We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waitomo Caves Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Waitomo Caves Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waitomo Caves Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 408: English reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

The place is extremely rundown. If you are looking for a nice place then this hotel is not it. Paint peeling off the ceilings, bathroom old and tiny, Windows did not lock, greenery growing on the balcony where there should not be any. The only reason this place is a 2 star hotel is the staff. If not for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Attila Anja S
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that aspects of your stay did not meet with your approval. We are doing our best to take the hotel through a refurbishment programme as soon as possible but unfortunately we cannot get all rooms done at the...

Sunshine coast
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel, late in the evening, to find our booking had been lost. The staff lady on the desk luckily had a spare room , but I must say it was pretty awful, however as it was very late, so we still stayed. The room was clean, but extremely hot, as it hadn't been aired and we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kim A
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us, though we are very disappointed to read your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the mix-up with your room. We are pleased you thought your room was clean. The issues that you raised with the bathroom have been passed onto our maintenance team....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Looks nice from the outside unfortunately the inside is outdated. We had a tiny room with very little space. There were bugs about but that's to be expected when you're out in the country and have to have the windows open. Be warned there's no AC. Our toilet ran continuously throughout the night also which I appreciate we didn't let...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nathan B
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you were generally satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. Of course the hotel is outdated in the inside - it is meant to be, having the claim as one of New Zealand's oldest historic hotels. As previously detailed, the age of the building restricts the installation of an air-conditioning units. I'm sorry to hear...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Keywords: Cockroaches and other insects, disgusting, no AC or ventilation, extremely worn down After reading some reviews before I booked I realized that the hotel wasn't great. However, I wasn't able to find a good alternative with rooms available. Unfortunately I didn't grasp just how bad the hotel was. From the outside it looks ok and the reception area looks...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Johan H
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read your review on your recent stay. We are sorry that you felt that certain aspects fell below your expectations. Management and the housekeeping team are perplexed at your comments regarding bugs - we simply cannot fathom how you claim to have found these in your room when our rooms are serviced to a very...

Alabama
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Oh my, where do I start. The website photos looked grand so I thought this would be a stunning location to celebrate the 20th year wedding Anniversary with my dear wife on our trip to see the famous caves. Upon seeing our room we were mightily disappointed, it was so run down and dirty, what a great let down, it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SouthernGent65
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your recent stay with us. I note your fellow guest has also shared a same review. We are sorry that your romantic moment was interrupted by the neighbouring guest - I am sure that he was just as embarrassed! Two or our rooms share one balcony (as advertised on...

Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed 21 February 2016

My general impression of this hotel is that it looks nice from the outside and at the reception and restaurant but the room are old and run-down, especially the bath rooms. One particular problem is that the rooms do not have AC or ventilation. As you know it can get hot in New Zealand. The heat per se is not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pierre G
Corinne C, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that it fell below your expectations. As our property is a historic building, it is not possible to install air conditioning units. However, we do have opening doors and windows to allow for fresh air instead. We are sorry that you were...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Worn out, no staff, over priced. The back packers looked far cleaner and nicer with better facilities. I was going to eat at the restaurant but luckily I talked to a local before dinner who advised me not to eat at the hotel because his friend who had previously worked at the restaurant said it's kitchen is very poorly run...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank frenchie64558
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We are very disappointed to hear that the stay fell below your expectations. Whilst the building is historic, we take great pride in ensuring it is cleaned to the highest of standards . We offer a unique point of difference, a wonderful art collections, guided tour...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The property is, as a previous review has stated, old and tired but they are obviously making improvements and our room was nice with a great bathroom. The food in the restaurant was excellent but the best thing about this hotel was the young French couple working there. They seemed to be doing everything from reception work, portering, working in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vicky C
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community. Thank you for acknowledging that we are working towards updating the hotel - a lengthy process! We are thrilled you enjoyed our restaurant and found our staff welcoming, professional and charming. Your comments have been shared with them, thank you.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Brilliant position for staying one night to visit the caves.Desparately needs some up-dating and TLC but would be very costly as it obviously was once a really grand hotel but it wouldn't cost much to put basic necessities in the bedroom I.e a mirror.Friendly helpful staff and what once were lovely gardens but what do expect for the reasonable price!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaneL682
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Waitomo Caves Hotel. We are working through our refurbishment programme as quickly as time allows. In the meantime we strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests as well a warm welcome and excellent service. I have passed your comments about a mirror...

Bernalillo NM
Reviewed 6 February 2016

This hotel is old and rather down at it's heels, but very clean and with friendly, helpful staff. The restaurant is really good. I had a seafood linguini that was really wonderful and the service superb. Really worth having a meal (or two) here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deweyboy
corinne561, Manager at Waitomo Caves Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to experience our restaurant and love it! Thank you for your feedback.

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
4.0 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
206 reviews
7.3 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
67 reviews
1.4 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
72 reviews
1.4 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
287 reviews
7.7 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waitomo Caves Hotel provides a taste of the early 19th Century grand tour hotel experience in our own time. Majestically positioned on a promontory above the Waitomo village and the world famous Waitomo caves the hotel offers sweeping views across the lush farmland, the hills and bush of the King Country. The hotel boasts sparkling crystal chandeliers, a vast art collection, spacious clean rooms, deliciously comfortable beds and a decadent spa area. Stay with us and experience the elegance of travel from a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waitomo Caves Hotel

Address: Lemon Point Road | RD7, Waitomo Caves 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $92 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitomo Caves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Waitomo Caves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waitomo Caves
Waitomo Caves Otorohanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waitomo Caves Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Waitomo Caves Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do a little research first before you stay”
 of 5 bubbles hotelstgeorge67, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles KaneNim, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe check out the bathroom size on booking our was very small for a king room”
 of 5 bubbles Jack102013, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want to drag bags up a flight of stairs take a bottom floor don't think there was a lift”
 of 5 bubbles 574katelyns, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 12A but apparently this room is haunted must have slept through it”
 of 5 bubbles timb0nney, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay