We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crane Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crane Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,263: English reviews
North Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I and our 2 sons ages 9 and 11 have visited the Crane 3 times and are planning our 4th for March of this year. This resort is amazing - so beautiful and relaxing. Absolutely breathtaking. Pay no attention to any review that says this is an "awful hotel" - it is not to be believed. I...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Bgold67
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bgold67, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your personal fantastic Crane memories. It is these experiences that we strive every day to deliver to each and every guest. The Crane may have been designed with you mind. We definitely appeal to a specific type of traveller – one who values architectural history, secluded splendour, world-class amenities,...

newcastle
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were booked into The Crane for a couple of nights following a sailing trip around the Caribbean by our travel agent who had recommended it as it was near the airport. We arrived from a LIAT flight at around 730pm and immediately the place didnt feel right , it was unusually quiet for such a big hotel however we...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank NewcastleFilmmaker
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear NewcastleFilmmaker, It appears that your initial impression of The Crane was not at all what you expected. Unfortunately, this indicates miscommunication between you and your travel agent as The Crane prides itself on its quiet, relaxing and family-friendly atmosphere. Spread over 40 acres, it is easy to understand why the resort would feel quiet despite being at 90% occupancy...

New York
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our ninth visit to The Crane and it did not disappoint. We were in a lovely plunge pool unit in Building 5, which we had not been in before. The views were spectacular. Sabrina and Diana, our housekeepers are simply the best. They each did their best to make us feel comfortable and welcome. I must say that...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank NYSbeachgirl
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear NYSbeachgirl, It has been our pleasure to welcome you home to The Crane over the years. Each member of staff mentioned was thrilled to learn that they played a role in creating yet another fantastic Crane experience for you. James in particular, has been always been an asset to The Crane and is excelling in his latest role as...

St. Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I just read a few poor ratings for the Crane and can't believe that it is the same resort that my wife and I have been visiting for fifteen years. In general, people need to do more research before they book a resort. Yes, the Crane is isolated from the hustle and bustle, but that is its lure to many...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank simon349
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear simon349, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to shed some light on what we believe to be most appealing about The Crane – our picturesque location away from the “hustle and bustle” and the warm genuinely friendly service. We also appreciate your feedback about L’Azure. You’ll be pleased to know that we are actually in the process of...

Woodbridge, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The Crane Barbados. It was our first time staying in Barbados, and the Crane did not Disappoint. Grounds were immaculate, Beach pink sugar Sand, very clean.. the beauty is that the hotel is on a cliff, and 50 feet below, by Glass Elevator is the Beach. We ventured off to explore Barbados, and for the shoppers, a must visit is...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank anna1957562671
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear anna1957562671, It sounds as though you had a thoroughly enjoyable time during your Barbados trip! This little island certainly does have a lot to offer and it was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane. Unfortunately, its sounds as though you were caught in the annual Christmas shopping rush in Bridgetown, but it is usually a lot less...

Sea Cliff, New York
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was our second trip to Barbados but our first to The Crane. The views and most of the staff were lovely. We found the room to be more than spacious, attractive and clean. We enjoyed asian restaurant - even if we did have to eat late. We didn't have any issues with the staff - they were helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tina M
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tina M, We appreciate you taking the time to post this review as such constructive criticism allows us to continuously review and improve our product and service offering. You’ll be gladdened to learn that we have taken many of your observations under advisement and will shortly be implementing solutions. However, please allow me to clarify a few points: As...

Ottawa
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Crane for a wedding. It was my second time in Barbados; I previously stayed at Little Arches, a small boutique hotel near Oistins. The contrast between the two hotels couldn't have been greater. Whereas Little Arches was a small hotel of 10 rooms, the Crane by contrast is a large resort style...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidCOttawa
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear DavidCOttawa, We are pleased that you enjoyed many of the physical amenities of The Crane. Our positioning is that of breathtaking seclusion, understated luxury and warm, friendly service. In fact, one of our major sources of pride is the level of attentive service we deliver despite being spread over 40 acres. Unfortunately, the time of your stay coincided with...

Dallas, TX
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our stay exceeded all of our expectations. The location of The Crane is breathtaking. We traveled in July with four children (ages 7-17). The 3 bedroom ocean-view penthouse was gorgeous and easily comparable to a multimillion dollar US beachfront home. It was extremely private, spacious, and spotless. The over-sized balcony was the perfect place to watch the sunset in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Scott R
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Scott R, Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable time with us at The Crane. Your choice of suite category – Three Bedroom Penthouse – is ideal for large families since its generous floor plan allows each family member to find their own personal space to enjoy while...

Fogelsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had an extremely disappointing stay at the Crane. While we are not the type of people to complain, it ‘s hard to swallow spending thousands of dollars on a trip for our anniversary, only to not enjoy ourselves. We were most disappointed with the quality of food, however there were a few other contributing factors. We woke up one...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jackie G
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jackie G, It sounds as though a series of unfortunate events marred your stay with us. We do sincerely apologise for each of the incidents that occurred within the scope of our control. I assure you that your experience represented a gross departure from our established standards. In particular, your experience in L’Azure was absolutely unacceptable and I have...

Washington, DC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Crane is a perfectly nice resort, in terms of the quality of the rooms and the beach. But the management completely ruins it, and renders the overall experience disappointing and frustrating. If you are looking for a luxury resort with top-notch service and amenities, keep looking. (We stayed there for five days from Dec. 23-28, 2012). Staying at the...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank jeeber
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Resort, responded to this review

Dear jeeber, I was unpleasantly surprised by your account of your experience as these comments starkly contrast with the uniformly rave reviews of our staff. I do apologise on behalf of my entire team if your interactions were in any way unpleasant. I have addressed the entire Guest Services team on the matter and it appears that a series of...

2,542 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2215)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (474)
Viewed
Room/Suite (308)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (510)
Viewed
View from Room (180)
Viewed
Dining (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
4:46
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (585)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Crane Beach Pool (18)
Viewed
One Bedroom Oceanview Suite with Plunge Pool (81)
Viewed
Pool Complex (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
18.3 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,371 reviews
13.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,910 reviews
21.7 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
23.4 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.3 km away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since 1887, The Crane Resort has overlooked the pink sands and turquoise waters of Crane Beach - one of the top 10 beaches in the world as rated by the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous and most recently named the "Best Beach in the Caribbean" by USA Today's 10Best Readers Choice 2015. Set on Barbados' beautiful South East coast, the oldest operating hotel in the Caribbean has effortlessly married the old-world charm of its past, to all the 21st century amenities and services expected by today's most discerning travellers. Guests are spoilt for choice with ultra-spacious one and two-bedroom suites, and three bedroom penthouses, many featuring lush gardens, private pools and rooftop terraces. There are also several fantastic dining options, including Zen, the No.1 Zagat rated restaurant in Barbados, which features Thai and Japanese cuisine, L'Azure which offers Caribbean delicacies with an international flair, The Carriage House which offers poolside favourites, D'Onofrio's, the Italian restaurant and The Grove Bar and Grill on Crane Beach which offers light grilled fare. The centre-piece of it all is The Crane Village - 55,000 sq. ft. of retail space complete with duty-free shopping, a Jazz bar, open-air dining, a fitness centre, day spa, an art gallery and the newly opened Calypso Kid's Club catering to younger guests. Guests also enjoy complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms and around the resort - even on Crane Beach - and complimentary long-distance calls to most international destinations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crane Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Price Range: $326 - $978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crane Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crane Resort staff and other travellers.
96 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (96)

Questions? Get answers from The Crane Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have a wonderful HUGE two-bedroom suite/ 3 bathroom/ plunge pool”
 of 5 bubbles Jaxkrammy, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“building 4 or 5 ocean view”
  • from our room window
 of 5 bubbles Todd5712, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view and enjoy the sea breeze. You won't need the a/c & the ocean is calming.”
 of 5 bubbles tog41, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed at building 5 I believe, past the pond which had stunning ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles crystalline242, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ocean view rather than the Park or garden views.”
 of 5 bubbles martinjwatson, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5