We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,668: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If your paying for class beware of this hotel. After staying here it became more obvious in something we all should know, appearance isn't everything. Rude staff, incompetent managers that don't even call back. Forget the voice mail that says with in thirty minutes you'll receive a call. Stayed in the tower ocean suite on 16th floor at 1300$ a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Onedissapointedguy
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. At the Moana, our associates are trained to provide exceptional service with aloha, so it is disappointing to hear that this was not the case for you. In regards to the fire alarm, we apologize for any...

New Zealand
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Quiet, clean, excellent breakfast and service, The tour &activities people were great, We had a wonderful trip to Maui, thanks Marsha.you deserve a medal. We stayed 8 nights at the Moana and probably didn't take advantage of all this hotel has to offer.Such a convenient location. They (staff)all do amazing job considering the number of people that seem to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smalloscar
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad that our associates were able to assist you in planning the perfect vacation in Hawaii. Your kind words about Marsha will definitely be shared with her supervisor and our management team. On your next visit, we highly recommend a rejuvenating spa treatment from...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed the evening of Feb 27, first time at the hotel and very impressed! Historic, colonial-style hotel with the best of modern conveniences. The highlights: 1) the hotel is right on the sand - many other hotels are across the street or a block or two off the beach, but you can walk from your room straight out to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank whiskeylad
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is so nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The “highlights” you mentioned are some of the Moana’s most sought-after features – we are glad that you were able to enjoy refreshing cocktails at the Beach Bar and restorative sleep in our Westin Heavenly Bed. We definitely wish...

Kent, Ohio
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in suite 895 in the newer wing. We were so impressed with our room. It had 2 balconies (1 with view of Diamond Head and the beach, the 2nd off of our bedroom and the living room which you could see the beach, another hotel and towards the city). Our room was very spacious with a living room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4bucks
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your 30th anniversary. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations and had the chance to experience many of the Moana’s signature activites – dining at the veranda for breakfast and soaking up the sunrays on our beachchairs are highlights for many of our...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The stairway was filled with a beautiful Japanese Bride, and her new husband. The 20 wooden rocking chairs, rocked back and forth with their guests, enjoying a book or newspaper or watching the wedding planners. A tinkle of piano keys rang through the air and out of the window. The line up inside was for afternoon tea served on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oceanspray726
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for visiting the Moana during your stay in Hawaii. We are glad that you were able to spend the day with us, experiencing the Moana’s timeless charm and historical ambiance. On your next visit, we recommend taking our popular historical tour which starts every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11 am. A self-guided tour is also available...

billyar
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First off this is really three different hotels, built decades apart, in three completely different styles. They relate to each other in no way, shape or form in either the public or private spaces. The historic part sits in the middle, flanked by a 1960's box with 9 floors on one side and the typical 1980's narrow tower on the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank billyar
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Billyar, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for your less than perfect dining experiences at the Beach Bar and Veranda, as well as the frustration experienced with timely service at the front desk. We would like to assure you that all of our associates take great pride in providing exceptional service with aloha, so it...

Monaco
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have booked a full ocean view room for a price of 380 dollars plus taxes. We were assigned room 512. The room is on the ffith floor of the old building on the side. It has two Windows. One has a view to Diamond Head and the beach . The other one looks at the wall of the next...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank monacoguy1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review and your loyalty as an SPG Gold Member. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced with your room accommodations during your stay with us. As a historic landmark, the “First Lady of Waikiki” maintains much of her original structure and features, including the size of the guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing. We...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Moana over Christmas and found the old hotel and its restaurant and bar areas under the Banyon tree very charming. It is right in the middle of everything in Waikiki but has one of the few "private beaches" (roped off area with chair service) in the area. Overall, the hotel and staff were very nice. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather b
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Heather, We are so glad that you were able to spend the Christmas holiday with us. The holiday season is one of our favorite times of the year as we get to adorn the “First Lady of Waikiki” with festive décor and share in the spirit of the season with our guests. We hope that your experiences enjoying sunset...

Itu, SP
Reviewed 5 March 2014

It is a very nice hotel! Known as the first lady of Hawaii, this is a fancy hotel. Very busy: I stay at this hotel 4 nights and I think I saw at least 6 weddings. The pool is not so big, so if you want to have a seat over there, you have to wake up early. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcos L
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review. Like you, many of our guests appreciate the Moana’s unique location – steps away from Waikiki Beach and amidst world-class shopping and dining outlets. In addition to the pool, guests may utilize the facilities of our oceanfront Moana Lani Spa by purchasing a day/night pass. Imagine retreating to the whirlpool, sauna, and steam room...

Port Douglas, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed 1 night for my birthday, unfortunately they didn't have our special request in their system, however they where very helpful changing rooms and we changed to the 5th. Floor in the new wing with part ocean views. I was also pleasantly surprised with a Birthday Cake. We mostly liked the restaurant and beachfront bar, it had more atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigi L
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Gigi, Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to celebrate with you on your special day. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time dining at the Beach Bar in the Banyan Courtyard – relaxing under the Banyan Tree while Hawaiian music plays in the background is such a treat for...

3,951 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3391)
Viewed
View from Room (312)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (771)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (288)
Viewed
Room/Suite (452)
Viewed
Dining (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1344)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $451 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
89 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (89)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the original building. The extensions are nothing like the old charm over looking and listening to the surf with the windows opened.”
217joshb, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Diamond wing is old”
foxak, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room is beautiful! It's a beautiful property to begin with.”
sfwongs, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I do not recommend rooms facing the outrigger hotel unless you want to watch and be watch by your hotel neighbors at all times.”
M_C_B_july14, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nice variety of rooms with various price levels, views, etc. They are very accommodating to returning guests.”
B287VSmarkc, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5