We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Octagon Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Octagon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed for 2 nights as owner not allowing us for refund. staff are helpful but definitely not the owner. cleanliness, facilities, rooms are no where near for the price you/ve paid for. if you want your holiday to be stress-free, just try and avoid. however, in desperation and no way of retrieving your payment, then that's if for you. BTW...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smallcow2002
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Smallcow2002, Thank you for taking your time in putting out a review. I can clearly see and feel your frustration of not achieving having a refund. Our resort have policies in place before we give refunds and I would like to reassure our future customers that these policies are fair. I strongly suggest, if you book via travel agents,...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Our stay there was just part of a tour package, so we really had no choice. Location-wise, it is not a very convenient hotel since it is a little far from the city center. There is even no convenience store nearby, not a lot of places to eat.. you'd have to ride...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yacque_717
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Yacque_717, Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay in the resort. We certainly aim for a comfortable and pleasant stay to all of our guests. Group tour packages has certain arrangements and requirements and we agree to deliver these services in order to accommodate everyone. For the pool area, we take pride in keeping this pristine and...

Baarle-Nassau, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 September 2016

So unhelpful, never book this online, never come to this hotel, they won't let you cancel your booking. They blame you for falling down stairs. Lack of health and safety, can't believe I survived. I would have rather stayed in the car. Bath tubs unclean, the rooms have mosquitoes, as a European, it was worth than travelling to Greece.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chubbyguy436
MR Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chubbyguy436, Thank you for taking your time in reviewing your recent experience with Grand Octagon Resort. Am sorry to hear a very unpleasant experience that you had with us despite the efforts made by the Manager and her team in accommodating your expectations in your stay for 2 nights and 3 days. You were upgraded to rooms by the...

Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Octagon for a night as we stopped over at Laoag on the way to Pagudpod from Manila. The staff patiently waited for us and attended to our needs even though we checked in during the wee hours of the morning. The room itself was clean but the bathroom needs some good maintenance. I was hoping I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jomar O
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jomar O, Thank you for your review. We value our guests hence we aim to wait and welcome you even the wee hours. It is just unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy a dip before leaving and we hope there will be another time for you to enjoy. We certainly take and value your feedback and we...

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I visited Ilocos during the end of May in order to attend a friend's wedding. There were four of us and a friend booked our lodging here in Grand Octagon Resort. I'll try to break down our experience as detailed as possible. 1. Room - the room we booked was not available hence we were given a much better room....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank luzi m
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Luzi M, Thank you very much for your review and we certainly appreciate it. Please allow me to apologise for the unacceptable service specially the long wait for your extra towels. The air-conditioning issue, exhaust fan and the pool should have not happened and we aim to correct these right away. We appreciate that our staff and "mannong driver"...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We reserved for two rooms for ten persons, the dorm type one, and additional beds which they told us would be in the room when we get there. We reserved for 8 adults, one is a senior citizen, and 2 children. One of us was not able to join us, so we asked the management if we would be able...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank chichay g
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chichay G, Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your views. I can clearly see your frustration. However, I would like to highlight several issues you have raised. Firstly, the time of the year that you have booked was the peak season, hence our resort policy requires a full deposit and it is the managers discretion...

Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights so allow me to break it down to you as detailed as I can LOCATION It is a mere less than 15 minutes away from the airport and around 10 minutes to the Centro area. So location wise, it isn't that bad since you can easily have access to tricycles and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank jojowtan
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jojowtan, Thank you very much for investing your time in giving us a detailed constructive feedback to our resort. We are very grateful for a fair non-judgemental comment. Your review will certainly be of help to other travellers and punters to the resort. The issues that you have highlighted will certainly be monitored and checked. The mosquito issue remains...

Au
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We were meet at the airport by 2 young guys pleasant lads the hotel car was almost on its last legs arriving at the site was very dark not welcoming. I asked if we could get some food and a beer the fridge was not turned on for our arrival the beer they brought was hot so they offered ice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ross S
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear 283ross, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our resort. Its unfortunate that you had bad experience last December 28, 2014 and did not meet your expectations. I also feel that you were not happy that you have paid the full amount of your stay which was meant for 4 nights via our on-line travel agent which was...

Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Grand OctagonIs a great fami, y run hotel. It isn't the closest to Laoag which is a negative ... but the staff are so helpful and genuine that they deserve better. Yes the hotel could be modernised and some minor decoration. It has a host of potential, a lovely pool, great gardens etc. The garden and driveway could be updated...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank SurreyGirl27
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear SurreyGirl27, Thank you very much for your time in sharing your experience. We are very grateful with the things that you have highlighted, like our strong points in being so helpful and our genuine traits in hospitality which we take pride of. We will certainly utilise the potentials and improve on the amenities that you have pointed out, much...

Luzon, Philippines
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Just ordinary hotel nothing special, its okay if your your travelling alone, breakfast is average good to last for your morning activity (fried rice, longaniza, egg) nothing special. Facility needs some improvement specially in toilet fixtures.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Estrangjero
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Estrangjero, Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience with us and taking the time in giving us a fair review. We are very glad of your summary ratings, however we are really working hard to strive better. Again, Thank you and we hope to welcome you with a better experience. Kind regards.

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Room (39)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Twin Double Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
5.0 km away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
228 reviews
3.9 km away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#3 of 12 in Laoag
103 reviews
22.2 km away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#8 of 12 in Laoag
56 reviews
70.8 km away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
414 reviews
50.6 km away
Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Grand Octagon Resort as an invigorating place to retreat from the chaotic city. Walk around the lush tropical gardens, camp on the well-manicured lawns, cement beautiful relationships at the cottage by the pool, appreciate the beauty of greenfields at the sentry like cottages built on century old trees and reflect on how greatly blessed you are. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Octagon Resort

Address: Along Airport Avenue | Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Price Range: $53 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Octagon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Octagon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Octagon Hotel Laoag
Grand Octagon Resort Laoag, Ilocos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grand Octagon Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 1 is very spacious”
  • room above and belo
  • room1
  • bathroom
 of 5 bubbles jojowtan, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Make sure to bring your reservation confirmation”
 of 5 bubbles DarkPhoenix901, 15 May 2014 | Read review
“If booking through a third party site, better call the hotel to confirm too just to make sure they got the reservations right.”
  • broken tiles
  • crack on the ladder
 of 5 bubbles Syimeem, 21 Apr 2014 | Read review
“to enjoy dining, try to visit nearby hotel (northview hotel) or at the city ( la preciosa) , they have the best local dishes.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertVC, 23 Jul 2013 | Read review
“The Guest House is the Best area. Love the garden setting and the trickling of water in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Westerntraveller19, 8 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay