We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bellevue Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bellevue Guesthouse
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2010

As soon as we walked into the cool thatched public area of the guest house we felt relaxed and on holiday. We had just flown from an 8 day safari trip in the north and wanted to just chill out after a week on the hot and dusty roads. The beautiful tropical gardens and delightful breezy view over the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaxCornish
Rotterdam
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We arrived on the 4th of October after a long trip from Holland. The place is situated nicely between lots of trees, plants and flowers. From the restaurant and the rooms you look towards the beach... lovely! We stayed in the honeymoon suite! We loved it. A big and well decorated in a authentic but comfortable nature style. Finally a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamonConny
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Boy, they run a tight ship at Bellvue. Excellent beds, lovely seating area, free wi-fi, great food, good bar, great service and warm hosts all combine to make this an outstanding choice on the east coast of Zanzibar. I was with a friend and we both had a ball, I look forward to returning in the future, hopefully with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fraser M
Haarlem
Reviewed 27 September 2010

After being fled from Cristal resort after half a day and a broken night (bad experience!), we went to guesthouse Bellevue. We were picked up by Melanie (owner of Bellevue) at the gate of Cristal and she brought us to the guesthouse (free of charge by the way). It was such a nice and warm welcome that it felt like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FandMfromHolland
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The rooms are quite ok, but a bit overpriced in our opinion. Unfortunately the guesthouse is rather far away from the beach. You need to walk down for 5 minutes and if you want to get a drink or go to the toilet you will need to walk back. The beachside itself is nothing more than two seats under a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cordoba987
zanzibar4, Owner at Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello couple from England ( not from Argentina) Let me start with saying I am very sorry that we were not offering you what you expected! Then there are a few things I like to comment on; * We ar not 5 minutes from the beach. We are not even 1 minute walk from the beach and this is when...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We spent 4 days at Bellevue Bungalows with our family of 4 kids ages 15,12,8 and 6. The rooms were fantastic we had a delux suite and a delux . They have been beautifully done , very comfortable and African furnishing's providing a very atmospheric place to stay . The children felt really comfortable and safe especially the older ones...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janebowden
zanzibar4, Owner at Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review

I like to say THANK YOU ASANTE SANA Also I like to take this really nice review as a opportunity to thank al the guest from this season!! Thank you for celebrating your holiday with us! It was great meeting you and to share stories together.. You make Bellevue a great place to work in!! We wish all of you...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I had arrived with a terrible sun burn and Melanie who runs it cut me fresh allow as often as I needed which was a god send. The hotel decor is very stylish but fits the island as well. The rooms are simple but very well decorated, I loved all the helpful information they provide you with in your room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoinetteCamille
Africa
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We only made use of the restaurant at Bellevue but had a great experience. The place is run by Dutch couple Mel and Dimitri who are really have put a lot of effort into decorating the place in a ver authenticand beautiful middle eastern/african way. The food was really good and good value for money when compared to other equivalent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JambianiNeil
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 26 July 2010

In june we stayed in for 5 nights in Bellevue and what a fantastic place it is. The owners Melanie en Dim are very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spotless en spacious and the restaurant has a fantastic atmosphere. The food is really the best of the whole island. Dim is also running Kitecenter Zanzibar and i finally learned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco187331
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We booked a room at Bellevue for three nights. After days exploring we decided to spend the rest of our 2 week holiday here. We absolutely loved it!!!! We stayed in three different rooms and they were all very comfortable, clean and cosy and most of them have a stunning view. The Bellevue staff members are all very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shalita

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
0.0 km away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 12 in Jambiani
225 reviews
0.0 km away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Jambiani
195 reviews
0.0 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
224 reviews
0.0 km away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
76 reviews
0.0 km away
Sahari Zanzibar
Sahari Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Bwejuu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and enjoy the hospitality in our cosy Guesthouse, north of Bwejuu, on the southeast coast of Zanzibar! The area of our guesthouse is a great place to relax and just 50 meters away from the beach. Wake up every morning with the beautiful sunrise and a fresh fruit juice. Discover the delicate food from our restaurant. With local fresh sea food and other fresh ingredients we serve local and international orientated dishes on a daily changing menu!Enjoy our green garden, where you read your book in the lounge area, hammocks or on your own private terrace. Take a nice relaxing walk on the stretched white beaches, and enjoy the spectacular colors and tide changes of the ocean.After you done relaxing go for a kitecourse on the amazing beach and waters of Paje. If this is too hectic let our professional tour guide mr. Mussa reveals Zanzibar's secrets in a Spice Tour, Stone Town City tour or a Dolphin Tour. Go on a Safari Blue, Sea Safari or let our partners take you on their professional organised dive and snorkel trips.We support the local NGO, by organising the Sea Safari where this income directly benefits the local projects organised by the NGO.Bellevue is a small personal Guesthouse, we hope to give you a homy feeling...There is always staff around or one of our management to assist you with any question you may have!Karibu Sana!Melanie & the Bellevue staff ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bellevue Guesthouse

Address: Bwejuu Street | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Price Range: $81 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Bwejuu
Bellevue Guesthouse Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bellevue Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Budapest, Hungary

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Bellevue Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Jungalow for the adventurous!”
 of 5 bubbles Quinn039, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the sea view/ de lux... having a balcony was great amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles lydiambarry, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Should have more security. The romantique room is the best for us.”
 of 5 bubbles loukaetwall-e, 18 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Book early. I wished to take a delixe bungalow with sea view but they were all out.”
 of 5 bubbles MarwaAAbdallah, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“5 was good as it provided privacy and more space, especially the bathroom was larger.”
 of 5 bubbles 924nathanl, 17 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay