We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,602 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,423: English reviews
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We decided to splurge, my friend and I, at this "luxury" hotel. She hadn't been to O'ahu and therefore hadn't had the Waikiki "experience". Imagine our disgust upon entering our room in the Diamond wing. The stench (something deeply mouldy) assailed our nostrils. The size of the tiny room (3411) we could accept but not the peeling wallpaper, stained arm... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rynt
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding your Diamond Wing guestroom and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. The concerns you mentioned are not representative of our standards and if you wish to address this matter further please feel free... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Moana Surfrider. You can't beat the location, right on the beach. The shops and restaurants close by are amazing. The extra charges all add up - resort fee, room tax and occupancy tax are all added on top of the advertised room rate. The atmosphere around the lobby and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tania N
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and for being a returning guest of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki providing our guests with easy access to all... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Avoid. Dreadful service, dreadful room, dreadful prices, bland food, dreadful experience. The noise from the air conditioning on the hotel opposite our toon was like a jet engine going 24/7, after a complaint they sent some ear plugs!

Helpful?
5 Thank Rick N
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding your recent stay at “The First Lady of Waikiki,” and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you experienced while being our guest. If you wish to address your concerns further please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com.... More 

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We took our 13 yr. old to Hawaii for the first time and we chose The Moana and Waikiki Beach. We were very pleased w/ our choice. Great location, excellence in service and cuisine. We would go back again! We were not so thrilled w/ the resort fee. The free wine really sucks. The wine steward is making a meritage... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank K57K
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing you experience with us. We are so happy you chose to spend your first trip to Hawai’i here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We established the daily resort fee to offer a number of beneficial opportunities, such as daily parking for one vehicle, unlimited domestic telephone calls, one hour on international telephone... More 

Austin, TX
Level Contributor
217 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider in part because of its reputation and in part because of the history (the first hotel in Waikiki). Although the rooms are small, they are adequate for our needs (we don't spend a lot of time in our room) and was very clean. As a Starwood preferred gold, we were upgraded to an ocean... More 

Helpful?
Thank marymcd
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We always try and go above and beyond for our loyal SPG members and upgrade them whenever possible. Views of Waikiki Beach from our Tower Wing are simple breathtaking and... More 

Athens, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Beautiful hotel, amazing location, great service. We stayed in the older part. The rooms were fine, and a great quiet place to crash as you try to fight jet lag. The housekeeper, Jenna, was the best housekeeper I have met. She worked with our crazy schedules and kept the room looking great. The hotel is located on the busy shopping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Javisdad
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. So happy to hear you enjoyed your historic guestroom in the Banyan Wing. Rooms in our Banyan Wing are intimately sized and so charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and love to treat our guests like extended... More 

Tallahassee, Fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed @ this hotel for 9 nights in late July on a business trip (poor me). I was booked into a city view room in the Banyan wing, but was upgraded to an ocean view room on the third floor of the banyan wing (overlooking the pool and beach). While small, the room was very nice, shower with great water... More 

Helpful?
Thank devogrrrrl
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to share with us. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed both your Banyan Wing Guestroom and Diamond Wing deluxe guestroom. As you may know, we offer a variety of different guestrooms here at “The First Lady of Waikiki,” ranging from historical guestrooms in our Banyan Wing to more modernized accommodations... More 

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When we first arrived we were slightly disappointed to find out the hotel only had valet parking. Because of the amount of guest and distance the valet needed to travel to retrieve your car a good rule of thumb is to give them 15-20 minuets notice that you will need it. When we arrived at our “garden view room” we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco P
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being a guest of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” In addition to valet parking, we do offer complimentary self-parking located directly across the street from the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa at our sister property The Princess Kaiulani. We apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to your... More 

Rose Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were booked at another hotel and our plan was stay at this other hotel for 8 days which we did and then spend 8 days at the moana surf rider . We lasted less than 24 hours at the moana surf rider . Over packed , long wait for the lift , like ridiculous wait time for the lift... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Bridgette M
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us. We are disappointed to hear of your recent stay with us and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. While it is generally busier during the summer in Waikiki, we are more than capable to accommodate each and every one of our guests while running at high capacity. Our staff is filled with... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have read some mixed reviews for this hotel, but on a recent trip to O'ahu we decided to give this hotel a try. We wanted something fancy, classy, good location, and a good relaxation stop. After looking throughout the Waikiki strip I decided on this one because the building seemed to have a lot of character - and it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingEh
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that distinguishes us from neighboring hotels. We set the precedent in Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years... More 

3,661 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3098)
Viewed
View from Room (292)
Viewed
Dining (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (694)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (427)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,509 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
2,348 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $487 - $986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an oceanview if you want it to be extra special”
 of 5 bubbles 234paulap, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view on the side away from the Outrigger Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles SDLHK, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A little bit more for ocean view, but it's worth it”
 of 5 bubbles noncorteccia, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think most of the rooms here would be more than acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterYensen, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in city view rooms they are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 643ang, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay