We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliffden Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cliffden Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cliffden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I've been going to this hotel, on and off, for over a decade. It's a lovely, charming hotel and I've made many friends here and watched mine and their children grow up. It's clean, comfy and very homely. The location is fabulous and the views are stunning. Staff have come and gone and all been brilliant. Some are still good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Cliffden Hotel. The Cliffden is a you have commented upon, in a superb location and set in 7 acres of grounds. Our primary purpose is to offer hotel accommodation, and it matters not to the staff at the hotel if our guests are fully sighted, partially sighted or have...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Last week myself and some friends went to Teignmouth Scuba diving, and we stayed at the Cliffden hotel , this is a lovely hotel , the rooms are very nice and spacious ,the staff are always happy and smiling and the food is excellent . We are already talking about and looking forward to our next trip down there and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of the Cliffden Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your comments with the hotel team. Thank you once again and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Wheelchair accessible bedroom on groundfloor was near the end the of long, sloping, twisting corridor and this together with inadequate small washroom means it is unsuitable for most wheelchair users. There was no outlook from bedroom which was therefore dark. The double bed was difficult to manoeuvre around and made access to the dressing table impossible. Whilst accepting this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 373rosi
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for the Cliffden Hotel. I am sorry that you did find the room adapted for disabled visitors to your requirements. We have many repeat disabled guests using this room who are very pleased with the location, the size and facilities in the room. With regards to the bed valance - the Housekeeper has not...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

A Vision Hitel that makes special provision for guests with a visual impairment but treats all their guests including guide dogs and family dogs with the same kind of care and consideration. Staff are well trained, discreet and considerate. Food is good, plentiful and freshly cooked. Rooms are clean and well cared for. The hotel provides dog towels at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillyr0se2014
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Cliffden Hotel. The hotel is in a superb location, just above the seafront and set in 7 acres of grounds. We offer accommodation for sighted guests alongside blind and partially sighted guests, and aim to provide excellent service for all. Thank you once again for your review and I...

Bromley
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Had no idea when booked on Booking.com that this is a hotel that specially caters for the visually impaired, and its slightly institutional exterior, and the minibuses in the car park did startle me, but I went & spoke to Reception was reassured by the charming staff. In all other respects, the hotel is typical of Town hotels…a bit jaded,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiggerSeaford
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read about the issue with your room. I have looked into this issue and apologise for the inconvenience caused. There was confusion regarding the booking by your friend for you and then booking being extended due to the booking names. We also did not have a mobile number for you -...

Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Me,my partner. mother in law and father in law and a family friend spent a lovely week here. We all really liked the atmosphere and the food was great the hotel is set in lovely gardens and it is only a short walk to the piar and the town centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladylouise88
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for the Cliffden Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your sty with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We had my sons christening celebration at this hotel. Throughout the whole process the Guest Services Supervisor was efficient and extremely helpful. The function went off without a hitch. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Food was lovely, hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and was very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bumpy848
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for the Cliffden Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your Christening function. The Cliffden is a unique location, and we aim to ensure that we provide our guests with excellent service. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you again soon to the...

Coventry
Reviewed 23 November 2015

My pre arrival experience had not been good. When I had made my booking I had had great difficulty in getting my requirements through to the receptionist when I rang and was surprised to be asked to pay in advance. The £65 was £5 more than I had been told that I would have to pay. I was also disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank totallyuntamed
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that your first experience of booking at the hotel was rather disjointed, and I apologise for this. We operate a variable room pricing policy - so our room prices do change day by day according to availability. Your time taken to leave a review for the Cliffden Hotel is very much appreciated and I hope...

Reviewed 20 November 2015

I have stayed at the Cliffden Hotel a few times. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. I visited with my guide dog and have always been happy to make the 6 hour journey from my home to stay there. Unfortunately, the standard of the food is not as good as it has been. Some of us...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rkorford
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing the Cliffden Hotel. An ongoing project of refurbishment is commencing in January of this year, which in the long term will include wifi in all rooms. I am sorry to read that during your stay you found the food of a lesser standard than previously. I am aware of the issue with the lamb...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend of the Jazz Festival and met up with friends also staying in the hotel, who had brought a soon to be retired guide dog. The staff were absolutely superb, from reception, to waiting, to night porters - they could not do enough for us and the hotel is totally geared up for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joy C
Karen S, General Manager at Cliffden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for the Cliffden Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, and disappointed that your breakfast was not of the standard I would expect. I will share this information with the kitchen team with the aim of ensuring that this does not...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teignmouth
5.8 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
623 reviews
0.9 km away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
212 reviews
1.5 km away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
5.8 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
440 reviews
3.5 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cliffden Hotel was built as a private House in 1815 for Sir John Strachan on 35 acres of grounds adjacent to the Dawlish Road. The original gardens were built in the Regency style gardens, with smooth lawns, shrubberies and trelliswork and wall-plants against the lower storey of the house. In 1988, the then current owner Dr Mules retired, he put Cliffden House up for sale with the understanding that it would be used for "greater good". The House was purchased by Guide Dogs for the blind and converted to a hotel which offer accommodation to both blind, sighted and partially sighted guests. The hotel now sits in 7 acres of landscaped gardens, and a short walk through these private grounds brings you to the glorious seafront at Teignmouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffden Hotel

Address: Cliffden Hotel 20 Dawlish Road, Teignmouth TQ14 8TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Teignmouth
Price Range: $127 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cliffden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffden Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Worcester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here full stop”
 of 5 bubbles SeanB821, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 120 on 1st floor with a Kingsize Bed with lovely views of the beautiful garden and sea there is also an outside balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles D0gs_Dinner, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get 105! Best room in the hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles conorp117, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For a quieter room don't choose down stairs, there is a lift so no problems if you have mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles bgreenstreet, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Probably quieter above the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 549NickL, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5