We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Start your review of Kiwi Paka Waitomo
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice little lodges, warm and practical. Mattresses seemed to be a bit old, like both mine and my girlfriends both sank in the middle with a few springs in your back here and there. Kitchen was well equipped, with great large fridges and large spaces to cook. Loads of table to eat at both outdoor and indoor. Showers and bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callumtyson1
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Kiwi Paka was a very basic, clean place to stay for a night, but don't expect anything special, like hangers in the closets or chairs on the decks. And I regret to say that, in a country where we found nothing but friendly people and willingness to accommodate, the Kiwi Paka was the one place where the answer was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ira M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The most disgusting place I've ever stayed in. We found a mouse in our bed, the room smelt disastrous and was dirty and damp. When we complained about the mouse in the bed we got moved to a different room which had blood on the wall and sink. When we asked for a refund the manager refused and was horrifically...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apryl C
KiwiWaitomo1, Director of Sales at Kiwi Paka Waitomo, responded to this review

Hi there, We apologize for the inconvenience of your stay. Our staff did do everything they could to accommodate you as we did upgrade your room when informed of the situation. Unfortunately due to the recent flooding the entire area saw an increase in mice around the village. We have everything in place to eradicate them and have done so....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel/lodge is quite large and so the fairly well equipped kitchen and the other amenities (bathrooms and laundry) are a bit of a distance from the room. Which isn't a huge deal. The bonus was paying for a dorm room ($35 per bed per night - which is on the expensive side of dorm accommodation) but not having to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaretfromoz
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 1 night with Kiwi Exp. Wasnt sure how good it would be, until we got a free upgrade to a private twin with ensuite, as the dorms were full! Twin room was spacious, and clean. Had a TV, fridge and towels provided. Beds were very comfy. Only downside was room was freezing even when heater was on. Other than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouP456
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Waitomo for a night as part of the Contiki Big Tiki tour. Kiwi Paka has small chalets, pretty clean and a simple en suite (although the you have to go through the shower room to get to the toilet which proves to be annoying when sharing with three other people but not a massive issue!). We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpd1232015
KiwiWaitomo1, Director of Sales at Kiwi Paka Waitomo, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your night with us and hope you enjoyed your caving experience while visiting Waitomo. Thank you Kiwipaka Waitomo

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed here as part of my Haka Tour. Kiwi Experience and another tour bus were also staying here. However, it was a pretty quiet and chilled location. Our rooms were upgraded so I was in a twin ensuite. Spacious room, TV, and towel were a welcome surprise. Bathroom was ok, but water pressure poor (whilst also getting the whole bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EG27
KiwiWaitomo1, Director of Sales at Kiwi Paka Waitomo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the points you made have been addressed and passed onto the appropriate people.

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Not the cleanest hostel I've seen but not too bad that I didn't want to stay. Have to pay for wifi. Beds and sheets seems and feels really old.. Nices outdoor place to spend time chatting with friends and a 3 minutes walk to the only bar in waitomo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
KiwiWaitomo1, Director of Sales at Kiwi Paka Waitomo, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are now exploring alternate wifi options otherwise we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thank you Kiwipaka Waitomo

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I stayed here for only 1 night on a Contiki tour. The location was close to everything we needed to get to. We ate at the hotel for our dinner and breakfast which was pretty good but staff weren't the friendliest. We had a double story room that was very spacious. The exterior of the whole property was really nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephB1995
KiwiWaitomo1, Director of Sales at Kiwi Paka Waitomo, responded to this review

Sorry to hear our staff did not come across as friendly. We have taken that into consideration but we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over all and hope you will visit us again. Thank you Kiwipaka Waitomo

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This is such a chilled, spacious hostel, not for a bad price either. The kitchen was really clean and organised when I was there. Plenty of crockery. Also plenty of dining space including a terrace outside. There's a restaurant and bar onsite but I didn't use them. Bedrooms were perfectly clean, as were the bathrooms. Wifi was available at an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzy H
KiwiWaitomo1, Director of Sales at Kiwi Paka Waitomo, responded to this review

Awesome review and glad you enjoyed your stay in Waitomo. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and will come back to visit again. Thanks Kiwipaka Waitomo

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
0.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
501 reviews
1.2 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
231 reviews
0.3 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
78 reviews
0.2 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
498 reviews
6.2 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waitomo Kiwipaka has backpackers accommodation as well as Chalet rooms. There is also a Pizzeria café/restaurant on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiwi Paka Waitomo

Address: Kiwi Paka Waitomo School Road PO Box 26 Waitomo Caves, Waitomo Caves 3943, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $23 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi Paka Waitomo 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Kiwi Paka Waitomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Paka Waitomo Hotel Waitomo Caves
Kiwi Paka Waitomo North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kiwi Paka Waitomo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quad lodges look to be the best.”
879VICH, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are budget backpackers style”
435asha, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Caveman pizza is so good!”
Bioturok, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for extra blankets and pillows if you stay here.”
d_daisy, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here or anywhere else in Waitomo.”
Purobi, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5