We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Hostelworld.comUS$24*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$35*
US$24*
Great Deal
US$30*
US$30*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Panoramas (43)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

I agree with most the comments below except the suggestion it was really noisy (it's only the cleaner). I stayed for three nights and overall loved the look of the place. With breakfast included this place represented good value for money. The cleaner is noisy! I actually don't know how she breaths because she does not stop talking (LOUD) from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joel D
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

It's a good place if you know what you are going into. No hot water, shared bathroom and shower. No AC, no lunch and dinner. Yoga is on site, the beach is 100 meters away and there is a few restaurants a minute walking distance. The worst thing of all is the cleaning ladies who constantly converse between each other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emanko111
Bremen, Germany
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

The staff is really welcoming and nice. We stayed there for six nights and I would recommend it. The dorms and rooms are very clean and the breakfast is good with toast, coffee and fruits. The bathrooms are nothing special and you just can get a cold shower. It is only 300m to the beach and there are some nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristinxxx
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. The place is beautiful with lush greenery, hammocks and colourful murals. On arrival I was really impressed with the look of the place. Evening yoga class which very relaxing as it was by candle light and you could hear the sounds of the forest. My one biggest issue was the noise! Had I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CNerissa
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

My friend and I saw that Casa Zen had good reviews, so we decided to stay there. The room was really hot, with no natural air and somewhat expensive compared to other places in the town. The staff was not very friendly either. We rented bikes and after 30 minuets, two of them practically broke out of nowhere from not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dmtellatin
Julio C, Gerente at Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for take a moment a write us a review. First of all I would like to apologize because I was a little exalted in the way talk to you at the time, I get little bit upset because you left the bicycle in the street and also just how your friend talk to my...

Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 July 2015

The hostel is nicely decorated, facilities are fine and breakfast is lovely. The rooms are quite noisy though, I got out of my bed to ask the people in the dorm next door to lower down their voices, and it was not as if they were screaming. The atmosphere is like a budget backpackers hostel, which is fine if that's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerjanne V
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

We loved our stay at Casa Zen, If back in Santa Teresa we'd surely visit again! The accommodation is basic but very clean, And at night it is so quiet our sleep was serene. The breakfast of fruit and coffee and toast, For the price of the hostel, was what we valued the most. The sea was so close and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SoParso
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 14 June 2015

This place is a true hostel. A lot of common space, nets to relax when it´s raining your even you feel like a siesta. Good tips from the Staff (thank you Julio and Mariano). 2 minutes walk to the beach, 2 minute walk to the supermarket, a lot of different classes during the day, from yoga to fitness. 2 kitchens,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielCMF
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Casa Zen is a beautiful hostel located in Santa Teresa. Everyone was really welcoming and the hostel seemed to be in high demand. We stayed 1 night in a dorm, and another couple of nights in a room with 4 beds. I had no complaints of either room. Casa Zen emphasizes having a low impact on the environment, so everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethany-Logan M
Ireland
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Casa Zen is a gem. This jungle paradise 2 minutes from the beach is the best hostel I've stayed at. I stayed in a dorm room for 9 nights. The room has lockers, high ceilings and ceiling fans. The breakfast is great - piles of fruit and good coffee, the seating area and mezzanine are perfect for relaxing in, or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spudyagain

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Apartment (31)
Viewed
Double Room (12)
Viewed
Shared Bathrooms (8)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Triple Room (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
544 reviews
0.7 km away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
64 reviews
2.5 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
326 reviews
4.1 km away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Santa Teresa and Mal Pais are rather remote beach towns, and that is what makes them so special! Thankfully, even though we are a little off the beaten path, there are still quite a few services available to visitors. This is a excellent area to relax practicing of Yoga and Surf.On the first floor, we have six private rooms, ideal for single travelers, couples or pairs of friends. The rooms have either a double bed or two single beds. We also have two larger private rooms on the first floor, each with beds for three people. Scroll down for photos and prices for our private rooms. Upstairs you will find the apartment plus three additional rooms with varying capacities, featuring exterior doors as well as interior doors connecting to the apartment. An abundance of shared bathrooms are also located on the first floor (there are many to choose from and they are always clean!).We also have two well-equipped communal kitchens, including our signature chef’s kitchen, complete with a professional quality stove, microwave, blenders, and a giant stainless steel refrigerator. We offer a amazing Yoga deck with every day class. Our helpful, bilingual staff is always ready to help plan other tours and activities in the area, including surf lessons, canopy tours, stand up paddleboarding (SUP), visits to nearby waterfalls, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horseback riding, ATV rentals and more. We can also assist you with restaurant recommendations, reservations and travel planning, so your trip can be totally relaxing and worry-free! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Address: Casa Zen Beach Acess | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Price Range: $36 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zen Hotel Santa Teresa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room with private bathroom was excellent and has kitchen and very clean”
293alannahm, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I believed rooms on the upper floor were a bit nicer”
86jasperw, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the first floor for the bathrooms. Stay upstairs for cool breeze and less noise.”
Baltim0reNative, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you can do with sharing a bathroom, the double private rooms are a good deal!”
erina264, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Pick a double room with ceiling fan if available. We picked the 3 bed room and it lacked window”
isabellep514, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$24* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$30
PricelineUS$30
Hotels.comUS$35
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates