We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Start your review of Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
 Click to rate
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice , relaxing, friendly staff and lots of wildlife. Spent one night there. Good view of the lake where one can walk around. You must walk with a armed guard which is provided for a fee. Game drives available either early morning at 6 am or in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seabee25
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent our Easter weekend (3 nights from 14th to 17th April 2017) at this gorgeous camp and we both agreed that there is a very relaxed feel to this luxury "camp". We both achieved our key objective of recharging our batteries after a gruesome 3 months from the beginning of the year and the camp is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This camp is very well maintained and very clean. All their staff are very professional and they are ready to help at any given time. Food and drinks are all up to Serena standard. The rooms are huge and a family of 4 can easily fit in. I was amazed with the size of the bathroom - huge and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitul S
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

The tents are the most spacious and luxurious I've ever stayed in, with a large dressing area and bathroom with double sinks and even a double shower plus beautiful view of the lake. The food was very good with lots of choices and multiple courses. Good cocktail menu, although on the pricey side. Great inclusive activities for Easter including archery,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited Lake Elmentaita Serena camp during the Easter break with my husband. We drove from Nairobi which only took 2.5hours on a very good road with great views. Once you arrive at the camp you are welcomed by such hospitality with a glass of bubbly and hot towels with a fantastic guitarist playing in the background. The views are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zara E
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights. A beautiful location with large comfortable rooms. The food was not as good as other Serena lodges but nothing to complain about. Some of the additional activities (nature walk etc) were overpriced and not good value for money. Overall a good location for a quick getaway from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuskerbaridi
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our camp.We note that we were not able to offer the value of food quality that you have come to expect from Serena Hotels.We would like to know where we went wrong and we would request if you could send direct comment to the manager on ENjeri@serena.co.ke. We apologize if our activities seemed...

Reviewed 28 February 2017

its one of the best camp in east Africa, one cannot imagine such scenic location and wonderful food at this place. We came for a night and two days almost, did one early morning game drive and walking and horse safari across the lake. its an wonderful experience with wonderful staff to take care.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moiz I
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience ,we value your feedback. We always endeavour to provide only the best to our guest. We are glad you enjoyed our food ,the great views and that our wonderful staff were able to meet your expectation. We hope we shall get another chance to be of service to you whenever...

Reviewed 24 February 2017

My husband and I stayed at Lake Elmenteita for two nights while on safari with a small group. The welcome was fabulous with champagne and speedy check in. Once we got to our tent, we were truly impressed with the level of luxury, from the bed to bathroom to our door patio overlooking the lake The entire staff was phenomenal,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Camp.We note that you enjoyed,the welcome experience, our food ,the great service of our staff and the level of luxury that our tents offer.We felt honoured to celebrate your 40th Birthday and we wish you many more happy years. We hope to be of service to you in future. Thank you. Elizabeth...

Northern California
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We stayed at Lake Elementaita Serena Camp for two nights in January. It is set in a beautiful spot on the shores of the lake. We saw bushbuck and buffalo coming to drink at the pond and there were flamingos on the lake shore. The "tents" were more like luxury hotel rooms, very spacious and comfortable, with many special details....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaestraM
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to review the camp. We are happy you enjoyed our food offers and the delicious lobster. We have a variety of activities and we apologies if our staff were over-zealous in recommending the activities.We note your concern on the access road and we shall take it up to ensure our guest experience is not compromised....

Reviewed 30 January 2017

You want to get away from the madness of Nairobi? Then Serena Elementeita camp on the shores of a beautiful lake. Comfort and peace surrounded by wild animals in one of the most well protected conservancy park. Enjoyed the hospitality of friendly staff and the long drive in the middle of wild life.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samba T
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the camp .We are happy you enjoyed the serene environment that we have come to be known of.We are glad we met your expectation in offering hospitable service and we hope we shall get a chance to be of service to you in future. Thank You. Elizabeth Njeri Camp Manager

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
14.8 km away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
815 reviews
8.1 km away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
76 reviews
30.5 km away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
121 reviews
14.0 km away
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
77 reviews
21.1 km away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Address: Soysambu Conservancy, Lake Elementaita, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Price Range: $599 - $891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
London
4 months ago
4 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the dining area are better eg From 1-5 and from 18-25.”
DanielJ490, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A traveller, wedding couples or business both can choose this destination, they have all in very good quality.”
moizi2017, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All individual detached bungalows. Ask for one close to the reception if you are a lazy one!”
sambat2014, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the lake, we stayed in the last 2 cottages at the far end”
BejuS, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed near the lake view a bit further out and the views are great.”
stpatrickpaul, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5