We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castleton House

Save
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (3)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good10%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(99 reviews)
“beautiful house”(14 reviews)
“attic room”(8 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
192
23
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
192
23
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbeautiful houseattic roomfresh milkhomemade jamsvisit stourheadpretty townkippersmini fridgestourhead gardenspowerful showerthoroughly enjoyed our staywest countrythought of everythingtea trayhome from homelovely breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We stay in a lot of B&Bs all over the country and simply couldn't fault Castleton House. Gail's attention to detail meant that every possible need was foreseen; I hate the longlife tiny plastic milk cartons often found on room tea trays; Gail provided a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue W
Response from GailGarbutt, Owner at Castleton HouseResponded 16 March 2018

Oh Sue this is so kind of you , and thank you for giving us the five star approval. Hope you all had a good journey home, did you manage to fit in a trip to Yapps wine merchants at the end of the town?...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018

An unexpected stay after being stranded in bad weather. Our very tired selves received a lovely welcome. The rooms were beautiful and tastefully decorated and they really had thought of everything. Having arrived with nothing more than the clothes we stood up in it was...More

Thank Julie G
Response from GailGarbutt, Owner at Castleton HouseResponded 8 March 2018

Oh thank you SO much for all your kind words. It was great having you to stay/helping out. Really glad you liked all the little extras in the room, it's what you need and always forget when you go away! Best wishes Gail

Reviewed 3 March 2018

My husband and I stayed at Castleton house for 4 nights, so homely and comfortable. Gail is a fantastic host who has great knowledge of the area, she pointed us in the right direction to various attractions and places to visit and eat. She couldn't...More

Thank thehowellsuk06
Response from GailGarbutt, Owner at Castleton HouseResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was really good to get to know you during your stay here and it's great to know that you'll be staying her again soon. With very best wishes, Gail

Reviewed 3 March 2018

I ended up here by accident, having been making my way home to East Devon from Oxford when the snow started coming down hard. I think I got the last room in Mere. I was very lucky. Castleton House is a lovely B&B, and Gail...More

Thank TopKat70
Response from GailGarbutt, Owner at Castleton HouseResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for writing this review and it was so good from you earlier that you'd arrived home safely. Hope you weren't stiff after moving the snow, Peter certainly felt it the following morning. Best wishes, and if you're passing another time it would be...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Stayed here twice; once in August and again in December. Gail & Peter are very welcoming to guests and have looked after us splendidly on both occasions. On our last stay, when our car broke down, they really went out of their way to help...More

Thank vinobuffer
Response from GailGarbutt, Owner at Castleton HouseResponded 9 January 2018

Oh thanks so much for writing this review. It was such a treat to have you back staying with us again just before Christmas. I hope you weren't too late getting to Cornwall and your 'hot tub' after all the boring trouble with your car....More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$126 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Castleton House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"warm and comfortable."
Read review
"All the rooms are of a high standard and quality and secondary glazing keeps any traffic noise out of road..."
Read review
"All rooms face the street but dont suffer from too much traffic noise"
Read review
"We had attic room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing