We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Theobalds Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Theobalds Estate
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for De Vere Theobalds Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 759: English reviews
Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I visited briefly as I had a job interview in the local area, speedy check in and check out, room was lovely and the grounds were beautiful, pitty I couldn't have stayed longer! Wonderful hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parkyxo
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear parkyxo Thank you for posting such a lovely review. I am delighted to read that you such an enjoyable stay with us, I have advised all the team of your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Theobalds Park in the near future for hopefully a longer stay! Kindest regards Bryon Pomfrett

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Short stay before a trip to Paradise wildlife park (which was subsequently rained off). I had see that the rooms required refurbishment but we must have been lucky and had a recently done room. It looked brand new, from the bedroom to the bathroom. Great location and reasonable for bank holiday sunday price. Breakfast was also great. Would recommend for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jalexscott
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear Jalexscott Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at Theobalds Park. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, we are currently going through a refurbishment of bedrooms and our public areas and I am delighted to read you experienced this. The Head Chef would also like to thank you for your kind...

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

First impressions were good, nice grounds and impressive drive into the Hotel, bright clean reception area with pleasant staff. We were only there for a night while we went to a wedding so just a short stay. The room we were provided with was on the ground floor a short distance from the main reception and very quiet except for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear Peter H Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed a number of aspects during your recent stay with us especially the breakfast, I have made the Head Chef aware of your comments. I am however disappointed to read your comments regarding the bedroom allocated to you...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I recently enjoyed a weekend break at this beautiful hotel with my family & friends. Easy location to find from the motorway but tucked away in a tranquil setting down a sweeping drive. The welcome was warm and our room was clean and well equipped and overlooked the lawns. Food was exceptional and the breakfast was delicious and not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TACpembury10
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear TACpembury10 Thank you for your taking the time to post such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park. All of the team have been made aware of your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you had a delightful experience during your recent stay. We do hope to welcome you back to...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends. The exterior of the hotel is fabulous so we were looking forward to our stay. How disappointing when we reached the room which looked tired, gloomy and in need of refurbishment. The furniture was heavy, dark and old fashioned. There was also a huge metal box contraption on the wall which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz K
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear Caz K Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to read of the issues that you experienced, as per your communication with the Reception team your feedback was passed over to the Maintenance & Housekeeping teams and the issues that occurred have now been rectified. I would...

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Theobalds Park Hotel. Friendly staff at the reception. Very clean room. Food was good. Breakfast had a vast range of goodies. Overall a very pleasant stay. A highly recommended stay. Make sure you visit the Verulamium Museum and The Roman Theatre. We also visited the St Albans Cathedral. Such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaz19840
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear shaz19840 Thank you for sharing you review and I am pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us here at Theobalds Park. I am delighted to read that you found the staff at Reception to be friendly and you enjoyed your experience at breakfast. I have advised all of the team of your kind comments....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

I use Theobalds Park regularly for business stays and have probably stayed there in excess of 30 times if not more. In all those times I have never had an issue because I understand what the place is. This is a conference venue during the week which plays host to corporate gatherings. Weekends it's weddings. It's clean and functional but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank watchdog2757
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear watchdog2757 Thank you for your honest review. We are currently starting refurbishment on all of our bedrooms and our Mansion House ground floor areas have now finished their refurbishment, we are also currently working on improving our customer service and it is very nice to see both yours and other reviewers are highlighting those improvements. We have noted that...

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

The rooms were average but well decorated. The staff were extremely helpful, especially reception. However the food was not really the standard we were expecting and we decided to eat elsewhere on our second night. Obviously a conference venue, where their visitors don't care about signs ( don't park on the verges, yet nearly every verge was parked on). Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear Ann B Thank you for your review I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us, I have passed your feedback over to our Head Chef regarding the standard of the food that you received. I am however pleased to read that you found the staff to be extremely helpful. I would again like to...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We enjoyed the twin room we had - lovely beds and would have enjoyed the lounge more if it had no TVs, sadly showing football. This might have been because there was a tournament on but lowered a 4 star feel to 3. We moved for our subsequent drink to some seating in the foyer outside meeting rooms. Bar staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lashsational
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear lashsational Thank you for taking the time to supply us with your feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the twin room that was allocated to you for your stay. I have advised all of the team of your lovely comments regarding dinner and the service that was received. We hope to welcome you back to Theobalds...

Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016

If you are looking for somewhere with character then forget Theobolds park, but this is very good value and very comfortable. Building is a purpose built corporate venue, not the old house shown in some photos. The setting is very sttractive surrounded in woodland with large clumps of daffodils. The only real criticism I would have is that the over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at De Vere Theobalds Estate, responded to this review

Dear Linda G Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. I am pleased to read that you did enjoy your recent stay with us here at Theobalds Park, I have made all of the team aware of your kind comments. I am however disappointed to read your feedback regarding the room, I have advised the...

267 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheshunt
3.9 km away
No photo provided
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
633 reviews
2.9 km away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
4.5 km away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.9 km away
No photo provided
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
682 reviews
25.4 km away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about De Vere Theobalds Estate

Address: Theobalds Park Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England (Formerly De Vere Theobalds Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Cheshunt
Price Range: $112 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Theobalds Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your De Vere Theobalds Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theobalds Park Hertfordshire
Hotel Theobalds Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Theobalds Estate staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Warrington, United Kingdom
6 months ago
norfolk
over a year ago
Winkfield, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Theobalds Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick one in another hotel.”
  • Tap, before use.
  • Top of the wardrobe, you guessed it : thick with dust.
  • Quality heating ?
  • Broken toilet handle (would not flush ).
  • Broken towel rail.
  • Back of hairdryer.
 of 5 bubbles LordOddie, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms only accessible via stairs”
 of 5 bubbles sspaakko, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get rooms in the modern part. The Manor is like Fawlty towers to find rooms”
 of 5 bubbles KimC546, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We all had beautiful rooms overlooking the lovely grounds. Warm, clean and very spacious. We will certainly be navk and are now following the hotel to look out for other special events. ”
 of 5 bubbles MWJMBE, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No idea, but don't go for Christmas lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles 422sylviab, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5