We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Black Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Black Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Black Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,332: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed the night before Christmas Eve, with our dog, who was made very welcome. The best thing about the hotel is the staff, who are friendly and professional. Then the atmosphere in the public rooms. Beautifully lit, warm and comfortable, with a crackling open fire, they reflect the atmosphere of the hotel's location on the ancient market square outside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tripper227
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we're delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from our friendly staff to the hotel's atmosphere, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a 1 night stay here and really enjoyed it. The room was well decorated, warm and cosy. We had scones and prosecco included on arrival which was lovely. The 6 course evening meal was very nice, especially the main course of pig from head to toe. The only let down was I had emailed to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JillHarra
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Following your recent stay at the hotel, we're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our 'Six of One' package, and particularly enjoyed the food. Our apologies you didn't receive a birthday message at dinner, but we do hope your boyfriend had a lovely day and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

London
Reviewed 7 January 2016

This was a lovely hotel and very nearly five stars. The food was great, and the sommelier was very knowledgeable and recommended some amazing wines which we had by the glass. It is great to have so many wines by the glass. The bar staff were also very friendly. Breakfast was OK, but the eggs benedict were a little cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessiclees
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and found the food to be amazing and the staff to be very friendly. Thank you for your feedback regarding your breakfast and Housekeeping - my sincere apologies, and I shall pass your comments on to the management team. We do hope that you will consider staying with...

Saffron Walden, Essex
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Lovely warm welcome from staff, very relaxing, choice of two lounges where log fires burning. Check in excellent arrived early signed in, went for coffee on our return, luggage was in our room. Christmas Eve Gala an excellent way of meeting up with other people - mixed tables of 8 and 10. Great food and again brilliant staff. Live ballad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eh313
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Following your visit to The Black Swan over the Christmas period, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and everything that our Christmas package had to offer - from the warm welcome from staff, to the fantastic food and entertainment. Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope you will choose to visit again in the...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We had high expectations of staying at the Black Swan at Helmsley. These were shortlived as checking in at reception had all the warmth and humour usually associated with arriving at a 1960's East German Sanitorium (yes, I'm looking at you Blondie!). Entering our room, the theme was continued as the temperature was colder than it was outside. After investigating...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dreamsofsantaanna
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As you can imagine we are slightly perplexed with regards to your comments about the Receptionist, as you can see from reading previous reviews, our guests regularly comment on how friendly and helpful all of our staff are. Our sincere apologies that Housekeeping had not overseen that the...

west yorks
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We have just returned from a lovely stay. We had always visited Helmsley for the day, and wanted to stay overnight on each occasion but never had the time. This time with a long Christmas break it was possible. Helmsley was lovely with the decorated well lit Christmas trees. The hotel was very relaxing, beautiful and quaint. The staff very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jollymid
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your break at the hotel. My apologies with regards to the couple of issues you experienced, but on the plus side I am so pleased that the rest of your stay with us was lovely, and that you found the hotel to be very relaxing and the staff to be very helpful. We hope...

Lincolnshire
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We were booked in a standard room, which exceeded expectations with regard size, had a sitting area by the window. We were pleased that we were at the back of the hotel as the rooms could have bit quite noisy at the front of the hotel. The bathroom let the room down, very small with a poor shower. Housekeeping was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosieLincs
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We were a party of ten , and we all agreed that this was one of the best N Y E s. It was fun , without being loud the service was slick and the staff were brilliant we had a young lady called Nelly who looked after us and she was so hard working and so delightful , being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sammy078
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments following your stay with us over New Year. We are delighted that you all had such an enjoyable evening with us on New Year’s Eve and we look forward to welcoming all of you back again in the future.

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We had heard a lot about this place and it lived up to our expectations. Reeks of old money and history. Public rooms are impeccable and standards are high. The restaurant feels a little out of place with its modern feel, but service was perfect and the meal was excellent. This place deserves its award for Yorkshire hotel of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike B
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Following your recent stay at the hotel, we are so pleased to hear that it lived up to your expectations (we are very proud of our Hotel of the Year awards!) and we do hope that you will choose to visit us again soon.

Hull. East Yorkshire
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Stayed at the Black Swan for three night Christmas break and we were not disappointed. Welcome was good, food was the highlight, simply wonderful and plenty of it. Nice surprises during the stay from Santa (you will have to find out about those for yourself !) Good room (standard) but had everything we wanted. Hotel is dog friendly but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swanland73

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.1 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
550 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 5 in Helmsley
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,823 reviews
21.1 km away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
18.5 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: $223 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Saltaire, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Feature rooms offer more space and more to look at.”
 of 5 bubbles deathbychocolate, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden view rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles NY777, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 42!”
 of 5 bubbles 451CEB, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“eat in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles ras95, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the side of the hotel are quiet. The superior room is well worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles TinaM1701, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay