We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amata Resort and Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Amata Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife had broken her foot & damaged knee ligaments six weeks before our trip so it was important to have a room near the restaurant, bar, reception etc. The first room we were given a Cabana Cottage was not suitable as it was at the other end of the resort, it was a pleasant room but it was hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HemelGooner
Amata_Hotel_Goup, Manager at Amata Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hemel Gooner, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We value your feedback and appreciate your kind words about our hotel and our services. We would have been happy to change your room upon request to ensure your comfort during your stay. However we are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the air conditioner, which has since been...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This beach hotel is in a stunning location on Ngapali Beach. Upon entering the airy old style open plan lobby we were met with a cool drink and refreshing towel, before being taken through extensive gardens to our room, which overlooked the beach. This was in the old section and a bit shabby, in need of renovation. We mentioned this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank difaJP
Amata_Hotel_Goup, Manager at Amata Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear DifaJP, Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay with us at Amata Resort & Spa , Ngapali beach. We genuinely appreciate the feedback and are delighted to hear you will recommend us to other and most importantly come back to visit again! Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon. With kindest regards,...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They will keep to the letter with your reservation and not move dates, which is concerning as travel in Myanmar can be difficult. Only book when you are 100% sure of dates and plans. For a hotel at this price range, I would expect more flexibility and customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DW_Reunion
APO AE
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From pick up at the airport to drop off the hotel did not miss a beat. The hotel grounds are stunning and the views overlooking the sunset were perfect. The happy hour was great and the staff were always smiling and friendly. Always wanting to help in anyway they can. The spa was great and always had space for us....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank katrina3043
Amata_Hotel_Goup, Manager at Amata Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Katrina, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the our spa,breakfast,rooms and location of the hotel and were happy with our services.Thanks for your comments about the staffs. We are really looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights whilst touring Myanmar. The rooms are absolutely fine, restaurant excellent and beach quiet with excellent views. Staff are excellent and couldn't do more for us. Difficult to fault this hotel without being super critical. Well worth a visits and value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul S
Amata_Hotel_Goup, Manager at Amata Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our hotel's facilities and services. Thank you for choosing to stay at amata resort ngapali. It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and Ngapali was our last destination in Myanmar. We had just stellar service in every other hotel we stayed at so Amata was very jarring. Right at check-in, the manager was very gruff and impatient with us. Then in our room we noticed that there was a big pile of bird poop...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Judy L
Amata_Hotel_Goup, Manager at Amata Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Judy L, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. Greeting from Amata Resort & Spa, Ngapli Amata. Thank you for choosing your stay at Amata Resort & Spa, Ngapali beach. We always emphasize to meet my customer’s satisfaction during their stay. We would like to offer my sincere apology for the inconvenience faced during...

Hobart
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Amata. The location is impossible to beat. Right on the beach. Local restaurants right behind the hotel. The most amazing part of the beach which was clean and secure. A couple of small niggles, as already mentioned the restaurant was a bit over priced for what was served. The staff were incredibly friendly however...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda L
Amata_Hotel_Goup, Manager at Amata Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Amanda L, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. On behalf of the entire Amata Resort and Spa, Ngapali team, we would like to pass our appreciation for your warm comments about your experience with us. Our management team will analyses on menu prices to meet the guest expectation.Also ,we are polishing language training...

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We chose our honeymoon to be at Ngapali beach and Amata was our second choice of hotel. But as soon as we arrived at the hotel, we immediately fell in love with it. Beautiful hotel and very friendly and efficient staffs will make you feel like King and Queen. They made our days sooo special by organizing romantic dinners and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Su Hlaing W
New Brunswick Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks traveling in Myanmar and stayed in 5 different hotels, and each one of them had their special charm! However this hotel is as bad as it gets!! If you booked this hotel, do yourself a favor and cancel your reservation and go to the Bayview, the Sandoway resort or Ngapali Bay and spa which are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joelleclerc
Amata_Hotel_Goup, Manager at Amata Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Joelle, Thank you for taking time to post your feedback and appreciate that you have chosen our hotel on your recent stay at Ngapali Beach. We truly regret to read your feedback concerned about our Hotel. It happened due to unexpected wind, heavy rain & thunder storm the time before your check in. The guests you saw in...

santa monica, ca
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights at the Amata in a sea view garden cottage (I forget the room number but it was just behind the outside dining area, so the room view is partially obstructed, but it is a cheaper option than the pure sea view rooms). The resort itself is beautiful and nicely set on the ocean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian m

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (460)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngapali hotels
314.7 km away
Sandoway Resort
Sandoway Resort
#5 of 16 in Ngapali
413 reviews
314.0 km away
Bayview - The Beach Resort
312.7 km away
Hilton Ngapali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
315.5 km away
Pleasant View Resort
Pleasant View Resort
#8 of 16 in Ngapali
173 reviews
307.1 km away
Merciel Retreat & Resort, Ngapali
314.3 km away
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
Jade Marina Resort Hotel
#13 of 16 in Ngapali
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Amata resort & spa, Myanmar's most exclusive international beach resort, stretches along the beautiful shoreline of Ngapali, Myanmar's premier beach. The resort covers more than five acres of tropical wonderland and guests are luxuriously accommodated in eighty teak, bamboo, cane and rattan cabana, bungalows and suites. The resort is flanked by a 400 meter seaside boardwalk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amata Resort and Spa

Address: Gyeiktaw Main Street | Mya Pyin Village Ngapali Beach, Ngapali 11021, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Price Range: $223 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amata Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amata Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Ngapali
Amata Resort Ngapali
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ngapali
#6 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amata Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Maidstone
4 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Amata Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“WiFi is generally not brilliant in Myanmar & the same here, not good at all in the room a bit better in reception.”
 of 5 bubbles HemelGooner, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Entering the hotel, rooms to the left (700+) are older and need refurbishing, pick a room to the right (400+), for new modern rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles difaJP, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles WayneK160, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get an upper level room-more chance of sea views through the palm trees!”
 of 5 bubbles Smithylydia, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“partial sea view rooms are best value for your money”
 of 5 bubbles 680ashisht, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay