We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amaan Bungalows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Amaan Bungalows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked 5 twin rooms for 1-3 of January and 4 twin rooms for 3-4 of January, each room (in accordance with the hotel’s terms) for “Maximum Occupancy 2 Adults, 1 Child), so I can take 10 people 1-3 January and 8 people 3-4 January (but really we have 9 people 1-3 Jan and 7 people 3-4 Jan). All the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DmitryChe64
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here as part of our tour of Tanzania. When we arrived there was a problem with the whole groups booking. They didnt have enough rooms for us or the correct bed figuration. Our guide had to stay in another hotel and others had to share triple bed rooms etc. It wouldnt have been a problem if the management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gribbs25
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The only thing we thought needed an upgrade was the internet connection and the service at the restaurant was slow. But we had a very good time at the hotel, beautiful beach and a lot of entertainment around the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hrannar Rafn J
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've really enjoyed being there Food and beverages were just amazing and with reasonable prices People also are lovely and so helpful :) I was able to watch my favourite leagues on a daily basis as well :D

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at Amaan Bungalows in December 2016. The rooms are just ok. Clean and all you really need but there is no cupboard space. The bathroom is very outdated. It had nowhere to put toiletries. The one shelf available was hanging down so we couldn't use it. The curtains are very light so the light outside shines into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vzb1105
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms are clean but nothing special, pool is nice, in front of one of the Nungwi's most beautiful beache. Little bit noisy at night when local dance groups have there performances near restaurant. Changing money at hotel reception is not a good deal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don Sergio R
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are a newly married couple without children. The pool area was really loud with too many children and too many people trying to use the pool. Besides that the room was clean, the location is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsayshuttle
Kazungu G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very much pleased that you chose Amaan as your holiday destination. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay with us especially contributed by the pool users. Amaan receives a lot of families with children during the festive season. however we shall in future observe this issue keenly to enable each and every guest...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is very good and location is superb. I recommend one of the rooms with and ocean view. It has a good pool also. Staff is very kind and helpful with transportation and other tours. you can walk all along the bay to other hotels and bars but watch out for the high tide!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eduardo F
Kazungu G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Hello Guest, thank you for choosing Amaan as your holiday destination. we feel honored for the great review about Amaan. we always strive to give the best and enhance a close business relationship with all our customers. honestly your were a very wonderful guest and the entire staff say JAMBO!. we are all hoping to see you the soonest time...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amaan Beach Bungalow*sigh* This has to be the worst place I have ever stayed in! The place needs a WHOLE lot of love and " reception" ( the little desk at the entrance with not so much as a phone) needs a major upgrade. The moment you drive into the compound, yes it's a compound, you realise what a mistake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmakgabo
Kazungu G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Hello Guest, we thank you so much for the long detailed review. you are a dissatisfied customer as indicated in your comment about Amaan. we however thank you for choosing us and even highlighting the burning issues that you experienced. as far as we know we have never recycled meals at Amaan but we always serve fresh food. "The Guest...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our flight landed in the early morning hours and we arrived at our hotel at 5am- even though check in was only in 6hours, they gave us a room. This is spectacular service and we are extremely grateful! We went for our honeymoon- when we arrived in our room there was flowers on the bed with folded swan towels,balloons- fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chantelfouche
Kazungu G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this review

Jambo!! Jambo!! The entire staff is pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Amaan. Guaranteed quality service delivery is always our pride. We very much value all our customers equitably. there are short falls at times but we try as much as we can to make sure that all our guest enjoy staying at Amaan. You are...

569 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (543)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Other (257)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
998 reviews
2.3 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 18 in Nungwi
124 reviews
0.6 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 18 in Nungwi
916 reviews
2.2 km away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#15 of 18 in Nungwi
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Amaan Bungalows

Address: | Nungwi Beach, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Price Range: $105 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaan Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Amaan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaan Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Amaan Bungalows Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amaan Bungalows staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Amaan Bungalows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't change money on reception because rates are not good”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“SeaView room S1 was fantastic, secluded and private.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Forego the pool view. You'll just have to look at the pool and miss out on having a nice quiet patio at a cheaper price!”
 of 5 bubbles ohdesi74, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“online booking is better and choice pool side room”
 of 5 bubbles Navin-Jansari, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for one of the rooms on the second level with balconies. Very spacious!”
 of 5 bubbles allisonh739, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay