We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
Panoramas (45)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,954 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,467: English reviews
Start your review of Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
 Click to rate
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The resort had everything anyone could need. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Food was good, a la cartes service was fantastic! People who complain are the whiners that complain about everything everywhere they go. With internet and TripAdvisor everyone should know what to expect before they arrive. Definitely see Larry on the beach to help out with tours!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sums15
Moreno Valley, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came to resort at 9:00am. Granted early, but you would think that they would try to go out of their way to accommodate us. They say wait till 3pm. No way. I guess we are use to more caring service. Still waiting 😢. Hope that things turn around. We are here with 3 other couples.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LorenaGus
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Lorenagus; We regret your disappointment for being unable to check in upon your early arrival and understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about the appointed check in time starting at 3:00 p.m. although it should be reported on the booking confirmation; at the hotel we always do our utmost to make sure our guests...

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

*15 min from airport *Resort: well maintained and clean, beautiful flora, many monkeys, birds and wildlife to see right on resort, many hills and stairs, beautiful view of the ocean all around the resort as well as beautiful uphill view of the resort by the pool, plenty to explore and roam around_free Wifi all around resort! *Room: well maintained and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bpfAzilda
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear bpfAzilda; We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Papagayo hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.It`s fantastic that you enjoyed and experienced so much of the resident wildlife we have to...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It couldnt be worse....where to start? Well, after our dreamed days at Jaco, we shuttled up to Occidental Papagayo, certain of finding the same paradise we have enjoyed days before. Upon check in, we were told booking were not on the system...so we needed to guarantee the whole amount with the Mastercard, we did it, after all we were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottjohn721
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear scottjohn721 We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Papagayo hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There were 6 of us who traveled to OCCIDENTAL GRAND PAPAGAYO February 11-18. My husband and I have been to several all inclusive resorts and were less than impressed here. First of all there is group check in (like 25 people) unless you pay extra. Then when we finally got to our room our safe didn't work. Got that fixed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Raegan D
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Raegan D We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your...

Somens
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We love hills to walk but may be issue with some disabled or elderly. They have a shuttle if you like. They come when you call. Beautiful birds and animals. Workers very ,very friendly and hospitable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 738robertag
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear 738robertag Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Papagayo; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Kind Regards, Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the food is good. If you have gone to other all-inclusives and enjoy a big pool with a bar and fun pool activities this isn't the place for you. On the last day of our trip we asked for the volleyball net to be put up. It was 1:00 p.m. We were told we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynn B
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Lynn B; Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We would like to apologize for any situation you might had during your stay with us. We regret reading about our activities staff inefficiency when you want to play volleyball. We will...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I travelled to this resort the week of Feb 13, 2017. The grounds are nice, views are spectacular. Cannot say enough about the wonderful service and great food. We ate at the a la carte restaurants 5 times during the week which were great, the Oriental being our favorite. The food was great in all the restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 154992Christine_B
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear 154992Christine_B; Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our Occidental Papagayo. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service...

Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

To get to this resort, I made reservations online through mardi tours. It cost $62 for 7 of us which we paid when we arrived at the hotel. Marvin met us outside the airport with our name on a sign. He gave us information about the country. The resort is beautiful! There are a lot of steps. The best thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 691dan
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear 691dan; Thank you for your fabulous review of Occidental Papagayo. We are delighted that you choose us as your holiday destination. We aim to provide each and every guest with a wonderful and memorable experience and I am so pleased that we did it for you. I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked tours through our travel agent and although they were good tours they were a little out-of-the-way. One trip was 4 hours away from the hotel. We met Larry on the beach and he helped us with the rest of our tours. He was awesome and helped us pick tours that suited us. So if you're going I suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph F
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Joseph F; We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Papagayo hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope...

3,282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2812)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (516)
Viewed
Room/Suite (244)
Viewed
View from Room (169)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (640)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Dining (97)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1061)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (87)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (with Honeymoon Premium Package) (24)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (111)
Viewed
Royal Club Luxury Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
5.8 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,321 reviews
2.2 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
10.7 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
5,852 reviews
25.6 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Grand Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical lanscape with scenic views of Bahía Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Grand Papagayo offers a highly persolized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $282 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Papagayo - Adults only staff and other travellers.
323 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (323)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Papagayo - Adults only staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A lot of walking where ever you are. Older people were changing rooms - too much walking.”
 of 5 bubbles 496raegand, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 1600's and I think these the best rooms for the view and private sitting area overlooking water..”
 of 5 bubbles 154992Christine_B, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We choose the ocean view. There are no rooms right on the beach but the view was great! Our family had building 20, 21 and 24.”
 of 5 bubbles 691dan, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We got the ocean view and LOVED it! It's more on the quieter side of the resort, easy to get to the beach!”
 of 5 bubbles goodhart2017, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Building 23”
 of 5 bubbles nicknmary, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5