We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 70: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in deluxe cabin which was fine but the tv from next door was so loud through walls so don't expect a quiet night. New kitchen block only had one toaster working otherwise very clean and fresh looking. Showers were awful as nowhere to put anything apart from hook on door. Water is everywhere on floors by showers so not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJW20
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi DJW20, thank you for your review and your feedback. We are aware of the "shower-issue" and are working on rectifying that. We would like to reiterate that if you come across any issues during your stay (toaster / noise next door) to let us know straight away so we can do something about it.

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If location were everything, this place would likely have it. But despite the upgrades, it just feels very tired. It's a 5 minute walk to the center of all that's happening in Wanaka. After many years of complaints, they have knocked down the old kitchen/ washroom blocks and rebuilt. I can't imagine they used an architect for the design, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiguelitoyCat
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi MiguelitoyCat, Thank you for reviewing our holiday park and pointing out some issues we have at the moment. Unfortunately we had quite some delay readying our new facilities which meant some areas are as yet unfinished. The main one is our shower area; partitions, benches and hooks will be added as soon as we can close off one side....

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have come to Lakeview for 12 years but havn't been for a couple of years. We were so impressed with all the positive changes. We have always enjoyed coming here as the camp sites are a great size, with ample parking and the facilities are amazingly clean, always! This year was even better. The new kitchen/toilet and shower blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky K
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, great to see you made it back to Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park this summer and to read you enjoyed all the changes we've made over the last couple of years. Still some way to go though! We've got some more plans in the pipeline for this coming year so be prepared to be surprised again next summer.

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This may have a lake view but only for a few sites and then only way across a rugby field, road and through the trees into the distance! We were not aware of the work being done until we arrived, one toilet block for at least 30-40 peopled on top of that they changed the female block into unisex! REALLY!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shootingstars R
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Shootingstars, I'm sorry to hear you were not impressed with our park. Luckily most of the building work got finished just before X-mas which meant we could open up our new facilities block; this took the pressure off the other facilities and ended the unisex-situation.

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

A perfectly located haven. Ideally situated on the edge of town. Great facilities, which were super clean and in ready supply; fully functioning kitchen space, laundry room, and hot showers. Staff were very helpful too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Jane_Hope86
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Emma-Jane, thank you very much for your great review. We're really proud of our new facilities block. Although not fully finished on the outside, we love the lake and mountain views you get when you're doing your dishes or cooking your breakfast. Just magic!

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We were allocated a small patch of dusty gravel amongst a caravan, a car and screaming kids. Had to pay for a powered site although not required for our tent. No lake view as the name suggests. Staff wouldn't give a refund for unsatisfactory experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JollyJumper2014
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Matthew, thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to let people know how to make their stay with us as satisfactory as possible. First of all, there is no difference in price for a tent or a powered site at our park. We find that guests staying on a tent site in general make more...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived around 330pm and got an unpowered site - woman behind desk was efficient but not friendly - don't think she cracked a smile once during our dealings. New facilities but the female showers not that well designed as water was all over floor from shower recesses - laundry facilities pretty good though. Handy to lake and cafes -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmel T
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Carmel T, I'm sorry to hear your treatment in reception wasn't what you expected. The New Year period is always extremely busy and sometimes the standards can slip a bit. We are aware of the water problem in our new facilities. Unfortunately the building wasn't 100% finished when we opened it up to the public. We still have to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

This place is in the perfect spot, easy walking distance to town. It's not overlooking the lake at all, so that's deceptive. Nice flat spots, not too crowded in. Nice kids playground & jumping pillow, good facilities & more being built.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victorian_Visitor
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Victorian Visitor, Great to hear you like our park. I would like to mention though that some parts of the park do have lake views (further away from the playground). They might however have been booked out, as they are our favourite sites.

Golden, Colorado
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Powered campervan site. Comprehensive clean facilities. Helpful front desk staff. Walk along quiet street alongside Pembroke Park to downtown. Lake on one side a block away and mountains on the other. Spectacular site. 6 km to Mt Roy Track.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maysi02
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Maysi02, Thanks for your positive review. We are very lucky with our location, being only a 5 minute walk from the lake and a 10 minute walk from the center of town. I hope the Mt Roy track wasn't too busy, we now recommend to do the Isthmus Peak track at Lake Hawea as it isn't as famous but...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed for 2 nights in a cabin which had a double bed, bunk beds and a small heater if chilly at night. Found all areas clean, although the kitchen was crowded we all managed to cook and eat with no problems. A stroll across the road and you are at the shore of Lake Wanaka, with great views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chumpstacharlie
Aggi S, Manager at Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Chumpstacharlie, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're aware that the kitchen is a bit cramped at the moment but we're working extremely hard to get our new facilities block open within the next few days. That will definitely take the pressure off the small one. We're all excited and can't wait!!

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 km away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
2.1 km away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 46 in Wanaka
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
0.3 km away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
1.4 km away
Archway Motels
Archway Motels
#16 of 20 in Wanaka
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park is Wanaka's most central holiday park. It is handy to the lake and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. This park has served the Wanaka area for many years by offering clean and affordable accommodation that will suit all budgets. Accommodation ranges from tent sites and powered sites through to cabins and self contained units. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park

Address: 212 Brownston Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good luck if you need to put in tent hooks!”
 of 5 bubbles HarryTheHairyHare, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Two night minimum stay UNLESS you book in the day”
 of 5 bubbles Lauralathem, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you have a campervan a higher spot up the back at "the lookout" gives you a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles GraceN178, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“go to another camp”
 of 5 bubbles haim64, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin with a view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Capetribber, 26 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5