We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crossing Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crossing Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Frankston
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Highly recommend for all looking for a warm friendly place to stay. The hostel felt like home, a warm fire and incredibly friendly and helpful staff, the owner was even generous enough to give the three of us a lift to Whakapapa village! The hostel is perfect for all ages, an amazing Narnia themed room for children and a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the crossing backpackers before we did the northern circuit hike and we absolutely loved it! Amazing service and the owners are very kind. It is very quirky compared to a lot of backpackers hostels we have stayed in and we all loved it and will be back in the future! Thanks a tonne!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ally v
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was clean, staff were helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Lovely kitchen area, lovely games room and lovely spa bath. Cool movie room, just not many movies to pick from/popular choices... Free tea and coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephineelliott
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2016

When I first arrived I was a bit unsure about this one, but when I took myself on a tour of the place I soon discovered it was a tardis. MUCH bigger inside than it appears from outside. The water pressure isn't great, but I think that says more about my spoilt big-city under-appreciation of the scarce resource than about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hotdevittydog
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this review

What a great description of the place you have given ! pleased that you enjoyed the hostel and you found the 'wardrobe'

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

An excellent pace, warm, friendly and very welcoming!! I'd strongly recommend a visit and I think book early is probable necessary as this hidden gem won't stay a secret for long...very good value too, personal touch is an asset!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbmcdonald
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments, hope to see you again.

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

This was my first time ever at a backpacker. I was scared and nervous. But the owner/hostess was so welcoming. The linen was clean. I slept well through the night, so the bed was definitely comfortable. The kitchen is neat and tidy. The lodge had a very good lounge area with games and entertainment options. The place also had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zaha84
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this review

Happy that we could make your stay comfortable and you enjoyed the lodge.

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

A really great place to stay at such a nice hostel with lots of character. Owners are angels even helped us when we were stuck in the national park and had lost our car keys.. And they can give you good advice about the tongariro crossing walk. Rooms are clean and cozy. Check the secret TV room :) take some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We were so disappointed as the reviews that we had read on trip advisor about The Crossing Backpackers were fantastic. We thought this would be a great place to stay. Instead our room was incredibly worn and tired. The owner was very rude and and we didn't feel at all welcome. While there we also heard him being really rude...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kowhai2016
bryan38, Owner at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this review

Wow, please let me explain, we had no idea that we had employed the incredible hulk, when he came to us he was down and out wearing nothing else but a tiny pair of paints, he was huge, green and grunted a lot, I should have put 2 and 2 together but maths is not my strong point and, well,...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Bryan and Miriam the hostel owners are very nice! This hostel has a lovely spa pool, free tea and hot chocolate, and lots comfy places to chill (ask about the Narnia room). I stayed with a friend as we were doing the Crossing. They have a convenient pick up/drop off shuttle service which is great. Its helpful to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma2walter
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 March 2016

These guys are the real deal. This place is huge and comes with great kiwi service from Brian and Miriam, a free spa pool, secret movie room, separate lounge with television, pool table and a well stocked kitchen. As a skier, I'm a regular visitor here, I enjoy staying here and I keep coming back. The atmosphere is pretty good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt L

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
12.6 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,310 reviews
12.8 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
387 reviews
19.5 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
429 reviews
5.9 km away
Pipers Ski Lodge
Pipers Ski Lodge
#2 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
71 reviews
6.1 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have quality budget accommodation with a variety of room types to suit family, friends and individuals alike. We offer free bus or train pick up from National Park Village. We also have a spacious TV lounge, pool table, a DVD room, dining & outdoor areas, fully equipped kitchen facilities with free tea and coffee, Wi-Fi guest internet, laundry facilities and a spa pool. Great rates and summer package deals for accommodation and Tongariro crossing transport are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crossing Backpackers

Address: Erua Road East, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crossing Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Crossing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crossing Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Crossing Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask!!”
 of 5 bubbles sbmcdonald, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Explain your requirements!”
 of 5 bubbles matthewl20, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Close to the mountain side”
 of 5 bubbles 526thomash, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There is an entry way to the magical kingdom of Narnia here, see if you can find it!”
 of 5 bubbles Utunga, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Most people are there to do the Tongariro Crossing, so I think it doesn't matter which room you get, you'll sleep well after completing the crossing!!”
 of 5 bubbles Lindynz, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay