We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Royal Oak and found the room extremely spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. We enjoyed some lovely meals and the full English breakfast was well presented using good quality products. I would certainly recommend and plan to revisit later in the year

Helpful?
Thank tjaphillips16
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed in room No 1 very large room with large shower 5 mins lovely breakfast home cook wiyh local produce,in the car to Monkey World and the Tank Museum. Also there is a lovely large beer garden in the back, this hotel is set in a lovely quite villiage

Helpful?
1 Thank Parc123
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were all pleased to here you had a nice stay and that you liked the room. I shall let my husband know that you enjoyed the garden also as that is his domain. Again many thanks for reviewing us Janette & the Team More 

Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Arrived late Tuesday evening not booked in but ask the young lady behind the bar if they had a room for a couple of nights she was very helpful she spoke to the owner they had one room left the young lady Then showed us the room we were very impressed very large white and clean lovey bathroom walk in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne G
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I was sorry to hear you were disappointed with the curry and wish you had said something at the time. We were all pleased to hear that you were happy with the room and location and that you got to see the local attractions. You are welcome back... More 

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Okay ... hmm... any place with British flag bunting all over the bar makes me feel slightly wary. Indeed there were some quite rude militant types hanging at the bar .. didnt really need their opinion on 'foreigners' thankyou very much. The barmaid, who saw us in, wasnt very welcoming. Saturday night drinks were a crappy collection of Carling and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kylie s
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not like the bunting in the bar it was there for the Queen's Street Party weekend here in the village and because of the football. As for the customers at the bar I am unable to comment on their opinions as it is just that, theirs not mine. I have... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a few nights and was very pleased with the recently renovated accommodation. Large, well appointed rooms. Excellent king sized bed. Limited but very well executed menu available for dinner. Superb full English breakfast (recommended). Very convenient for monkey world, Lulworth, Poole etc. Made most welcome by Jeanette and her staff (lovely people). We would recommend this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the food. Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Recently visited The Royal Oak Hotel and stayed for two nights, What a fantastic place the whole place is spotless. the rooms are beautiful and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food was very nice. This hotel is set in the small but beautiful village of Bere Regis, A great base to explore 20 miles from Bournmouth.Weymouth and even... More 

Helpful?
Thank andipallett
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and was able to go and see all that this area has to offer. Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The rooms at the Royal Oak are excellent! Very large and spacious and very clean too. The shower room was sparkling and with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. Extras included a bathrobe, slippers, bottled water and home-made biscuits in addition to tea, coffee etc. Although the window frames had seen better days there was nothing to detract from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are absolutely right about the windows and you will be pleased to know they are part of the renovation jobs this year that we have started. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Had a lovely stay before visiting a local Monkey Sanctuary. Would love to stay again. Cooked breakfast was perfect, top quality. The stay was worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank IronShadow86
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed Monkey World. Thank you for taking the time to write a review Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

Walsall
Level Contributor
423 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

A group of us stopped off for a quick bite to eat as we headed to Bournemouth for a weekend break. Staff were very accommodating and served up a dozen meals in record time. Food was good with decent sized portions. Fairly basic décor with a small beer garden to the rear. Only a flying visit but would go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diner, Thank you for writing your review and we are pleased you were happy with your food and look forward to welcoming you all back if your in the area again Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Booked the hotel as local to many of the spots we wanted to see... Monkey World, Corfe Castle, Lulworth Cove, Lulworth Castle etc. We had a lovely room at the hotel, very large, great shower and the little extras in slippers, dressing gown. Breakfast was lovely and staff great. Little surprised at dinner menu as didn't offer the choice I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris16232016
J W, Owner at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were really pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay. We were sorry to hear the menu was not what you were hoping for. The menu on the website is a sample I we will get it updated. Kind Regards Janette & the Team More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bere Regis
14.4 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
390 reviews
10.9 km away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
310 reviews
15.9 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
16.3 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
10.5 km away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
Cuisines: British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We an Old Coaching Inn with 3 fully refurbished King Size Rooms with en-suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: West Street, Bere Regis BH20 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bere Regis
Price Range: $143 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bere Regis, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room one on the front, slight traffic noise from main road”
 of 5 bubbles 1RebeccaB93, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is in the back”
 of 5 bubbles Parc123, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only three rooms all good.”
 of 5 bubbles 330anneg, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are well equiped Large king size beds double shower ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles andipallett, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisP289, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay