We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amaan Bungalows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Amaan Bungalows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place on the beach in Nunwgi. As the tides seemed to have some influence on your beach/swimming time we wanted to stay somewhere on the Northern tip or a bit to the west of that. Amaan was recommended by our taxi driver so we took a look at the place. Location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ignas v
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is beautiful, on the beach, lovely pool area, shops and nicely kept. In the restaurant they serve a good breakfast but don't even think about asking for more than 2 eggs (I asked for 3 and was sternly told off by the chef). However I had been given 3 eggs the day before! The same restaurant serves lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muffworm
Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amaan is one of the larger resort hotels in Nungwi; all the rooms open out to the public area and the sea view rooms are actually a little more exposed to noise etc. as they mostly also overlook the pool area. Our rooms ('D' block) were cool and very comfortable with a fan and air-con, and a little veranda area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mebdub
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Hello Guest, It was the pleasure of Amaan entire staff to host you. we all thank you for the good response about Amaan. We shall try as much as we can to make sure that you see more great changes when you come back. we sincerely apologize for waiting for your meals longer. i assure you this will not repeat...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're going to Nungwi, this is the place to stay. From being greeted with passionfruit juice, to getting a super nice room, this hotel is AMAZING for a quiet getaway. The pool and ocean are right there and I would honestly not bother with the pool view rooms--they would just be noisier. I would go for the other cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ohdesi74
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your good comment about Amaan. Our restaurants are open to all and we serve all our guests equitably. you are once again most welcome to Amaan.

Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We were there for 7 days the 3rd week in October, For the first 5 days the hotel was overcrowded, and service was poor, as it seemed like the staff were overwhelmed. Breakfast was especially without class and a kind of free-for-all at the buffet. We only ate lunch there once and found better restaurants at nearby hotels. The Indian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailg984
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing Amaan for your holiday. we were all very pleased to host you. Yes the breakfast is for but only the guest staying with us, our meal plan is BB (bed and breakfast). The hitch you experience in slow service due to the big crowd we have put in place having several buffet...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Me and my husband have been there in September for only few days but had a feeling that wanna stay there forever! Its amazing place with clean rooms, huge swimming pool, great beach and a lot of good for value of money and food restaurants around. Staff was very helpful and kind. Beach and ocean are so clean and transparent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMawi
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Jambo beloved customer, it was very nice having you with us at Amaan. we once again thank you so very much for your good response about us, we shall never relax in our efforts to make your next visit even more enjoyable than you experienced. remember repeat guest have special offers always. welcome back to Amaan.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

It was a fairly big hotel. But the rooms did not have the basics such as electric kettle and a tv. The food in the restaurant was good and fresh. The beach was nice and happening with everything available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moiz A
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

dear guest, i take this opportunity to say thank you so much for choosing Amaan. i apologize where we never met your expectations and we shall surely work on the few areas that never met you expectations. thank you once again.

Jeddah
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I visited Zanzibar for couple of days wanted a hotel with beach front and safety was prime. Went to Nungwi and fortunately got a room in Amaan Bungalows. Great place for families nice food lovely ambience and friendly staff. One of the senior staff also helped us with a guided tour of Zanzibar spice farm prison island and city tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbas A
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

dear guest, thank you very much for choosing us for your lovely holiday. we once again welcome you to Amaan Bungalows and we shall work out plans for the areas that never met your expectations. we value all our customers and value their experience our esteemed customers have with us. thank you once again for visiting Amaan. Please be our...

Morgan Hill, California
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This resort is right on the beach. It offers a beautiful bar up on the hill, which looks out over the ocean. The beach near the hotel is a public beach and there were many people out playing soccer. The hotel itself was very nice. Could have been slightly cleaner, but the room was very large and the mosquito net...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _steph91986
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your response. we always thrive to give the best we can and we shall always guarantee this. Accept our sincere apology where we felt short of your expectations. Thank you.

Reviewed 26 October 2016

TOo good place to stay in this hotel,l excelent service very good food, neat clean and all facility, must visit again if got a change to visit. Also the price is good in slack season it cost us USD 100 for double bed, they also have the facility of scoba diving and the best part is beautifu view

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Navin-Jansari
Kazungu G, Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Jambo!! It is so amazing the way you easily mixed with the entire staff at Amaan. You actually lived with us and not stay with us. it was easy for everyone of us to stay with you here at Amaan Bungalows like a Family. This made us understand your needs every time we met you. We promise to give you...

524 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (498)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (81)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (234)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
965 reviews
2.3 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 18 in Nungwi
123 reviews
0.6 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 18 in Nungwi
888 reviews
1.9 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Amaan Bungalows

Address: | Nungwi Beach, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Price Range: $105 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaan Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amaan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaan Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Amaan Bungalows Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amaan Bungalows staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Amaan Bungalows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Forego the pool view. You'll just have to look at the pool and miss out on having a nice quiet patio at a cheaper price!”
 of 5 bubbles ohdesi74, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“online booking is better and choice pool side room”
 of 5 bubbles Navin-Jansari, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for one of the rooms on the second level with balconies. Very spacious!”
 of 5 bubbles allisonh739, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms that have a pool view are the best”
 of 5 bubbles salihi_13, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“you will get WIFI only in rooms close to restaurant/pool/bar and reception, they have some sea view appartments”
 of 5 bubbles mariepV9557ZE, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay