We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pinewood Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Pinewood Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Ever notice that hotels have separate bins in the rooms for garbage and recycling yet the housekeeping carts only have one garbage bag where everything gets dumped together? The Pinewood is the real deal. They not only recycle, but they have organic waste collection, environmentally friendly soaps and are very energy conscious. I really appreciate the extra effort made here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 928jefk
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much Jef for your sharing your feedback! As a family and a business we do what we can to be eco-conscious and sustainable. Doing our part to be environmentally responsible is an important lesson to teach our son. As you said, its vital that we (all) be good stewards of our planet and are truly grateful that...

Garrettsville, Ohio
Reviewed 7 October 2016

the price was 50.00 more than was quoted when we got there. #2 there was no phones in the rooms. i never have been to a motel with no phone service. . #3 there was no giddeons bible in the rooms. never seen that one before either. I would not go back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmtnelson
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

This guest reserved through a booking agent, not with us directly. Their issue with the price misquote has nothing to do with Pinewood Inn, nor is it an accurate representation of our business practices. We operate this motel with integrity and pride. In this era of cell phones, we made the decision not to incur the added cost of land...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Arrived a couple of days ago and just spent the night at the Pinewood Inn. Very reasonably priced-45 minute drive from Algonquin Park. Enjoyed using the backyard...had a picnic supper on the lawn chairs facing the lake. We both enjoyed that very much....better than heading out for supper to a restaurant. We'd both come again. In fact, we're already talking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Vicki for taking the time to review. We appreciate receiving such positive feedback, particularly when guests have enjoyed the use of the backyard. We are so glad you slept well in our comfy beds. We look forward to seeing you again next year! ..a note for future guests: not all rooms are dog friendly. Yvette & Mark

Aachen, Germany
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Our stay with Yvette and Mark and their son Hayden was really nice! We were a group of five students and needed a place close to Algonquin the night before and after our three days canoe tour. So we booked the room with two beds and a pull out couch. When we arrived we were quite excited about our first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luisa_Abroad
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Luisa for your lovely review! It was wonderful hosting you ladies (please give Carolin my regards). It was so awesome that you got out to Algonquin to camp. You inspired us and we were able to get out to the Barron canyon the next weekend and got a day canoe trip in! It was beautiful (I posted some...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed at this motel based on the positive reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. Yvette, the owner, was very friendly and most helpful in suggesting the sights and places to eat. As we had already chosen the Wilno Tavern for dinner, she immediately offered us a 10% discount coupon (yay!!!). The room had two queen beds, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank secretdragonfly
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Barry's Bay. We are renovating the bathrooms slowly (its only hubby doing that job). We hope you choose to stay with us again...when you can enjoy the backyard! :) Yvette & Mark :)

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed there on a motorcycle trip, and made reservations the night before, so we got the last room available, which doesn't have access to the backyard. Still, the bed was super comfortable!!! The owner is super friendly, she even called us shortly after we left to let us know we had forgotten our sun lotion!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geick_38
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you were comfortable. Sunscreen is so important when your on a motorcycle on a sunny day...I wouldnt have wanted you to burn! ;) Yvette & Mark :)

Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We called last minute to see if this business had rooms left. Lucky for us, Yvette and Mark had 1 room left. It was nicely furnished (from bedding to curtains). Coffee pot, fridge, accessories all worked well. Yvette and Mark are very friendly and provide great local info if you let them know what you need. We walked down the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah H
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm so glad it worked out! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will make it back to stay with us on one of your trips to through to Algonquin! Yvette & Mark :)

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

I have been going to Pinewood Inn for approximately 15 years. The new owners have made many great improvements! Cleanliness, comfort and peace & quite are top reasons for my stay! If you're looking for heaven stay at Pinewood Inn because you're there! Sandra Loudon, Gravenhurst.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorne C
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Our dearest Sandra. Thank you for taking some time to review us. Your perspective is so valuable. You have the unique position of seeing the massive changes we have made since taking over 6 years ago. When we bought this place it was a mess. In disrepair, fifthly and earning a less than stellar reputation. We are really proud of...

Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. With my family Yvette was so kind always full of great ideas for things to do with the kids. The rooms are clean and spacious. The backyard is great for watching the dear run and has a nice view of the stars at night. There's a great beach 5min walk with a park that's great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roisin S
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Roisin (and Ken!) for the great review. We are appreciative of the feedback and positive comments. You are the perfect example of a family making excellent use of your time while you stayed here. You took your family on many awesome outings and really experienced the variety of activities this area provides! It was lovely having...

Reviewed 3 August 2016

We'll be back its hard to find a place like that with deer romping throught the backyard. It's cosy and clean and very comfortable, no highway noise. I wish we had found something like this our first night out. Its good though, its, very close to home and we can go there again on a weekend excursion. Next time we'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much Judy and Dan for the wonderful review. I wish we could plan the deer, alas, we cannot lol. We feel privileged to have been a happy memory on the last night of your honeymoon. We hope to see you again. Yvette & Mark :)

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
5.2 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
56 reviews
1.7 km away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
27.9 km away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
1 reviews
15.1 km away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#4 of 7 in Barry's Bay
72 reviews
8.9 km away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Barry's Bay
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pinewood Inn is a quiet, family run motel next to beautiful Kamaniskeg Lake. We are steps to a public beach, playground, tennis courts and public dock. Downtown Barry's Bay and local restaurants (one is only .5Km away!) Are within easy access. There is also a Shell gas with C-store next door and parking is right in front your door. Our rooms feature comfy pillow-topped beds, carpeting, private bathroom and all our rooms have fridge/microwave and in-room coffee. Also A/C, satellite TV and free WiFi. We can accommodate small to larger families, and rooms have a back door leading to our spacious backyard with seating, BBQ's and a relaxing view of the lake. A Cozy Place to Stay While in Barry's Bay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Address: 378 John St. Hwy 62 S, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pinewood Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pinewood Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, pet-friendly, nice place to escape from "city life"”
  • The sky at sunset
 of 5 bubbles VickiM69, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“do a visit before you pay for your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 794derricks, 30 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room with queen bed and sofa was relatively large and comfortable. Did i mention Clean?”
 of 5 bubbles KevinC600, 28 Jan 2013 | Read review
“we stayed in room 12, it was great. Shower had awesome pressure.”
 of 5 bubbles ColmM647, 21 Aug 2012 | Read review
“I'm sure all of the rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieM252, 21 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay