We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayview Beach Resort

Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 Malaysia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1660)
Room & Suite (592)
Pool & Beach (408)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#7 of 12 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At Bayview Beach Resort Penang, a tropical garden filled with slender palms is all that separates you from the long stretch of enticing white sand at Batu Ferringhi beach. Painted fishing boats ply the waters of the Straits of Malacca as they have done for centuries, creating a scenic backdrop for your Penang holiday. Adventurous guests can try parasailing and jet-skiing at our Watersports Centre, while the garden massage hut offers a romantic option for honeymooning couples. You can relax in our outdoor Jacuzzis or the serene spa. If you’re feeling active, our well-equipped, air-conditioned gym overlooks the garden, and tennis, volleyball and basketball courts reside among the trees. This is also one of the best family hotels in Penang, with dedicated play areas, professional babysitting services and 2 out of 4 swimming pools specially designed with children in mind.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Malay
2210Reviews88Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 641
  • 892
  • 433
  • 148
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kirk H wrote a review 17 Feb
Ko Samui, Thailand13 contributions3 helpful votes
Even though we are an older couple I appreciated the way they have the hotel facilities set up for a young family, lots of attractions for the kids around the pools. The rooms are well appointed and the bed was very comfortable, good hot water and great water pressure for showers and baths. All around a nice hotel and we would stay again when in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We were there during Chinese New Years so it was very busy but we still had good service and were...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lawrence Perera, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
koolman3 wrote a review 12 Feb
Leeds, United Kingdom1982 contributions107 helpful votes
+1
I first visited this hotel back in 2005 and it still holds up as a no-frills decent hotel. It has immaculate gardens with palm trees and other plants. There is a swimming pool with a kids pool and a waterfall. There are plenty of loungers around. The beach is just past the gate although not many people take to sea because of jellyfish. The room is large and well kept with a comfortable bed. There is a shower over bathtub with was disappointing as the bathtub did not work well with holding water of draining it. Towels, sheets and bathroom toiletries were changed daily. Breakfast was decent with plenty of space and wide choice of food. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for being our loyal guest returning to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip Penang
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dato Adnan wrote a review 3 Feb
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia87 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed at the resort for 4 days and 3 nights from 29 January until 1 February 2024. The last time we were here were from 14 to 17 August 2023 (also 4 days and 3 nights). At the reception counter, I was greeted by warm, friendly and smiling Norly who recognized me immediately. As expected, checking-in at the reception counter was swift and smooth. The Family Room Hillview was spacious, clean and the air-conditioning was just right. The room came with a mini fridge, a safe, ironing board with iron and also a kettle with complimentary coffee, tea, sugar and creamer sachets. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The balcony overlooked the Batu Ferringhi Road. Across the road are Pak Mid Café, Restoren Abah and Enca Restaurant. The Hard Rock Café is just to the left of the hotel. All within 5 minutes' walk. The bathroom has a bathtub and was clean. The bath towels were very clean and soft. The pools were clean and the garden well groom and looked after. We had our breakfast every morning at the La Veranda Coffeehouse which offered a wide range breakfast buffet spread. I will review La Veranda Coffeehouse in another post. My humble opinion - It was a great family staycation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lawrence Perera, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for being our loyal guests enjoying each and every stay with us We are delighted that you had enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aly.G wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Just a horrible. I booked and paid for 3 nights(Jan 7th to Jan 9th 2023) and wasted my money without staying even one night in this dirty hotel .I checked-in and checkout right away after seing my room. The floor was dirty. A disgusting sofa with several white stains. The pillows stinked . I could smelled it from the entrance of the room . I got an allergy from this awful room. I decided to checkout and booked a different place . Just run away from this place . No hygiene. No comfort !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Fuyez cet hôtel / run away from this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, We can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Meander34951238464 wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Yes the hotel is quite outdated , but the friendly helpful staff , the amazing pool and gardens , and the stunning view make up for this . Clean and great value for money . Even though it was a holiday weekend there were lots of sunbeds, and many allowing us to sit in the shade and shelter from the searing sun. Bus stops located outside take you into George Town with a regular reliable service. Hotel is located next to an amazing beach bar serving fantastic meals and sunset views . Short walk to lots of other bars and restaurants and plenty of Grab taxi s available to take us further afield ( we went to Penang Hill for around £6) Breakfast provided so much choice, including freshly made omelettes and European choices such as porridge and cereals.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Turn left out of the rear of the hotel to find a fabulous beach bar and restaurant. Buy a SIM...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lawrence Perera, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 16 Jan 2024
The Bayview offers affordable quality along with friendly service, comfortable rooms, ample facilities at lower pricing along the Batu Ferringhi stretch. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be hosting your family breaks with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fozjon wrote a review Jan 2024
Jaipur, India1793 contributions608 helpful votes
this place isn't the newest. Carpets probably are overdue on being cleaned. The beach is excellent. The room was comfortable. The shower didn't have very hot water. Breakfast was very crowded, but we were there for a couple of days between Christmas and New Year, so it was, likely, high season.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 5 Jan 2024
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
elaine5757 wrote a review Dec 2023
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom129 contributions24 helpful votes
Stayed here around five times over the last 10 years. Won’t stay again hotel is now run by Indians and their attitude towards guest is appalling. They ask you to put your own sun-bed away after use cos their to idle to do it them selfs. And there are now no mattresses to put on the wooden sunbeds . This hotel is now for locals only and does not cater for Europeans guests as it used to. Love Batu Ferringghi but sadly not the bay view any more . Really dropped its standards sad really
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 3 Jan 2024
We sincerely apologize for the poor experience that you had encountered this time and have taken note on all the points & feedback that you have mentioned and rest assured that steps will be taken to rectify all the faults and further improvements to be made to improve ourselves.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
muzem wrote a review Dec 2023
Taiping, Malaysia2 contributions
+1
⛔ A bit old hotel. ⛔ Staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming guests. ⛔ Seems they are lack of staff as we had to carry our own luggage to the trolley by ourselves. There was a bellboy to help us at first, but he suddenly dissappear to help other guest to the taxi. This is very dissappointing. ⛔ They didn't have the main toilet door (access to the toilet sink). The floor is of course slippery and this is very danger to the kids - fell down, etc. ⛔ The breakfast buffet spread was average. But their pastry named "Morning Danish" that has pineapple as it filling was a top-notch. ⛔ Limited and a bit small parking lot. ⛔ Not worth for my money. ✅ Smooth check in and check out process. ✅ Their garden has a beautiful view and clean. ⭐ Overall 2.5 out of 10 stars. This will be my first and last to check in here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LL721 wrote a review Dec 2023
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia900 contributions320 helpful votes
Great view from our room and balcony. Thankfully we got a high floor as the pool was really noisy in the afternoons. The room was really comfortable and we had a really good rest. There was a car park which was always full and people parked their cars haphazardly and even dangerously on the ramps and center of the entrance, blocking other cars. Not sure why there was no security… Breakfast was sufficient and it was a brilliant idea to install those nylon wires to prevent the birds or crows from attacking our food. Sometimes we had to wait long for the lifts but there were additional lifts behind which nobody uses. The lifts at the foyer were always wet as people do not bother to dry off from the pool before entering the lifts which caused these lifts to have some mouldy stench.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 21 Dec 2023
It is great to know that you have chosen Bayview Beach Resort as your choice of accommodation in Penang and indeed we are delighted that there are many aspects of the hotel that has pleased you during your stay. As for the wet floor in the lift, despite putting up signs, every hotel faces the same challenge of errant and inconsiderate guests whereby, for example, we have our staff regularly mopping the floor for safety reasons. The signage of some rules are there to guide our guests to be considerate and civil and to be fair, generally most guests are just that without reminders but that very few who did otherwise, we can then take the necessary actions accordingly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cecil P wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Reasonable balcony room, spacious beach garden but Hotel very much let down by some unprofessional policy and hostile staff. We weren’t allowed to put restaurant charges on our room (“not enough deposit”); mattresses for deck chairs were hidden from guests - we had to ask (after seeing the odd guests with mattresses), and then carried them ourselves while pool attendants sat & watched. Pool’s supposed to open at 7:30 but virtually no towels available and pool boys in sight until after 8:15. Gym isn’t air-conditioned, dirty carpeted floor with half of the limited antiquated equipment not working; no mats, resistant bands or skipping ropes. Towels (like the pool towels) were faded, worn & ripped! Real shame as it’s a spacious beach hotel not served by proper management.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bring your own bath towels for room, pool & gym. Don’t be intimidated by unfriendly,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort
Responded 29 Nov 2023
We sincerely apologize for the poor experience that you had encountered this time and have taken note on all the points & feedback that you have mentioned and rest assured that steps will be taken to rectify all the faults and further improvements to be made to improve ourselves. We are indeed serious about offering excellent services and facilities at our resort. We appreciate your feedback which will act as a reminder to all our staff to be consistent in our service delivery for friendliness and efficiency. We thank you for your constructive feedback and bringing this matter to our attention so that appropriate action can be taken to help us towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards. Indeed, we always take guests’ feedback seriously whether they are negative or positive although at times we cannot please everyone in awkward situations. We will continue to be professionally objective and do what we reasonably can to accommodate as many as possible of our guests to make their stay pleasantly contented.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Batu Ferringhi area.
PRICE RANGE
S$51 - S$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bayview beach hotel batu ferringhi, the bayview beach hotel
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandBatu Ferringhi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
360
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAYVIEW BEACH RESORT (S̶$̶6̶9̶) S$63: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,235 Photos (Penang, Malaysia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bayview Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bayview Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Yahong Art Gallery (1.1 km), Batu Ferringhi Hidden Gems (0.1 km), and Anthony's Beer Garden (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bayview Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Bayview Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bayview Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bayview Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bayview Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hard Rock Cafe Penang, Living Room Cafe Bar & Gallery, and Helena's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bayview Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Bayview Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Bayview Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bayview Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bayview Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bayview Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.