We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,694 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,501: English reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Right from the start we were given a room upgrade to the full ocean view which was mainly a view of the magnificent tree in the centre of the courtyard, but non the less a great view! This hotel is in the middle of all the action and in the heart of the shopping centre.great for late night walks and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank seanola
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you had a magnificent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we are delighted to know you were treated like royalty. If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a truly charming...

Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel is about a 25-30 minute cab ride from the airport. The cab ride can by pricey so I would recommend booking a transportation service (if you don't mind making a couple stops but you will probably pay less--do your research). When arriving at the hotel I was immediately greeted and welcomed. Check-in took a few minutes but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBlaze777
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. As you mentioned, we are located on the beach in Waikiki which is about a 25 minute drive from Honolulu International Airport. There is a Starwood airport shuttle service which serves the four Starwood Properties in Waikiki and is run by Roberts Hawai’i. Reservations can be made online...

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Last summer, my family had a vacation in Hawaii. We had visited several places in different islands but because of this hotel, ohau became the most wonderful place. We love everything at the hotel including those kind staff, great sunset and sunrise, classic style room, and exciting atmosphere... Love to visit again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hyunsooks871
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us. We are delighted to hear how much you loved your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Watching the sunset over Waikiki Beach is an unforgettable experience and we are so happy you were able to experience that. Mahalo and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort...

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. It is absolutely beautiful and from what we saw of other hotels in the area it is up there with the best. Pros: - Stunning building - Restaurant food is amazing - Bar is convenient, very relaxing and great location - Hotel location is excellent, very central - Staff very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLQuenette
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful stay in your partial ocean view guestroom here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Views of Waikiki Beach from our Tower Wing are simply breathtaking. We are so sorry to hear some of the cocktails from the Beach Bar...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I just stayed 4 nights at this hotel - overall a good experience except for our first 10 hours there (see details under arrival and room#1, therefore minus 1 star). Parking - We arrived at the beautifully and elegantly designed hotel and spent 10 minutes wondering where the self parking is - to those who drove, you will actually park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank monkeykidkong
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us and for being a member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We are sorry to hear you didn’t prefer your initial Banyan Wing guestroom but we are glad availability allowed us to upgrade you to a Tower Premier Ocean guestroom. While many of our guests find our historic Banyan...

Lancaster, California
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Referred to as the "First Lady Of Waikiki" because this hotel was here 100 years ago and like then it is still one of the best spots on the Waikiki beach. We stayed in the newer tower building and was impressed by the room decor and comfort but really loved the view of the ocean from the balcony. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Treat yourself to stay at this luxury property! We splurged on an oceanview room in the tower (3722). The views of Diamondhead and the beautiful beach were spectacular. We were warmly greeted with Kukui Nut Leis by the Bellman upon our arrival. Not so at the front desk. We found the staff to be cold and unfriendly (we even presented...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ImaStewardess
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your ocean view guest room in our Tower Wing. The expansive views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are simply breathtaking! We are disappointed to hear you found the front desk staff unwelcoming and we have addressed the...

California
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Moana Surfrider Hotel in Waikiki, Hawaii is just beautiful. The history of the hotel is so interesting. Our recent visit was PERFECT. The staff was excellent and truly cared to make the guests feel welcome. We were treated with respect and the staff, from all departments, definitely displayed the "Aloha Spirit". The beds were so comfortable, the food at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RCMaui
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you had a perfect vacation here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we are so happy to hear you we treated like royalty. Like you mentioned, our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and eager to...

San Francisco
Reviewed 30 May 2013

From a business perspective, the hotel was clean, was centrally located, had proper connectivity to work and had a gym for workouts. With that said, when I think island destination, this would not be the spot I pick to spend a week with the family. The hotel is very popular with people running around everywhere, all the time. It does...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex L
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share with us and for being our guest. We value your opinion and feedback for we are always looking for ways to improve. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while being our guest, such as one of the Tower Wing elevators being out of service. On the other hand, we are...

Reviewed 29 May 2013

The overall hotel was nice. Rooms are very small reminds me of hotel rooms in new york. Cramped spaces. Opening the dresser you hit the bed. opening door for the bathroom almost hits the bed. Everything in the hotel was busy and always waiting. You want breakfast? sorry there is a wait.. you want helping booking a tour? 5 people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 987girl
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. While many of guests find our intimately sized Banyan Wing rooms charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear, we also offer more modernized rooms in our Tower Wing. We are sorry to hear you experienced long waits and we apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while...

3,783 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (439)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (719)
Viewed
View from Room (297)
Viewed
Dining (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (267)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1279)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
3,579 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
3,979 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $476 - $915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If available I would get a ocean view with views of diamond head, that way you would see all the way up the coast”
 of 5 bubbles Y8109RLvanessaa, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for high tower room”
 of 5 bubbles CEDSydney, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the ocean are beautiful and peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles X3998CYjuliec, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Banyan for older rooms, tower for rooms with balconies that are bigger”
 of 5 bubbles ebonyh795, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the historic building are charming, and include access to VIP lounge”
 of 5 bubbles Rick1708, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay