We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Green Dragon

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Green Dragon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 193: English reviews
Start your review of Green Dragon
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were passing by on Sunday and called in on the chance that there was a table available for lunch. There was and we were seated immediately. Nice surroundings and very pleasant - both inside and out. There were eight of us and we all ordered a Sunday lunch. Disappointingly seven out of the eight roasts we received were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woldsey
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Grreen Dragon overnight last week, our last overnight stay was three years ago so I really didn't know what to expect - needn't have worried! Lovely stay overnight, we ate in the bar at lunchtime, service was fantastic taking into account the amount of people who were there for the same reason as us, possibly in excess...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
GreenDragonWelton, Public Relations Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Good Morning! May I take this opportunity to thank you for such a lovely 5* Review for your recent visit with us, we are so glad that you had a lovely stay with us and we are glad that everything was how you wanted! We hope that we see you again soon and that you have just as good of...

Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Having not been for over 30 years my friend and I was very impressed at how much more room there was. Many were eating and the food looked really good. We will certainly go back to have a meal. Then they might just get that extra star. The bar staff were also very pleasant and welcoming. If you just want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
GreenDragonWelton, Guest Relations Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your visit with us and we hope that we can persuade you to come back soon and try some food with us and hopefully get that extra star from yourselves! We look forward to seeing you again soon and would like to thank you again from all the team...

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights last week room clean bed comfy and cooked breakfast fresh and very tasty. Most of all would like to commend the staff. When getting to my next destination i realised i had left my tablet in the room. Called them and was told it would be posted straight back to me, I received next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank udat
GreenDragonWelton, Guest Relations Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Good evening, May I take this opportunity to say thank you on behalf of all the team here at the Green Dragon and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we got your tablet returned to you as soon as possible! We hope that your next stay with us is just as good and we...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Early Mother's Day lunch as we're away on the day. Friendly staff, not a great choice of gluten free meals but they mixed and matched. Recommend you book as gets busy. We only had lunch, didn't stay in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
GreenDragonWelton, Guest Relations Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

Firstly may I take this time to thank you for writing a review for us, we have taken into consideration your comments regarding the amount of gluten free meals that we have on offer and will take a look at these to see if we can have more variety on our future menus. We hope that you do have a...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We went to the green dragon on a Friday night, we walked in and the atmosphere was really good and the service was good although ordering at the bar isn't quite right given they have waitress/waiter serving the food. The food was hot, tasty and lots of it. Comfortable seating, space between each table to keep it intimate and we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John B
GreenDragonWelton, Guest Relations Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for writing the team here at the Green Dragon such a lovely review we are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope that you have many more visits just as good! We will take a look at the comments you have made about ordering at the bar, however we...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Sadly not a pleasant experience this afternoon. We popped in for a hot drink and a dessert. We got our drinks first and then ordered the dessert a couple of minutes later which came out after 15 minutes. This meant that our drinks were cold. We weren't going to say anything except that the dessert was also cold. By the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosifantosi
GreenDragonWelton, General Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

May I start with my upmost apologies regarding your recent visit with us here at the Green Dragon I would very much like to be able to get some more details regarding this as in time and date of visit The rude attitude and poor customer service comments have utterly shocked me as every single member of my team were...

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We visited Welton for a day out, the plan being a walk followed by pub lunch. On arriving in the village, which is delightful, we parked in the pub car park, after checking with a member of staff that we could leave it there for a couple of hours before returning for lunch (we later discovered that the pub is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hungrydiner2016
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

We would just like to take this time to say thank you for your lovely comments about our pub, we are glad that you had a pleasant visit with us and that you enjoyed your walk! We are undergoing a refurbishment soon so hopefully we will be sprucing up the décor a bit and our menu itself! We hope that...

lincs
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Stayed at the green Dragon for the 6th time in february. Thought i had better write a review after so many visits. As usual a friendly welcome and very helpful staff. Check in is normally 13:00 but i arrived early and was given my room key at 11:15. I normally have room 6 which is very large and spacious but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank supersi12
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this review

We would just like to take the time to say a big thank you for your lovely comments that you have given us about your stay with us here at The Green Dragon! We look forward to seeing you upon your return and we hope that your stay is just as good as the rest! Thank you once again from...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The Green Dragon is a bit out of the way if you are going to Hull but in a very nice little village which is worth having a walk around if you can. Room is clean and spacious with everything you could want. A nice touch is the mineral water in the room, which is normally reserved for upmarket hotels....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howie922

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welton
5.6 km away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
5.3 km away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
975 reviews
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Hull West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Weighton
930 reviews
9.6 km away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
669 reviews
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Willerby Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a new year and a fresh start a warm welcome awaits you by the management & team at The Green Dragon, a 17th century coaching house in the picturesque village of Welton. The pub plays its part in history and the highwayman Dick Turpin frequented the establishment before his capture. The Green Dragon has 11 en-suite hotel rooms located in the external stable block and all are comfortably furnished and homely. The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself and we are sure you will enjoy our friendly bar and quality food & Beer service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green Dragon

Address: Cowgate, Welton HU15 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Welton
Price Range: $93 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dragon Hotel Welton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Green Dragon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms i have stayed in are large and spacious and clean.Room 6 is more than adequate for 2.”
supersi12, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay only had Dinner”
tuppence190, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Although rooms are in the stable block around the carpark I still had a good nights sleep and it wasn't to noisy.”
kabco, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
MarkDebbie2326, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book direct with Marstons”
davet223, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5