We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western The Cedars Hotel

Save
Share
Needham Road, Stowmarket IP14 2AJ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 29/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Updated 29/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Stowmarket
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Cedars Hotel in Stowmarket is a privately owned, family run 3 Star Hotel which takes pride in offering a warm welcome and a personal service to every visitor, holidaymaker and business traveller alike. We offer a fabulous Cooked-to-Order Breakfast, a wonderful way to start the day! The oak beamed bar with its large open fireplace is an ideal place for a relaxing drink. We are serving Bar Food in the evenings apart from Sundays- we are happy for you to order a takeaway and eat this in the Bar, if you purchase a drink. The hotel benefits from excellent conference and wedding facilities. We take pride in helping to make your special day run smoothly and like clockwork! The Cedars Hotel is situated in the heart of East Anglia on the edge of the Suffolk market town of Stowmarket and excellent parking facilities for up to 75 cars. We look forward to welcoming you soon The Team @ Cedars
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
316Reviews2Q+A55Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 128
  • 82
  • 47
  • 30
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tracylouise1066 wrote a review Sep 2021
Christchurch, United Kingdom68 contributions46 helpful votes
I would firstly like to comment on the hotel building and rooms, I would not usually write a review like this but feel I want to be really honest. We got an amazing deal and required two nights stay. We were allocated room 12, we made it up all of the stairs, which was not the easiest, my husband has not been well so this was extremely tricky. The room was tired and we found not overly attractive, the thought of having to climb all of the stairs again was not a pleasant thought and we honestly were dreading staying in a room like that. I decided to pop to Reception just to ask if there was any chance of changing rooms, oh my goodness I could not have asked for a more helpful person on the desk who completely understood the issues I had and if I gave her half an hour she would try to sort it out for me. Ten minutes later she was at room 12’s door offering to help with the luggage to a ground floor room that she hoped would be more suitable. Room 25 was much more suitable for our needs and we were very grateful. I would however say that this room was on the tired side but was super clean with lovely fluffy towels. I later found out that the hotel are in the process of building, which I presume was halted because of covid. The new plans look amazing and will provide up-to-date accommodation. The oldest part of the building is extremely old and you can tell that by the extremely odd climb to the top rooms, there is not a lift available so I would suggest if you are unable to climb loads of stairs then a ground floor room would be essential. I would now like to comment on the staff at the hotel, this was the shining glory of our stay. We met the amazing Vikki, who never seems to sleep but is always happy and cheerful, every time we came across her she genuinely seemed happy to see us and was interested in what we had been up to that day and made useful suggestions for the area. We only stayed two nights but on the second breakfast of our stay she remembered how my husband liked his eggs, I almost wished we had stayed another night so she could remember how I liked mine too! Vikki seems to be everywhere, she works in the restaurant for breakfast, in the bar in the evening and on reception, we were not sure of her job title but she is a real asset to the hotel and we hope that the Best Western hotel group recognise this. The rest of the staff were also amazing, Chef made some lovely food and also helped in the bar and reception was also extremely happy and cheerful. The ladies that turned the rooms around for the next guest were so friendly and again nothing was too much trouble. Best Western really have got a great team working in this hotel, whilst we would not stay again, until the new rooms are built, we cannot fault the dedication, hard work and customer service from every member of staff that we encountered. Please can you pass them our thanks for looking after us so well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel is set on the edge of an industrial estate but is in a good location for Stowmarket and...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dave B wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Loads of character and quirkiness, but clean and perfect for our 2 night stay in the area. Good breakfast, didn't try the evening menu but looked to be very varied and cater for all tastes, and a very reasonable price
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 9 Sep 2021
Dear Dave Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we adore your accolade to the small Team and our quirky hotel. Deligthed that you enjoyed the Breakfast and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards Julie Campbell General Manager
Read more
JMcThornton wrote a review Sep 2021
UK12 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked through Booking.com for 6 adults and 3 children. Two doubles, one twin and a family room for 2 adults and a child. Got 4 doubles and a mattress on the floor for the 'family room'. We were told that as there was only one name on the family room booking they assumed only one person would be in there. Obviously maths isn't their strong point as clearly that wouldn't have equalled 9 people. I was told to take it up with Booking.com, which left a child on a mattress on the floor in a small double room for 2 nights. As mentioned the rooms are very basic (our hot tap didn't work at all). However, our bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We paid £8 each for breakfast, which was good and well cooked. Don't book this hotel expecting any niceties, it's past its prime, very dated, with repairs needed. But for £80 for a double for 2 nights you wouldn't expect The Ritz and it served its purpose as somewhere to stay when visiting for a wedding nearby
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 9 Sep 2021
Dear JMcThornton Thank you for taking the time in writing you review and I am sorry that we did meet you expectations. I have checked the bookings and only 2 adults were requested, no children. Please do not hestitate to contact me if you wish to discuss the bookings. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Breakfast. We started a £2m New Build & Refurbishment Programme last year, footing were laid but the Build was stopped due to COVID. We hope that this will start again next year. Kindest regards Julie Campbell General Manager
Read more
Hectorinthehouse wrote a review Aug 2021
Aylesbury, United Kingdom49 contributions16 helpful votes
Good location and clean room with unexpected addition of a fridge and microwave Plenty of tea and coffee in room All staff I encountered were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble A special mention of breakfast which was superb and cooked to order The scrambled eggs were the best I have tasted at any hotel !! Thank you and keep up the good work
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 9 Sep 2021
Dear Hectorinthehouse Thank you for your Eggselent review (I know who you are from your comments!) The Team will be delighted, especially chef! We hope you will be visiting us again soon. Kindest regards Julie Campbell General Manager
Read more
Trevor, Suffolk wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I spent one night at The Cedars en route home from a family visit. We hadn't aware that the hotel was adjacent to an industrial estate, but nevertheless enjoyed our stay in the old, characterful main building in our generous-sized top floor room. We were assisted very well by the two members of staff we encountered. Sean doubled as receptionist and barman and helped us to order a pizza for delivery after we had checked in later than we'd expected. Vicky served our excellent cooked breakfast, was friendly, efficient, responsive to requests and was proactive in returning a face mask which I'd left behind on the table after I'd finished eating. The car park was spacious but could have been better lit. I'd recommend the Cedars to anyone travelling through the area and looking for a quiet, relaxed and unfussy place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Responded 9 Sep 2021
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your lovely review the Team will be delighted! We have such a small "Family" at Cedars and I am delighted that you were looked after well. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards Julie Cmapbell General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkStowmarket
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western The Cedars Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western The Cedars Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Baylham House Rare Breeds Farm (7.2 km), Museum of East Anglian Life (1.5 km), and Needham Lake (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western The Cedars Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western The Cedars Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western The Cedars Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western The Cedars Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Petite Pancakes, The Buxhall Crown, and The Vegetarian Red Lion.
Are pets allowed at Best Western The Cedars Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western The Cedars Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western The Cedars Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Haughley Park (5.7 km).
Is Best Western The Cedars Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.