We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oakwood Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Oakwood Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oakwood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We were in town with a large group (hockey tournament) and all families were placed in the same building (Longhouse). Check in went smoothly and we were offered bags of ice on arrival since our building did not have an ice machine. The rooms were very quiet and comfortable for up to four people. The kids had fun exploring the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JLD40
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Oakwood. It was unfortunate that the games room had to be closed as we certainly prefer to have it open for the teams to use as well. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in...

Macomb MI
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We go to Oakwood Inn every year in the winter. It's a great place for a weekend getaway. Very cozy feeling to the place. The Pub is excellent for lunch and dinner. The main dining room is not running at full service during the winter however the Pub works out well. We look forward to it every year. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and always look forward to you staying with us. We do agree that the winter is a unique but great time to come and experience Oakwood Resort!

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I was here for my kids hockey tournament. The resort was NOT worth the money. We had a team buffet and they did not refill the food. The main dishes were chicken fingers and fries and pizza. After the kids had their meal the only thing remaining was salad. Our waitress was rude as was the check in staff when...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jackie M
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have had an opportunity to look into the issues that you experienced, our staff work very hard to provide all of our guests and groups a wonderful experience. Ample food was provided for the buffet, however, since your team had quite a large amount of additional people that were not booked ahead of time,...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2015

The place is beautiful and room was very comfortable. Staff is courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, we could not walk to beach nearby because the weather turned bad with a big snow storm in mid-October! I would recommend this resort without hesitation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank antonericp
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding at Oakwood. We're sorry about the snow, we weren't happy about snow in October either!

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 29 October 2015

I stayed in the main lodge. My room was spacious, clean and I loved that I could open the windows for fresh air. It is a bit dated but for me that is part of the charm.Bar Fridge and coffee maker are provided. I had a very nice sitting area. Housekeeping were very helpful and anything I requested was done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MargotB30
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Ontario
Reviewed 21 October 2015

My family has been staying in this resort for at least 4 years. Very convenient location, not too far from downtown, nice short walk to the private beach and of course the golf course. Breakfast buffet is very decent and there are different packages you might be interested in. Rooms are good and have fridges. One thing I don't like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NatM9
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are always thankful for our returning guests and hope to have a chance to host your family again next year. Also, we do have an inventory of microwaves that are available at a reasonable cost if you would like to add one to...

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Loved the room with fireplace and panelling with balcony Seemed like a cabin type room Very clean and comfy Brought my own food so didn't try restaurants Disappointed I couldn't watch jays game during the playoffs Probably had it on at the pub but was too tired from driving

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kajj21
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come and stay with us again in the future.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2015

The resort has such potential and while it excels in some areas, you can see the cracks when you look around. The food and bev team are fairly strong although the one night there was a wedding, some couples for dinner and our group of 40 and the service suffered. While the food was good, the bar service was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MotoringAround
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your stay. We are currently undergoing a full review of the property to determine where we need improvements and your comments are both timely and helpful as we begin this review.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2015

This past summer we stayed 4 nights in July, it is the second time we stay there ( previous one was 2014). The hotel is nice overall, great location and nice restaurant ( newly renovated) Rooms: we stayed at one of the larger ( cabins) rooms and I find that the carpet and linens needs serious URGENT renovation. The linens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yandira K
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your business and your comments regarding your stay this past summer. Our senior management team is currently reviewing areas we want to focus on for upgrades and renovations so your comments will be a great help.

London, Canada
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We visited there today for a conference 1. Flies were landing on the food (we were indoors in the conference room) 2. They never cleared our dishes away during the speaker and the entire meeting 3. We were freezing until someone must have complained and they did put the heat on.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon J
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to forward your comments on to our food and beverage manager for review as whether our staff clear dishes, especially when a speaker is talking and the temperature of the room are determined by the convenor of the group not by the Resort.

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
12.0 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
60 reviews
0.0 km away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
340 reviews
1.5 km away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#6 of 8 in Grand Bend
16 reviews
16.9 km away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
13 reviews
40.1 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Price Range: $140 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakwood Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Oakwood Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else :)”
 of 5 bubbles X7192LGaudreym, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in Pine Lodge are dated and beds are old. Request the Oak Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles jesssmart, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I personally like the cabins/cottages but usually they are booked far ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles georgekM2626SU, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay at pine lodge if you're going to use hotel amenities. That way you don't have to walk far to get back to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles vijaib, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“request a balcony room facing the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 736sethn, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay