We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Heliconia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Heliconia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Heliconia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
St. George's, Grenada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Large gaps under door and neighbor. You can hear detailed conversations of your neighbor. The owners husband wouldn't fix a banging screen upstairs in the night but told us to. He was drunk. The bed was horrible! All other staff was very nice. We left our stay early because of the bed, the noise, and the owner's husband. There are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi S
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bed experience here with us. We have sorted out the problems you had that day. Regards Debbie More 

Brentwood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016

This place is awesome if you are going to Sandals. We came in from the West coast so it is a long trip to get to Granada. We arrived around 8:00 pm so I did not want to stay at Sandals and have to pay for a full days stay only to go to bed. The accommodations were very nice... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank ToddMe
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Yes, it makes a lot of sense to book cheep the night before going to Sandals. Regards Debbie More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
391 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Stayed here on a Friday night after arriving late from Trinidad. My prearranged ride was not waiting at the Airport, but came within 10 minutes after I called. Hotel is on main road about 2-3 minutes from Terminal. Was greeted by Debbie the owner, she cheerfully thanked me for my business and I was in my apartment very quickly. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank William J
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry about the water shortage! water is sometimes limited, in the dry season. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Debbie More 

Poland , NY USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The main thing La Heliconia has going for it is the location. Very close to airport when coming or going from Grenada. As happens sometimes, the photos on the website are a bit out of date and things are a bit shabbier than represented. When I took my shower, the hot water ran out after about 30 seconds. My wife... More 

Helpful?
Thank EricC56
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2016

I was picked up by one of the owner who was very friendly, arrived at the hotel in five minutes very close to the Airport. I was wellcome by staff and owners I was shown my room, much more than I was expected, very roomy, clean and every thing you need. Very much recommended Ann from London Leytonstone.

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

This is my third time to Grenada and my third hotel. This one was easily the best and nicest. The staff couldn't have been any nicer and were very accommodating. The manager gave me a free upgrade just cause. My room was a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony overlooking the water for a very reasonable price. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jpalms82
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We stayed at La Heliconia our last night on Grenada to be close to the airport for an early morning flight. We arrived and were greeted warmly by Barbara and her staff (family). This is a family run business. They take great pride in providing comfortable rooms and friendly service. Our apartment/room was very spacious, clean and the kitchen was... More 

Helpful?
Thank GayleOBooth
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

This was our first hotel. It was easy and close to the airport. It does not have food after a certain time but the bar was open. The owners are friendly and helpful. We did run out of toilet paper and had to ask for some. This is the norm for this country (all three of our hotels were like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Utsi W
Valley, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2016

This was our first visit to Grenada, so we were a little unsure of what to expect. Especially since we had decided to stay one night at a local hotel, on both arrival and departure, instead of spending those nights at Sandals. It turned out that we had absolutely nothing to worry about! Our (already late) arrival was made even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LCCarey
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We loved our big and clean room at the Heliconia. It was also quiet, so we slept very well. We were greeted very warmly, and all staff was helpful. The breakfast was fine for our needs (tea, coffee, toast, fruit, eggs...). It was very close to the airport, just a few minutes' drive. Going to St. Georges was easy as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DaSa27

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint George Parish hotels
1.8 km away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#8 of 12 in Grand Anse
178 reviews
1.5 km away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
1.3 km away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Grooms Beach Villas and Resort
2.3 km away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Grand Anse
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Holiday apartments, at competitive prices,with spa, bar and restaurant ,free high speed wifi connection,located on the beautiful island of Grenada in the West Indies.Situated close to the airport and walking distance to fine golden sand beaches, we are ideally placed for self-catering holidays,over nights or visiting your friends and relations in Grenada and at St. George’s University.La Heliconia is on the local bus route, which takes you into the town of St. George. We provide a free pick up service from the airport between the hours of 9am to 5pm. We also provide an early check inn service from 7am, and late check out service to 4pm.There is also an in house taxi service, which we provide for our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Heliconia

Address: Point Salines, Maurice Bishop Highway, 1115, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish
Price Range: $100 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Heliconia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Heliconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Heliconia staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from La Heliconia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room had a balcony that was shared with the next room”
 of 5 bubbles 982sheilab, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Smile. It is infectious.”
 of 5 bubbles UltraStar175, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The spa is also offering services for men face up.”
 of 5 bubbles KiMAGIC, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing south / west probably have better view of Caribbean Sea.”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamJ244, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and accessible”
 of 5 bubbles V2655ANannb, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay