We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Hill

Show Prices
#18 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Green Hill
View Map

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just spent 5 serene days in the separate cottage. May be the best unobstructed view of Ella gap in town. Absolutely breathtaking. The dining deck, also blessed with amazing views has been going through some renovations as they are creating an open kitchen. Just about finished so it should be quiet at this point. The owner is very kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We felt very welcomed and taken care of from the moment we came to look for a room. The owner and his staff are always available to help and have some great off the beaten track suggestions. The view is fantastic and a great place to watch the sunrise. There was construction noise but it's over now.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Green Hill in Ella. It's a place with highs and some lows and has the potential to be completely phenomenal. Pros - The view. From the terrace the view I'd completely ludicrous. Overlooking the ella gap with perfect views of little Adams peak and ella rock it is truly spectacular. We could've sat watching...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has a breath taking vew...if you go to Ella you should stay one night there... It is a nice place, the rooms are clean confortable, a very good breakfast and the hos are so gentle and hepful, best sleep in sri lanka, best vew in sri lanka ever...

hyderabad
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Green Hill came in as a rude shock to me when I checked in. The boards everywhere just mentioned 50m. The van driver refused to go in saying that the approach to the place was too risky for a big vehicle. The excitement of living in proper ella town died soon after the van entered the turn on the road...

Reviewed 4 December 2016

We booked a family room (we're a couple with 2 young children) about 2 weeks prior and the owner insisted that we make the full payment immediately, which we did. When we arrived at the hotel, we were dismayed to see heavy construction going on and we had to wade through liquid concrete to get to our room. The staff...

prasanna1982, Owner at Green Hill, responded to this review

Dear Madom, Thanks for your review. Here I 'd like to clarify few things because it would be helpful to all the other valuable guests . 1) When you made the booking over the phone we already explained you that we had some constructions going on and that's why we offered you a lower rate considering the situation ,, And...

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

6 friends and i came for 2 nights. At first night we got there at 23:30 and the owner eaited for us and welcomed us with drinks and food because we were hungry and there was no place to eat in toen. When we woke up and opened the doors the view the amazing, really great location just to sit,...

Reviewed 5 November 2016

Green Hill hostel is located outside of the center of Ella. A 10 minute walk and about the same in a Tuk Tuk, this slightly off grid spot allows for an incredible view and a very quite time for those who need it. We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was comfortable but not lavish. Breakfast was...

Galle, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Stayed 4 days in October 2016 and they gave us a upgrade with little increase with agreed price ,simply the best place to see the ella rock and Little Adams peak ,too bad they didn't supply dinner as we stayed in off season time ,WIFI and breakfast was good and owners give some hints to travel , don't forget to...

London, England
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Nice people run the hotel. They work hard. Bedding was good. We had the cottage for a bit more money and probably worth it. The common area is okay, too bad the best part of the view is blocked by section under construction. Good location, short cut to town but a little muddy. All in all, not a bad experience...

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.4 km away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#13 of 128 in Ella
155 reviews
1.1 km away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#17 of 128 in Ella
119 reviews
46.6 km away
Aurora Bungalows
Aurora Bungalows
#19 of 128 in Ella
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Lucky Star
Lucky Star
#8 of 128 in Ella
163 reviews
0.5 km away
Nimsara Homestay
Nimsara Homestay
#21 of 128 in Ella
42 reviews
0.5 km away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#28 of 128 in Ella
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
we're happy to say that our ongoing constructions already finished and our restaurant is now available for you. specially quiet, friendly nature to spend your holiday in a serene location with the fabulous views ever. And also with a treat of delicious sri lankan cuisine. Enjoy every moment while setting your eyes on both the sun rise and sun set.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green Hill

Address: Passara road | Sapumalthanna, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Price Range: $47 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Green Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cottage is the best as it is away from everything and doesn't face the road so you don't get the highway noise”
 of 5 bubbles shaeahl, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the detached room downstairs. Best view + quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles eilont2016, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take the ella rock view rooms”
  • SUn rise from little adams peak
 of 5 bubbles shashikabeenf, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the view of Little Adam's Peak.”
 of 5 bubbles dawnlisefriday, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If the Wifi doesn't work it may be to do with the weather - in rainy season storms can sometimes stop it working.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingEv, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay