We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wanaka Bakpaka

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Start your review of Wanaka Bakpaka
 Click to rate
Seattle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this accomodation is ideally situated for maximum scenic value. The view from the lounge area is stunning and so inviting by the fireplace , you really need to make an effort to go out and be active. The facilities are spotless, have ample items for the guests use. The host and his staff are very customer focused nd will go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeferry
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We to agree that the view from our living room is stunning. It's great to hear you found all the facilities well stocked and staff helpful. Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Collection of buildings on hillside above lake - about 10 minutes walk from CBD. Wonderful views across lake. Hostel itself was clean and comfortable. Room was fine, as were bathroom facilities - good shower. Modern decent sized and well equiped kitchen. Large lounge / dining area with comfortable seating, great views and no TV (thank goodness). Free use of computers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean A
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Dean Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, its awesome to hear you enjoyed your stay. Six nights is a great amount of time to explore Wanaka and its surrounds. We appreciate your comments about our staff and have passed them on. We hope to see you back here soon! Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Although the views are incredible from the lounge/dining area of the lake and the room was pretty decent, the ensuite bathroom was pretty bad. No soap (even asked for some but still none was put in) and the shower was awful - you can either have it cold with good pressure or hot with a dribble of water and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wanaka Bakpaka. It is sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would hope. We do not provide soap in the bathrooms as this is over to guests to have their own body wash, we do have hand-soap dispensers in all communal...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We found this hostel to be friendly and welcoming. We had a private double room, unfortunately not en-suite. The room was not that big, but was clean and nicely decorated. No TV anywhere, but free access to computers. Common kitchen well equipped. Stunning views from the common eating/sitting areas, which themselves were nicely furnished. Fairly easy walking to the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard U
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Bernard It's great to hear you found your room clean and tidy, unfortunately we only have two en suited rooms and they do book out very fast. We are a T.V free hostel but feel there is plenty to do in Wanaka day or night to keep you busy. We hope you took away some amazing memories of Wanaka....

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights with a friend. Our dorm had an amazing view of the lake and was clean and warm. Kitchen had everything you needed. Limited free wifi but was more than enough. The dining/lounge area was the best part. After a long days hike it was great to chill on a couch over looking the lake. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rinee B
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Rinee Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We do offer 500mb of free Wifi and then guests can purchase more but agree that amount is plenty. There are so many great walks in and around Wanaka so it's great to hear you got out and experienced these. Your comment of the...

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We were greeted very nicely by the owner, Ian, who takes the time to show everyone around the hostel (and obviously cares about the well-being of his hostel and its backpackers in it), which has a really homey feel to it (there is fresh rosemary, thyme, and other homegrown herbs free to use in the kitchen, various recipes from other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaja m
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Kaja Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's so great to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay and found the backpackers a nice place to stay. Five days is a great amount of time to enjoy in Wanaka but there are endless things to see and do so maybe...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My husband and I stayed at Wanaka Bakpaka last month during our two week spin through New Zealand. Wanaka is a great escape from the crazy adventure of the rest of NZ and is quiet and beautiful town. And Wanaka Bakpaka is the perfect base to explore Wanaka from. We found Wanaka Bakpaka to have a great attentive staff, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allie W
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Allie We agree that Wanaka can feel like a bubble and is definatley a great spot to relax in. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the backpackers well equipped. Biking around the lake is a great activity as there are so many bays to stop and enjoy the mountain views. Wanaka Bakpaka : )

mathewra
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Great staff, excellent facilities, showers, bathrooms, clean, great kitchen, plenty fridge and freezer, great location, spectacular dining room and outside dining views over the lake. Perfect.Adequate wifi, more to buy is cheap and free PCs in common area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewra
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Matthew Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, it's so nice to hear you think we are one of the Best Hostels! We appreciate all your kind comments about the facilities and our location. We hope you had an amazing time in Wanaka! Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

My brother and I stayed at Wanaka Bakpaka a couple of weeks ago and it was such a pleasure. We had a twin room and for $32 each per night it was so great to have our own space. The owners were super friendly and helpful, the place really chilled and in a great location. Rooms, showers, shared spaces etc...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Lauren Wow to say that we are the Best backpackers you've been to is great! It really does make our day when we hear that guests have loved their stay with us. We hope you both had some great experiences in Wanaka and have taken away some amazing memories! Wanaka Bakpaka : )

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Really enjoyed staying here. Staff was very nice, amazing (dare to say best in town!) view over the town and lake. Clean and well equipped kitchen, very comfortable common areas, and free parking on the premises. As well as really good value for money. Only problem is they are generally fully booked, so you need to book them well in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andra_Oprisan
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review

Hi Andra Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your comments are so kind, we do also agree that right now is a very busy time in Wanaka. Summer in general is a busy time so pre-booking is a great idea which allows you spend enough time in Beautiful Wanaka! Wanaka Bakpaka :...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
760 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
422 reviews
0.5 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.0 km away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
336 reviews
0.9 km away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Address: 117 Lakeside Road | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $22 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wanaka Bakpaka staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wanaka Bakpaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great kitchen facilities, Great view, Comfortable common areas.”
Andra_Oprisan, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“4 bed dorm nr. 1”
lila2011Bern, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a view.”
Malotte, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Well located, nice views”
V2C, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Queen room has a huge bed and nearly private bathroom.”
JoeN254, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5