We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Swan Hotel

Booking.comUS$117*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$117*
US$117*
US$117*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Black Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,461: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Swan Hotel
 Click to rate
Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

One night stop, lovely room, peaceful and comfortable. Didn't eat, due to other arrangements, but enjoyed a drink in the bar. Will stay longer next time! Staff were very helpful and attentive, which was appreciated, especially at the end of what had been a busy holiday weekend for them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z9196YFbriank
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Absolutely terrible staff attitude- booked a deal to include afternoon tea on the phone as per their website offer- staff confirmed and arranged time for tea & evening meal However reception staff and duty manager refused to include the afternoon tea and although we tried to agree a compromise they wouldn't honour and even debited my credit card with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steviep102
Cambs
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Black Swan for our first wedding anniversary, and were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed on arrival with a personalised service, including a happy wedding anniversary card and gifts in the bedroom. Service in the restaurant was attentive while still being relaxed which created a perfect ambience to enjoy the quality food. Our bedroom was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shieldsmp
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shieldsmp, Congratulations again on your 1st anniversary! Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're delighted to hear you both had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Only a one nighter but everything was great. We were in a Classic room and it had recently been refurbished, to quite a high standard. The room was of a good size (a lot of steps to get to it though) it had all new furniture with plenty of drawers, cupboards, wardrobe space and lots of electric sockets. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MFD001
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MFD001, We're so pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the excellent room to the food and well trained staff. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Manchester
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a difficult month plagued by ill health and numerous hospital visits, my partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a luxury night away with good food to relax and unwind. We finally settled on The Black Swan Hotel in Helmsley after the hotel receptionist assured my partner that the room available was a little luxurious and in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stefanie D
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie D, Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the hotel. As you can imagine we are very disappointed to read your comments and sincerely apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion. Your comments have been noted and passed onto the management team, however it's unfortunate that you didn't mention anything about the room...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We travelled from the Netherlands for the wedding of my cousin and the wedding was held in The Black Swan. A beautiful location, the hotel was warm, old but full of the modern-day requirements, with its creakingnstaircases, low beams, beautiful garden and very friendly and helpfull staff, who hosted the wedding party as if they'd known the family for years,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara D, We're so pleased you had a lovely time celebrating your cousin's wedding and you all thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your kind words which we really do appreciate, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Gomersal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to the hotel in the space of a few months. We had a complimentery night and dinner due to having a very disappointing stay the first time round. Was 100% better the second time round. Room 2 is stunning and very quiet tucked away on the top floor. Breakfast in bed was lovely. Thank you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate256028
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Highly recommend this hotel but next time, we would be very careful to avoid Room 3 or any other similar rooms. Food was superb, staff were efficient and friendly and in summary, very good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U7202AWdonaldc
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary here and will certainly be considering it as a venue to celebrate our 50th anniversary with our family next year. The rooms available for functions look ideal for our type of gathering and we know the food will be excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel located in the centre of Helmsley has in the past been a hotel to contend with, well let me tell you how disappointed we where with last night's stay. First we arrived to be given a room which was located miles down endless passageway with dogs and luggage took some negotiations, then to find it was over looking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank link2od
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear link2od, Thank you for your feedback, however there are a few points which we would like to address. The hotel has 45 bedrooms and therefore does indeed stretch quite far back, which is why we advise guests who would prefer a room towards the front or with a view to mention their preferences at the time of booking, and...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.1 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
645 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
648 reviews
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,942 reviews
35.2 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: $195 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Saltaire, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Characteristic, charming, cosy, complete and spacious bathroom, all the necessary modern amenities, and helpful and friendly staff.”
E7012RCsarad, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
link2od, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The feature rooms have a lovely view of the market square.”
bribar72, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy if the hotel is busy”
792karen, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“never stayed so don't know just had the Afternoon Tea”
angjohnson, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$117* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$117
Expedia.comUS$117
TripAdvisorUS$116
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates