We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,654: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
 Click to rate
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had been staying in this hotel many times, and this is the one which somehow irritate me. First of all, the electrical socket on the working table was left open without the cover exposing the metal inside, which would pose a real HAZARD to the guest staying in. This has been taken care off immediately after my complaint. The...

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Songwl
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I came back here for a short getaway with my friends from all over Malaysia. After looking around Batu Feringgi, i decided to go for Golden Sands as i have always had good memories here. So i made my reservation. Ms Kalpana handled my reservation and truth to be hold, everything was done perfectly... All my request were met and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Balan3
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear Balan3, Thank you for finding the time to share your experience and tell the story of your stay with us to other travelers on TripAdvisor. It is most delightful to know that your stay with us was comfortable and we were bale to meet all your expectations. We are most flattered and motivated to read your feedback, it is...

Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had great hopes for this hotel as we have experienced Shangri-la hotels before and just came from a Shangri-la resort in Sinagpore which we had completely fallen in love with. Here in between, I do want to point out that our kids loved the pools and liked the hotel in general. I think that they would have given the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattias S
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Have spend at lease 50 nights since 1979 in this great hotel. I do not find any room for improvement in the service. Most important all the staff seems to enjoy working in this great hotel. It is obvious that the new GM Mr Noel is a expert in motivation. Bravo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank armanddebrignac
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the Resort is BIG !! a little tour should be offered soon after arrival - also to establish contact with 1or 2 staff / can feel a bit lost when staying in room 556 ! long ways from the lifts ... complimentary snack would be nice !. Shuttle Bus to Georgetown very handy - does stop @ " Gurney Plaza...

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian Z
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear Christian Z, Thank you for taking time review our resort. We are delighted to hear that your recent stay at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La had been a smooth and pleasant experience. With the aim of the hotel of putting guests as our priority, it is always pleasing to hear from our guests like yourself whom continues to be...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The location is good, and the grounds and pools are well look after. Plenty of restaurants a short walk. Beach is disappointing as water is murky and the warnings of jellyfish put me off from going in the sea - not unexpected as had done some research into it. The room itself was ok. Bed was large but not particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear Jason K, Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback with us. We greatly value every one of our guests and sincerely apologize for your less-than-satisfactory experience during your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing these shortfalls in service at the resort to our attention, please be assured we have addressed them with our...

Ashtead
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you want a good nights sleep get a low numbered room then you will be away from the Mosque they have in the front of the Hotel in the grounds or a sea facing room. No sun shades for sun beds in grounds only around fixed tables. Some tree cover. Lots of guests who use the Mosque! Staff are...

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPLITSCREENT2
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear SPLITSCREENT2, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for the review. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future. Best regards Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman Director of Communications

Asia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed here numerous times in the 1-bedroom suite and we have noticed that the size of these suites can be very different. If you are booked into a suite, do ask for the ones with the bigger living rooms. The carpets in the suite look old, crusty and dirty and could do with a good steam clean or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happybeachtime
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear Happybeachtime, Thank you for being a loyal guest of Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La and thank you for taking the time review our resort. We appreciated much. I am dismayed after reading your feedback and please accept our sincere apology. We take our guests’ comment very seriously and endeavor to do everything we can to exceed our guests’ expectations....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good place to stay, good location within walking distance to local shops, restaurants and the Night Market. Hotel has direct beach access and plenty of things to do - the mini golf course was great fun. Very family friendly with lots of activities geared towards children. The beach bar and grill was great, plenty of choice on the menu -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasp08
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear Jasp08, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to provide all our guests with a comfortable and memorable experience. We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La....

Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have a young child, so we need child friendly places, but we don't need off the wall energy with crazy kids. The Golden Sands had a nice balance of adult relaxation space and kid zones. The kiddy pool was great and the 'water park' (2 water slides and a splash zone) was just enough fun. The lifeguards we on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlethislittlethat
SL_Penang1, Manager at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this review

Dear littlethislittlethat, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of the facilities and our services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Penang and our resort in the...

2,323 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1869)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (324)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (317)
Viewed
View from Room (103)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (235)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (78)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (707)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (427)
Viewed
Activities Pool (11)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Beach (46)
Viewed
Childrens Pool (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Seafacing Room (52)
Viewed
Executive Seaview Room (68)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)
Viewed
Waterslide (4)
Viewed
Whirlpool (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.5 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,434 reviews
0.9 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,613 reviews
0.2 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
1,368 reviews
11.1 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 82 in George Town
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $135 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang, Malaysia
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
Moruya, Australia
Singapore, Singapore
Johannesburg, South Africa
Ramsgate

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a suite with a bigger living room.”
 of 5 bubbles Happybeachtime, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms were lovely and all have a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Jasp08, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“kids zone, adult areas”
 of 5 bubbles littlethislittlethat, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms with sea view on highest, 7th floor”
 of 5 bubbles burgundy2016, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get a seaview room. the higher floors is more better.”
 of 5 bubbles 387miras, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5