We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 376: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped here while on a long walk. Unfortunately they had stopped serving food, but very kindly offered to do us a couple of sandwiches, which was well needed after a 6 mile walk! Benches at the front to sit out with dog, water bowls and staff really friendly! Would 100% recommend, and will come back to try the food, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James T
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we are sorry we were not serving food when you arrived at the pub, we do stop after lunch and start serving again at 6pm. We really hope you come and see us again

Leeds, Yorkshire
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed at the Wheatsheaf last August for our wedding anniversary and enjoyed it so much that we went back for this year's, for three nights. Very friendly, excellent food, comfortable rooms. One thing we particularly like is there are lots of footpaths right from the door, such as to Bolton Castle or Aysgarth Falls, and we made good use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaphneFranks
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure welcoming you back to the Wheatsheaf. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Really nice beer here and friendly staff. Unfortunately we couldn't eat there because the kitchen was closed but it was a lovely place. Dog friendly and accommodated us. They had a dart board that kept the boys entertained. Very traditional local pub that we would defiantly return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catdan1987
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we do close the kitchen in the afternoons between 2.30 and 6pm so we are sorry that you were not able to eat with us on this occassion. We really hope to see you again in the future

humberside
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a walking break for the weekend with my fiancé and our two dogs. The inn has an innocent yet rough country style to it. I have a feeling the building has been there for many years as apparently James Herriot stayed there for his honeymoon. We was greeted by a lady whom I guess to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy c
Management response:

Hi, thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate every review and take all feedback very seriously. We are glad that you found the area beautiful, the inn itself was built in the early 18oo's and James Herriott did indeed stay here on his honeymoon. We are sorry that your room was too small, if you had booked with us...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale is a beautiful stone pub, with great history, in an absolutely stunning setting. Just five minutes drive from the Aysgarth Falls, breathtaking waterfalls- well worth a visit, the Wheatsheaf offers comfy rooms and hale and hearty portions of tasty pub food. If you are staying, make sure you book for dinner as it gets crowded. Be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irritableowl
Claire B, Owner at The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the stunning location we are privileged to be in along with our rooms and food. We do advise booking as we do get very busy. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here with my husband and dog for my birthday. Couldn't have asked for better. Staff were lovely and made us and our dog feel extremely welcome. Breakfast and evening meals all excellent. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Lovely 20 minute walk from the pub to the falls. Will definitely be returning as all 3 of us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLGibson
Claire B, Owner at The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your birthday stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as a wedding guest. We had room 12 in the annex right at the back of the hotel. Room was large and clean with dual aspect Windows. It was quiet and had good curtains to block out the light. Nothing to complain about as such but worth noting that it does only have a shower (no bath), wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel21
Claire B, Owner at The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to review us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on our beer garden and look forward to being able to offer our guests this service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thanks again

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Apart. from lager,EXCELLENT.CheapestB+B in area.Lovely staff.Good décor.The nearest[asgarth falls hotel was exactly doble the price]Okay for hooray henries,but not for mister average.Had a very nice steak there.Average price for hotel.Not as many beers as on website.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffthetaxi
Claire B, Owner at The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our staff, food and hospitality, so it is great to receive your feedback. We are sorry you felt that £4.30 is too much for lager, this is the cost for our premium strength lager we do offer an alternative of fosters...

wakefield
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This was the first time I had visited Wensleydale and went with three friends.The welcome was super,some of the friendliest,obliging people I have ever met,nothing was too much trouble. The room was fine,bed comfortable and food was good,both breakfast and evening meal. We were able to relax after our evening meal in the bar area and at no time felt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonboyWakefield
Claire B, Owner at The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for the lovely feedback. We really hope we get to see you all again in the future.

Reviewed 26 July 2016

We had a great stay whilst attending a wedding at Bolton Castle - great staff and superb location for walks around the local waterfalls! The breakfast was superb and the staff were very nice and helpful, would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
Claire B, Owner at The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a lovely day at the wedding. We look forward to seeing you again.

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carperby
12.9 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
364 reviews
32.3 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
530 reviews
29.1 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
28.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
729 reviews
9.9 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wheatsheaf is a traditional, family run inn set in the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Walker and dog friendly, the Wheatsheaf is on a spectacular walking route between the historic Bolton Castle (where Mary Queen of Scots was kept captive in 1568)and the world famous Aysgarth Falls. The Wheatsheaf was also where Alf White (more famously known as the vet and author James Herriot) and his wife had their honeymoon in 1941. Featuring real ales, log fires, and good food, the Wheatsheaf prides itself on its welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale

Address: Main Street, Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carperby
Price Range: $121 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Hotel Carperby
The Wheatsheaf Residential Hotel, Restaurant And Bar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
donegal, ireland
2 months ago
Rotherham, United Kingdom
6 months ago
louth
7 months ago
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms to an inadequate standard”
 of 5 bubbles lordnladytayloro2016, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the superior rooms in the newer part of the property and book direct for a discount”
 of 5 bubbles 569cliffl, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in the self catering apartment”
 of 5 bubbles Wags51, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Speak to staff when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles batterseadogs, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“At this particular hotel ask for a room which is in the original part of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles 90susank, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay