We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
West Midlands
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Hotel number six on our twelve hotel trip around NZ. Re- routed here due to quake damage in Kaikoura and what a place this is. Warm welcome from Richard and his team the room is the second best I have ever stayed in during a long corporate career. Massive space and palatial bathroom with hot tub on balcony - room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete084
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

I loved this place but there is something not quite right about it and I cannot put my finger on it! Let's get the negatives out of the way first .... no concierge , a weak offer to help get the bags from the car after they were half out and no guidance to the room or adequate explanation of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ross B, Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that we failed to provide you with the perfect service that we always aim to deliver to our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and found our staff to be fantastic. I have discussed your feedback with my team and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We ended up staying here when our itinerary was changed due to the earthquake in Kaikora. The lodge situated outside of Hamner Springs (a big plus for us) within beautiful grounds with stunning scenery. The drive to the hotel is up a dirt track and our car was absolutely covered in dust (luckily it was a hire car). Upon arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenRobS
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KarenRobS, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We really appreciate guest feedback because it helps us improve our service. I am glad you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. I have discussed your feedback with my team and we have taken necessary steps to lift our service quality. We are going to do a major...

Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Sorry to say that Braemar Lodge & Spa didn't meet my expectations. The room had a nice interior, especially the bathroom. Unfortunatelly the wonderful spa-bath didn't work properly and the bathroom door didn't close in one of our rooms. The gym could need a major upgrade. After a long drive we looked forward to eat at the restaurant. But we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micaela M
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Micaela M, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the spa bath not working properly and the bathroom door that did not close in one of your rooms. We have taken necessary steps to rectify...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

After a rocky start the lodge lived up to our expectations. Huge room, large balcony, great marble bathroom, double spa bath and shower. California king sized bed. Bathrobe and slippers to wear. Complimentary breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank C7288RQkarens
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear C7288RQkarens, Thank you for giving us a good review. We are glad you liked our Lodge and that it lived up to your expectations. I hope you would come stay with us again in the near future. Warm regards, Desmond Moraes

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this resort in the spacious Braemar suite as a family of 4 in room 8 which is located on the ground floor. Set in a quiet, and peaceful surroundings the resort is certainly away from all the hustle and bustle of Hanner springs and is located located approx 10mins away from town. Rooms: Braemar suite is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meags M
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Meags M, Thank you so much for taking some time to review us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve our service. Please accept my deepest apology for failing to provide you with our usual superior service. We have taken all your comments on board and have taken necessary steps to improve our service. I...

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and had a Suite with Hot Tub. The views from the huge room were spectacular, being able to draw the curtains in the morning and looking at the mountains was a glorious way to wake up for a day in Hanmer Springs. The room contained a huge bed, spa bath (which didn't work but was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nothappy87
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear nothapppy87, Thank you for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for failing in providing you with the 5 star luxury customer experience that we aim to provide to all our guests. I have discussed all the issues you pointed out with the concerned head of departments and we have taken necessary...

Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed here during the new year period and could not have asked for a more relaxing place. We booked in for the buffet breakfast on new year morning and were spoilt to one on one service with every dish available, made especially for us - probably one of the finest dining experiences we have ever experienced! Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cushla H
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cushla, Thank you so much for your amazing 5 star review of our beautiful lodge! My team and I were so ecstatic after reading your review. We are so pleased that you had an amazing experience at our Lodge. It is great reviews like yours that motivate us to keep going the extra mile in order to provide superior...

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Braemar with friends and family for our wedding on 9/12. We cannot fault the hotel in any way. Rooms, food, service, everything was spot on, and nothing was too much to ask. Thanks to Richard and the team for all their hard work. James & Kiah

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbrooooooo
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear James and Kiah, Thank you so much for the amazing feedback and rating! The team at Braemar were so pleased to read your review. It is great reviews like yours that fans the flames of our passion for excellent customer service. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your Wedding weekend at Braemar and that we managed...

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Customer service was excellent. The rooms are enormous and wonderfully equipped. Our bathroom was equally spacious and had a double spa bathtub. We also enjoyed the services of the spa. If we could recommend any improvement, it would only be for the restaurant, as the food (hot breakfast and dinner) was unimpressive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trishia J
DesmondMoraes, General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Trishia J, Thank you for taking the time to give us a 5 star review. We are so pleased to hear that you found our customer service to be excellent. My team at Braemar strive for excellence everyday and it gives us great joy to read reviews like yours. You are absolutely right, our rooms are enormously large, wonderfully...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
6.0 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
434 reviews
6.0 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
632 reviews
4.9 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
275 reviews
5.4 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
574 reviews
4.5 km away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $211 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Select Braemar Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Select Braemar Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think they are all good. Some have a private outdoor spa pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Ferne_NZ, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 has superb views of the mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles Shangudi7, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor with hot tub”
 of 5 bubbles 545carens, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay at the Braemar Suite!!”
  • The Braemar Suite
 of 5 bubbles SDGPM12, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with views onto the gardens also have the mountains behind.”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5