We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Backpackers Wanaka

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Backpackers Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of Base Backpackers Wanaka
 Click to rate
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Probably the worst hostel I've stayed in throughout New Zealand and Australia. The entrance, the toilets and the showers all had a strange smell, like they hadn't been cleaner regularly/properly. The free wifi didn't work at all throughout my stay, so I paid for the better access wifi, which also didn't work at all. The 8 bed dorms were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spe_eddy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at Base Backpackers for 3 nights last month. I pre-booked ahead and was allocated a 4-bed female dorm with en-suite. On a positive note, the room was a good size and shower-room nicely presented for a hostel, plus we were given towels which is a rarity! The location was also great.. And directly opposite cinema which is handy!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh B
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am not a fan of Base hostel in general, but this one was the worst I've been to. The kitchen was way too small for the size of the hostel. Half of the equipment was broken or out of service. There were not enough plates, pans/pots and cutlery. The fridge were disgusting and people were stealing food. Otherwise, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saaanglieeer
Keilor, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

hostels especially Base can be questionable at best, however Base at Wanaka is another level of terrible, we arrived at 3pm, and as I type this at 5:05PM we are still queuing to check in, our tour provider also guaranteed us all dorm rooms however the hostel is claiming their are out of dorms and are trying to slug the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
BaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for leaving your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. I think you are referring to the day we had a glitch in the system which unfortunately overbooked us which wasn't an ideal situation especially when the triathlon was in town and there was no more accommodation around. My staff were doing the best...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at Base Wanaka were really friendly although no where near enough of them, only one girl on reception at 10am on a Sunday to single handedly check out an entire hostel! I have never stayed somewhere so noisey, the bar at the hostel was having one hell of a party and while lying in bed it sounded like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived at Base Wanaka on the Stray Bus, and I'm really not fussy at all but I was really surprised at how bad this hostel was (considering that Stray usually do well with accommodation). They took an age to check us in. Yes I get that it's a bus load, but considering that there is at least one coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mazmataz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: Clean bedding. Free use of iron at reception. Can buy soft drinks/water at reception. There's a good bar downstairs which had a DJ playing and cheap drinks. Bathrooms were very clean and tidy. Reasonably nice staff at reception (seemed a little jaded at times) Lots of couches and places to sit and relax in the shared space. Cons: Bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aimeepassmore77
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

No spatulas, almost no cutlery and almost no washing materials. The kitchen in large was dirty and small for so many people. Otherwise the rooms were okay. We arrived with two bus loads as per usual every day this season but the check in took 1 hour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I stayed for one night in the four-bed female sanctuary ensuite on Jan 4. The ensuite toilet was not working and I felt the reception staff should have advised me of it before checking me in. I got a discount upon request, after my dorm mates who were there one night  before me said they were given so. The kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellynsq
BaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for leaving a review we do appreciate your feedback, I apologise that your toilet wasn't working this was something that had recently been fixed so we weren't aware that it had broken again until after you had checked in unfortunately. We have since had it fixed for a second time so hopefully we don't have the same...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Great value for money. We stayed in a private double room. View of the mountains. Bathroom was not cleaned properly though. Beds are OK, as you would expect from a backpackers. The usual noise at night, but nothing too bad. Fantastic location in the heart of Wanaka. Also next door to the supermarket. Understaffed on the front desk. Of lying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S1im
BaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, I'm sorry for the cleanliness of the bathrooms, we have very modern facilities that are cleaned each day by our housekeeping staff I will make sure these are checked more thoroughly. We generally have staff members that crossover throughout the day but we have...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 km away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
475 reviews
1.8 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
706 reviews
0.1 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 46 in Wanaka
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
349 reviews
0.1 km away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $60 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers Wanaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring ears plugs as the bar goes off or better yet get down there and join in”
 of 5 bubbles aimeepassmore77, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The location was excellent as it was close to all of Wanaka and there parking was off street but reasonably close on the surrounding streets. ”
 of 5 bubbles rodneyp797, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fresh bathroom floor towel Turn on heater whenever you want Thicker pillow Window didn't shut properly ”
 of 5 bubbles 553jakec, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room over reception had great views and were quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Lizridge, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ASK FOR A QUIET ROOM (not sure if any of them are though - Terrible noise!)”
 of 5 bubbles nicolacQ6972YB, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5