We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Sportsman Hotel

Save
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (193)
Dining (58)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good36%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“courtyard room”(15 reviews)
“covered car park”(12 reviews)
“excellent food”(25 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
316
269
101
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
316
269
101
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomcovered car parkexcellent foodno liftunder covertraditional hotellocal producelambfamily roomboth nightscomfortable hotelpielounge areanorth waleshigh streetcooked breakfastthe welsh highland railway
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We had booked two courtyard rooms with one opening on to the terrace for my elderly father and his partner (room 3). Generally everything was fine though we had issues with the shower in the room which did make the floor slippery. I was assured...More

Thank JennyGaga
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having previously enjoyed a stay here, we stayed as a family, in courtyard rooms, which we found very light and comfortable - my wife generally dislikes staying in hotels but she found this room good due to the natural daylight from both sides. Breakfast is...More

Thank oehugh
Response from Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your five-star review. Yes, our nine courtyard rooms are indeed very light and comfortable and a favourite with many guests. We also pride ourself on our breakfasts, cooked to order, as well as a good range of fresh fruit and pastries. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very warm welcome on arrival and was allowed to have the room early. Undercover,parking was a bonus. Restaurant was very well run by Kiva who is a credit to the hotel. A pleasant weekend was had by all.

Thank Buddly33
Response from Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted that you spent a pleasant weekend on the trains and enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer. We shall pass your comments on to Kiva. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend to climb snowdon and explore the National Park. Snowdon is beautiful and stunning and I cannot recommend the hike enough. The royal sportsman was quite disappointing however. Our room was in the courtyard, situated near...More

Thank Deirdre G
Response from Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay and marked us below average. Unfortunately, because you needed a dog-friendly room, we gave you a courtyard room. We are slightly confused by your comment that you were situated near the bar as, being in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We Stayed here for one night. Our room was in the courtyard which unfortunately felt like we were rather separate from the main hotel. The room was clean and comfortable but the shower room was a little small. The hotel restaurant is really excellent; the...More

Thank GoytValleyStrider
Response from Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry you felt separated from the main hotel in your courtyard room. These rooms divide opinion – some love them for their seclusion and some would rather be...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Porthmadog
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$132 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$132 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (193)
Dining (58)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Royal Sportsman Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Not over bar"
Read review
"Upgrade to a family room - much more space!"
Read review
"You must not miss this Gem"
Read review
"Rooms at the front of the hotel prone to road noise"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing