full service resort experience (even though a $14.95 per day resort fee added). We enjoyed our stay but lowered our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Greg S
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at our beautiful location. Our guests enjoy our close proximity to the beach, zoo, and shopping and we are pleased to hear you were able to experience this as well during your visit. We hope to accommodate you once...

Maui
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We checked in late about 8 p.m. and were given a nice upgrade to a corner room with a great view of Diamond Head. Comfy beds, smallish bathroom, and great air conditioning on a hot humid day. we were n the 8th floor and there was a small balcony and NO noise from the city below. Dislike the $25 per...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hajanne
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are proud of our stunning views of Diamond Head and are glad that you were able to experience these from your room during your visit. Thank you for choosing us for lodging, We look forward to having you back in the...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2015

If you're looking for a place to stay in the heart of Waikiki, steps away from the beach, and short walks away from the shops then Queen Kapiolani is the perfect option. But you're going to have to accept that you're staying at a more dated hotel (although most hotels in that area all seem dated anyway). Convenience: Near the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fromVancouverCanada
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your review of The Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our location and were able to find fun activities nearby to partake in. Renovations are a priority for us at Queen Kapiolani and they are being pursued for the future. As in any business, this is a process. We thank you...

1,264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (815)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
View from Room (163)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Diamond Head View Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (84)
Viewed
Jr Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Standard Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (39)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (33)
Viewed
Standard Room with Ocean View (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
1,604 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Kulana Restaurant
Kulana Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $206 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen Kapiolani Hotel staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Queen Kapiolani Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel.”
edw369, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book an ocean view or request a diamond head view”
marketcaptain, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“upper floor with view of diamondhead.”
tomsheryl, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Jr Suites are great. The penthouse with an ocean view is fabulous.”
beachbows, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do your research before you book this hotel for your stay.”
jhashimo97, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5