We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairway Motel

Show Prices
#15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairway Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Myself, my husband, our 2 young children and my parents recently stayed for 2 nights in a spacious 2 bed apartment. The apartment was very clean and well equipped with 2 bathrooms and a laundry. The kids loved the trampoline and the pool and it's a nice easy walk to the main centre (about 1km). The hosts were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmbartlett
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our party of four adults stayed in an apartment and found it very spacious, well equipped and a bonus was a washing machine and dryer in the apartment, which is very convenient for travellers. The lounge room had plenty of seating and the kitchen was as big as an average townhouse. Would recommend Fairway Apartments for a stay in Wanaka.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. Mark & Megan

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanaka is a fantastic place to stay, and the Fairway Motel is a close walk to the action. It's basic and a lot of the fixtures are dated but the staff are great and very helpful. Only real complaint is the beds were those really soft kind.. otherwise all good!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sirli R
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. The bedding is always hard to get right as so many people like a soft comfortable bed and then some like a firm bed. At least you had a great time in Wanaka and you found us helpful!! We hope to see you again on your next...

Ohope, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We found room tidy and comfortable but basic , we booked in for two nights and on both days our breakfast was not what we ordered and very basic for $15.00 each . As we were staying for two nights we would have assumed that when the room was cleaned that the condiments in the bathroom would be replaced ie.,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WaipunaOhau
Broome, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was fantastic, owners are very friendly. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Thank you for a great reception and service. They also have a snow room to store ski equipment. DVDs and board games are available from reception. There is spool and trampoline as part of their summer outdoors facilities as well as a barbeque by the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newforest2017
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The place was nice, but the owners are very blunt and weren't helpful. When checking in their service was very poor. We had spilt some food on the floor which we cleaned up, and then they decided to hire a rug doctor which we searched up and cost $50 for a day. They decided keep our bond, which was $100...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollie F
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

HI Ollie and thanks for writing a review. If any of our future guest are reading your review I hope they can disregard anything that you have said, except that the place is nice.....which I think it is getting there!! Basically you and 5 of your other 17yo mates decided that the Fairway Motel would be a great place to...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome little motel. great value for money considering this has been one of the cheapest accommodations we have stayed at in the Sth island they offer more in the way of little things then some of the big price hotels. Stayed 2 nights and now regretting we didn't stay longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wishiownedacombi
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Wanaka. Mark & Megan.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This is a motel as you may expect. Kitchen was quite spacious, living/sleeping area relatively small, but it was clean and tidy. The motel is located directly when you drive into Wanaka, so it is in a quiet area. Probably 10 to 15 minute walk from town. But the street can be a bit noisy. What is defenitely noisy is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bea T
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Wanaka. Thanks Mark & Megan

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

As a semi-regular visitor to Wanaka and a frequent traveller within NZ, this place is really poor value, even in the holiday season market. The outside of the premises are tidy enough, however in the room that we were given the decor was really tired and the mattresses really soft & old Staff were friendly enough, room for the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nztraveldiva
FairwayMotelWanaka, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. You stayed during a peak time in Wanaka, during the Christmas and New Year period so all prices in Wanaka in every accommodation venue are at there highest. I can understand that a lot of people are disgruntled by this and don't feel that they are getting value for money. We...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Great location around 5 mins walk to lake front. Handy to restaurants and DOC visitor centre. Straightforward accommodation, nice bathroom, very comfortable bed. Warm welcome from host, with good local knowledge. Handy to main roads in and out of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.6 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
702 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.9 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
393 reviews
0.7 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
464 reviews
0.4 km away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For comfortable, affordable accommodation in Wanaka, think Fairway Motel. Fairway Motel can provide a great range of studios, family units and 2 bedroom apartments that can cater for anyone from traveling couples to large groups. Fairway motel facilities include: - Large in ground swimming pool (Dec - Apr) and BBQ area perfect for those warmer months - Guest laundry, bike & golf club storage space and a ski drying room for the winter - A big car park area to accommodate boats, trailers and tour buses - Freeview Satellite TV Fairway Motel is close to all Wanaka amenities, the pristine lake, fine restaurants and shops are just a short stroll away. Puzzling World and Mt Iron track is a short walk and we are adjacent to the spectacular Wanaka Golf Club. Wanaka can offer you a myriad of outdoor pursuits in all seasons, so let Fairway Motel be your ticket to ride! Your hosts Eve and Rob look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Address: 2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $158 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairway Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fairway Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Apartments are back from the road, whereas motel rooms are closer to the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Z6635GUcarolb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Apartments are away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles newforest2017, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 1.. Lovely patio in garden with picnic table. A bit traffic noise but we were fine with that.”
 of 5 bubbles annefirby, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lower floor if you do not want to carry your luggage upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles KR9119, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower level room. Much easier if you have a lot of luggages”
 of 5 bubbles shuffyzz, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5