We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Green Dragon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Green Dragon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have used the pub for mid-week lunch a few times and very happy with the food, however, Sunday lunch on 20/11/2016 for a party of six for my birthday was something else. Overcooked food, served between cold and luke warm, not wise with chicken, burnt yorkshire puddings, stewed veg. and slices of beef that the cutlery could not cut.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ken j
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked the room 6 on a Friday and Saturday when we opened the door to the room there was a strong smell of the previous occupant had had a smoke, the room was changed to room 7 without any problem, our first lmpression was it smelled very dusty and was quite small it was in great need of TLC... More 

Helpful?
Thank daughter190725
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welton village is a gem - full of beautiful old houses, a village green, a stream running through and a picture postcard church ... and a pub. It looks really nice from the exterior but sadly inside it turns into yet another chain pub. We weren't staying, only popped in for lunch. Menu? Lots on offer which is always a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Highleghlady
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

12 of us on a Sunday lunchtime with a pre-booked table. Food didn't come out all at the same time. People were finishing their meal before the last one came out. I complained that mine was luke warm so they literally shoved it in the microwave and brought it back. Not good service

Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stopped off on a Saturday eve about 5 very busy , most seats and tables taken . We ordered steak and ale pie ( good size pie but not very rich tasting ) and scampi and chips ( plenty of scampi ) . Overall the meals were good nicely presented hot and served quickly by polite staff. Other meals served... More 

Helpful?
Thank honey736
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The room was everything you'd expect. Clean and perfectly comfortable. It was the staff that made the difference. Helped us out well beyond what could be expected. Fabulous, highly recommended and would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Ben5566
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

All the team here at the Green Dragon are always happy to help in anyway that we possibly can and we are glad that we did everything we would could to help you, we are really glad that you had a lovely stay with us and we hope that we will see you again soon. Thank you again from all... More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Green Dragon for an overnight stay. Very welcoming staff, lovely room and overall excellent stay. Room 2 had lovely jacuzzi bath as well as beautiful beamed ceiling. Will recommend in the future. Many thanks

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

The whole team here at the Green Dragon are glad that you had an excellent stay with us, we hope that your next stay with us will be just as good and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again from the team here at the Green Dragon. More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Booked last minute and chose a single room for £40 with breakfast. Room that was in what looked like a converted barn, was lovely, warm, clean and well appointed. I arrived on a sunday evening at 9pm just as the kitchen closed. Landlord told me not to worry but told me to drop bags in my room and go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank martin c
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us here at the Green Dragon, we are happy that we catered to everything that you needed whilst you stayed with us and we do apologise that you couldn't stay with us again for another night! We really hope to see you again soon... More 

essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Just returned from a short stay at the green dragon, our second. This pub is in a very pretty setting in the centre of a lovely little village. They serve good pub grub at reasonable prices. The staff are very friendly. Its lovely sitting outside in the sun and watching the world go by. The room was clean and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank meemoEssex
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

The full team here at the Green Dragon would like to thank you for your kind comments about our pub, we are really glad that you enjoyed your second stay with us and that you had everything that you needed. We all hope to see you again soon and we hope that your stay is just as good as the... More 

Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We spent two nights here and we received a lovely, helpful welcome when we arrived. The staff are great and will help you in any way. The rooms are clean and comfy, plenty of storage and quiet in the evening. This is a chain pub so don't expect too much from the food but it's all hot and presented well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hruss2480
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Firstly may I take the time to thank you for your lovely and thoughtful comments about our pub and rooms, we here at the Green Dragon are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will defiantly take your comments regarding ingredients into consideration. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you from all the team here at... More 

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welton
5.6 km away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
5.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
904 reviews
7.0 km away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Willerby Manor Hotel
9.2 km away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
633 reviews
14.5 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a new year and a fresh start a warm welcome awaits you by the management & team at The Green Dragon, a 17th century coaching house in the picturesque village of Welton. The pub plays its part in history and the highwayman Dick Turpin frequented the establishment before his capture. The Green Dragon has 11 en-suite hotel rooms located in the external stable block and all are comfortably furnished and homely. The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself and we are sure you will enjoy our friendly bar and quality food & Beer service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green Dragon

Address: Cowgate, Welton HU15 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Welton
Price Range: $113 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dragon Hotel Welton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Green Dragon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Although rooms are in the stable block around the carpark I still had a good nights sleep and it wasn't to noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles kabco, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles MarkDebbie2326, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book direct with Marstons”
 of 5 bubbles davet223, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I only stayed in room 10 and have booked the same room for next time.”
 of 5 bubbles 122kerryp, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“four poster room”
 of 5 bubbles mickschick, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay